We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location and clean !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Copthorne for 2 nights pre-cruise. We got a package that included breakfast too, Being in Auckland for only 2 days I wanted a place that was conveniently located, clean and not a high price. This fit the bill just perfect ! Talk about location, it is right across the street from the pier that our ship docked at (Celebrity Solstice) ! From our window we watched her dock, what a sight ! We arrived at 9am and our room was ready. Sure, it's not the Hilton (which by the way is the only hotel that would have this location beat), it could use some updating, but it was CLEAN, the breakfast buffet was great and the people that work there are so helpful. Definitely would stay there if I were to visit Auckland again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    91
See reviews for
137
360
74
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here overnight for work and enjoyed the stay, the hotel is not great but it is still pleasant to stay. Everything is pretty standard the only problem I had was the cost for Wifi, the prices were way to high. The service was pretty average, they were polite and friendly but weren't much help when it came to requests. The copthorne is alright for a quick stop but I wouldn't stay for more than one night here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently whilst visiting Auckland for a wedding. The hotel wasn't especially cheap, so we had high hopes for a decent quality stay. Sadly, it disappointed from start to finish.

Our room was pretty average - no desk, decor was dated & damaged in places & the room for a family suite was pretty small. Breakfast was ok, but compared to elsewhere, only average. At night, the room was noisy - it sounded like karaoke at 2am, despite the windows being shut (I realise this isn't the hotel's fault). Car parking wasn't cheap ($24) - on top of the high price already paid & we were told we were not guaranteed any spaces, which was frustrating given we had a roof box with plenty of luggage in it. The Duty Manager on our first day was unfriendly & unhelpful - frankly, the whole experience was underwhelming. You'd hope that nothing would be too much trouble for them, but rather, everything felt like it was too much trouble for him.

On the plus side, they had a very friendly/helpful porter & the Duty Manager on the 2nd day of our stay sought to resolve the situation a little. This hotel reflects badly on the Copthorne chain & I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireKiwi316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Have always stayed in this Hotel when visiting Auckland, the location is great.
Our room was clean, but dated, the harbour view from window is outstanding.
Still disappointed that wifi is not complimentary in rooms, the price required to use this service is over priced which lets this Hotel down.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassicKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Copthorne group are definitely letting their hotels age. This one at the Auckland harbour is in a fantastic location, you can't beat it really for centrality and views. But tired hotel and really lacking in service quality and restaurant is very very average and overpriced. Plenty of great eating places to choose from at the viaduct and if you are just one or two nights in Auckland this is a great central city spot. Rooms are spacious and tidy and clean though, and great Views from all rooms!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNZfromCHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Great location, stunning views and the front desk were very helpful. I mistakenly booked a twin for my husband and I. We asked to change to a double but they had no double rooms left so they up graded us to a Junior Suite. If you need to stay here do yourself a favour and book the Junior Suite! We loved our stay and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Book the Junior Suite 1218
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msgordon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The location of the hotel is just great. Right in the centre of the city, almost on the ferry wharf. The room itself was ok, the bathroom outdated and unfortunately the wifi was way overcharged. What is it that big hotels cannot offer this service for free?
On the day we were checking out a cruise ship came in, which caused us to wait for half an hour for just a simple bill check on checkout. Not really customer friendly. Maybe they should think about having a separate checkin / checkout counter during these peaktimes.

Room Tip: All rooms have harbour view, so the higher the better :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanHagendijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing