We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #53 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not to bad”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

stayed in this hotel in June .booked because of location.having checked with other trip advisors reviews which where negative.we found this hotel to be good, rooms clean and spacey, with good views. we stayed on the 5th floor where we did not experience to much noise, staying for 6 nights. the staff work hard and and were very efficient. the hotels location is very good for exploring Auckland city and islands with ferry across the street. we also used the airport bus which also leaves from the ferry terminal. this is a good hotel which did not justified some of the bad reviews.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigchap2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    92
See reviews for
137
360
75
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is very tired and run down and poorly maintained.
The furniture, carpet and bathroom were in very shabby condition.
Cleanliness was OK. Close to Auckland's waterfront and Viaduct Basin.
Good view but very noisy.
Might be OK if you got a bargain basement rate.
Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Got a great room over looking the Auckland harbour, Spirit of Adventure, and the Cloud. Room only cost $119. Very large bed clean and tidy and had an opening window which is hard to come by. The room was large and although a few things needed a fresh paint job so to speak, very nice over all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Better stay in a backpacker hostel than staying un this old and creepy hotel. The toilet's tiles wr dirty you really doesnt feel like using the toilet. There lift doesnt feel safe. Gym facility is creepy as it was inky a small room with no windows at all! Duvets, linens, furnitures are opd and doest look clean. Staff ate not frinedly! Especially the chinese!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbubblez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location on the waterfront, easy walking distance to the city centre.
Copthorne is such a good brand but this hotel was a major disappointment and barely reaches Kingsgate standard.
Check in was pleasant, bags were delivered to our room while we parked the car ($25 a day).
Hotel hasn't been updated since the eighties. Paint and wallpaper peeling, outdated lifts, old carpet, cracked furnishings, old and dirty bathroom.
Well soundproofed (we were on 11th floor) from bars below but loud cars/trucks could still be heard.
No minibar like was advertised.
Shower was made for short people, my partner had to crouch down to get his hair wet.
Toiletries were standard Copthorne issue.
Wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend for the price you pay.
Definitely in need of a major revamp. Time to bring up to standard with the rest of the Copthorne brand!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank footiesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The positives - the location is amazing - all the rooms have a harbour view (don't let any website try to sell you a room with a view for a higher price) and we could walk to Queen street in 5 minutes - the sky tower in 15. The ferry or bus to the airport are just over the road. We got three nights for $230. The front desk staff were helpful. The TV was a good size.
The negatives - the room was small and our 'queen' bed was two singles pushed together which was very uncomfortable.
I don't think I would stay again.

Room Tip: They all have a view - ask for one bed - not two pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 256Fiona256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you want a well located, cheap hotel without the "frills" this is perfect for you. Because this is a Copthorne hotel we did expect a better standard of room and service. The staff do not appear to have had adequate training in their work areas.

We stayed here recently for two nights thankfully it wasn't any longer. The rooms are in dire need of a makeover, the carpets are lifting, paint chipped, linen very worn, bathrooms extremely dated and grubby.. The location admittedly is great it is within walking distance of Queen Street, Britomart and the Viaduct restaurants. I suppose you get what you pay for and at $120.00 per night I suppose we shouldn't complain but we won't be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking Quay Street are extremely noisy especially over the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAHBRIDGET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing