We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chelsea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“chelsea”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

so me and my friends have stayed here 3 times within a couple months every time has been horrible from first not getting inter connecting doors when that was what we asked for then getting charged for something out of the mini bar which we did not take after tht we would get it removed this last time was it and we will not be staying here ever again there were 3 of us and the woman at the counter without asking any questions took my credit card and charged the whole 2 nights on it not only did she max it out I had no spending money for the whole weekend which resulted in me borrowing of friends the woman didn't care we had planned to prepay which we still did so we basicly payed double at the time after complaining to management I got 3 measly drink vouchers which I didn't bother using I am now still stuck with a credit card it over draft which I have never had which will result in bank fees be very careful to check this hotels ridiculous bond system before staying here we will NOT be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    91
See reviews for
137
360
74
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November 2013. After checking in we were getting changed to go out when another guest walked into our room! They too had been given our room key - I immediately phoned reception and expressed my horror at another guest walking in on us and was advised that we should be in the room and there had been a mix up! I complained to the manager who apologised and gave us 4 drinks vouchers and offered us breakfast for the next two mornings! We have stayed in the Copthorne Hotel in Newcastle, United Kingdom and it is in a different league. This hotel is quite run down and still uses 'keys' to enter your room. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the first night I purchased a 'special' which was steak and chips for $18, the steak was quite small so the next night I ordered from the standard menu and paid $28 for steak, chips and egg - I wish I hadn't because the steak was even smaller than the previous night - I have never had a sirloin steak as small ever - Definitely not worth $28. Breakfast was nice though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Quick pleasant check-in, and efficient check-out.
Rooms basic for the price, no extra cup, tea or milk put in room for our extra person, but the bed and towels were all set up on arrival.
Location is great for ferry access, with a short walk to Viaduct and on to Wynyard Quarter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyadc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you are looking for something in the centre of Auckland, this is great.

Staff very helpful, we needed direction somewhere and they were able to provide these. Also allowed up to have a late checkout at no extra charge, although we did not end up using it.

The rooms had actual keys. It was the first hotel I had been in, in a long time where you were given keys.

Be aware that they put a $50 a night hold over you card that takes some time to clear back off again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddytarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The location and the very reasonable rate was the reason I booked this hotel. It is such a perfect location, across the road from the ferry to Devonport, Waiheke Island and Farm Cove. It is a pleasant stroll along the Viaduct, to Wynyard Quarter where you are spoilt for choice with the many restaurants along the way. It is also a few minutes walk to Brittomart station and close to bus stops with a short trip to Mission Bay and St Heliers highly recommended. The hotel itself is a bit tired and in need of a renovation and re-fit and sound-proofing, however the staff were friendly and helpful and the view from the room with it's large windows was fabulous. We stayed during the week and had no problem with street noise. Would I stay here again - Yes, for the reasonable price, the great location and the harbour view.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for the harbour view - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raelyn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights and although the hotel is starting to show its age we found it very clean and tidy. It is definetly noisy at night but we discovered that the window is double glazed if you slide the window to the centre. We only found this out on the second night. Very friendly and speedy checkin and the front reception staff even found us a taxi back to airport for only $35. The views from the front are amazing and I believe all the rooms have a harbour view. Would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were doing a cruise around NZ and this hotel is ideally suited to get on a ship that leaves from Auckland Harbour as you can walk to the wharf. We stayed at the hotel on a Saturday night and the noise from the street is terrible with revelers going until 4.00am. I assume this would be the same on any weekend but may not carry through to the week?. The hotel itself is needs a bit of renovation and the sound insulation is minimal.

Room Tip: check other Trip Advisor reviews for noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin0235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing