We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it!!!”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
1 review
“Can't beat it!!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I had a long stay visit with the Heritage and I couldn't have asked for a better place for my 2 week stay. The rooms were huge, clean, comfortable and had everything you could possibly need. The staff were always smiling and very accommodating.
I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends and family who were visiting Auckland.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    662
    185
    57
    27
See reviews for
349
724
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at the Heritage Auckland for two nights at the end of our New Zealand trip. Unfortunately, what was meant to be a nice comfortable treat turned into an expensive but mediocre experience at best. Not even close to what we expected. The problem is - I don't even know where to start, but let's begin with the good stuff.

The room itself was nice and clean, with slightly worn and outdated furniture and unfortunately no windows that can be opened, as it was overlooking the covered courtyard with a restaurant. The bathroom was also nice in general, with the exception of the shower which has a head at fixed height (too low for someone who is 6ft tall) and a very leaky broken shower door which unavoidably floods the entire bathroom floor. Acceptable, but not ok for NZ$ 300/night without breakfast.

...which gives my the next topic: breakfast costs NZ$ 35 per person and is absolutely unacceptable for that price, an unispired buffet with standard items you would expect from the budget version of a chain hotel. Disappointing. Wireless internet in the room is even worse - at a cost of 30$ you get 24 hours of Internet with a data limit of 300MB (and usage based fees afterwards). Miraculously, after about 1 hour, that limit is exhausted, on the same computer which only clocked about 1GB on a 3G data stick in about 2 weeks. Very strange.

It gets better though: when ordering very expensive room service food, the lady providing the mostly tasty meal (but please avoid the apple pie!) not only expected the guest to hold the room door open while carrying in four plates from her cart she could also have pushed into the door to keep it open, she also didn't bother to set the table but instead just dropped everything wherever it suited her. Again - fine for the pizza snack in a budget hotel, but not what one expects from a five star place.

Last but not least, when we came back from a walk in the city at around 2:30pm on the second day of our stay, we found our room still as we left it before breakfast. Unmade. And no, we didn't forget that "do not disturb" sign on the door. About 45 minutes after a call to the front desk a lady showed up and serviced our room, unfortunately, her own body hygiene was such that we wanted to flee the room while she cleaned it. We also had to remind her to clear the remains from the room service dinner on the table, she would have left without dealing with them.

After all this, we can agree with the hotel's claim: "Auckland hotel accommodation with a difference" - but unfortunately not in the way we would have hoped it to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfkunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for feedback. I was disappointed to learn of your experiences whilst staying with us, they were certainly not up to our standards or expectations. We have certainly shared your feedback with the team in an effort to resolve these issues. I would appreciate discussing these service issues further so as to allow us to finalise the dates and times. To that end please do contact me on jamesb@heritagehotels.co.nz.

Kind Regards

James Billing
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Our recent stay at the Heritage was most enjoyable. Our room was large, clean and quiet, the location was convenient to shopping and restaurants, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Use one of their Specials & Packages if you can--- it made our stay much more affordable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

You have to put up with a lot of noisy, shouting, and even swearing. No one stop it and you have to put up with all these. It makes staying real uncomfortable.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Gazpoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for feedback. I am disappointed that your experience with us was affected by the behaviour of people in our restaurant. I have followed up with our team and we are unsure as to what time or day this event occurred. As such I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these service issues with you further. Please do contact me on jamesb@heritagehotels.co.nz.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had one night at the Heritage recently, stayed in the tower, nice spacious room, very clean, got a late checkout by asking, great central location.
Pros - comfy beds, clean, good location, secure, relatively quiet for central Auckland, easy walk down to the viaduct and wynyard quarter.
Cons - slightly pricey but ok for a business hotel, bathroom slightly dated
Will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

right from the room size, room quality, the breakfast, view from 11th floor, the amenities inside room, location (nearby Sky City), overall Ambience

Room Tip: opt for higher floors... u will get rid of the city hustle bustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asad_su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The family stayed for 2 nights on the way through Auckland. For the price we paid (it was a 1 bedroom suite) we expected just a little more. Overall I think the place just feels tired and in need of renovation. This was certainly the case with the bed which was absolutely shot. We requested that the mattress be changed and the second night was only marginally better than the first.

On the positive side, the staff and location are excellent. We also really enjoyed being able to use the large balcony (not always the case with inner-city apartments) and found the layout of the room to be excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blur_blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing