We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old dame with character”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A grand old dame with character”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel certainly has the right name - Heritage and it clearly shows. Apparently this hotel was previously the Farmers department store and they have chosen to kept quite a bit of the old charm of the building especially the wooden floor which looks like it has taken some beating over many years. Service was excellent a the front desk, as in the restaurant and the room (which I got an upgrade to a suite) was also cosy and warm. The kitchen was a surprise, much bigger than the usual motels but unfortunately, I did not get to cook much. What I didn;t quite like is the poor sound proofing, which means I get to hear the guy next door coughing or folks upstairs walking around. The gym is also rather small and the pool seems to be on renovation. They could have offered towels at the gym though as well as provided more machines in a larger area. Heard that there are actually 2 gyms but did not manage to find the other one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    667
    189
    57
    27
See reviews for
353
729
82
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

One night getaway was awesome. Had a dip in the hot pool and then a few laps in the nice warm lap pool. Breakfast was a treat especially the smoked salmon and the awesome eggs benedict. A good range of food and cold fruit juices.

Room Tip: Tower wing with city view brilliant. Sit on the terrace with a glass of wine and watch boats on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I thouroughly enjoyed my stay at the Heritage Hotel. The room was very luxurious and comfortable. The dinner was very nice and the hotel is ideally situated for the happy shopper.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room as my friend who is a smoker was tired of walking to the smoking areas in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Thank you for the amazing weekend experience. The service, clean rooms and friendly staff who adhered and met every request was impeccable. I have traveled to Auckland from overseas 5 times within the past 6 months & have stayed at an array of hotels and can honestly say I have finally found a hotel in Auckland that meets every need. The room size and decor was refreshing. The rooms have a heritage feel to it and although the floors appear to creek in areas it provides character to this heritage building. Love the floor boards & quality of timber. The buffet breakfasts are scrumptious and the restaurant has a sophisticated ambiance. The location is perfect for a weekend of city activities or for a relaxing time of staying in doors. The free valet parking as part of the room price was an added bonus, something I've found difficult to get with other hotels in the city. The price and value for service is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Nothing special really. The Heritage is an old style inner city hotel, complete with creaky wooden floors so every footstep is audible, even on carpeted areas.

As a local, stayed here one night to help decide whether or not to rent a 4 month 'owner occupied apartment' here, to check out noise level at night and so on. Asked for a room in similar location of the building. Bit disappointed our hotel room was missing the kitchen, washer, drier, sofa and table & chairs. Not that we needed them for 1 night. So the room looked sparse in comparison to what we'd been expecting. Large bed was 2 single beds pushed together. Linen on bed was decent enough.

Room's one window faced towards the centre (looking down on the breakfast area). The position made the room look dark but on the plus side no street noise can be heard. Road front rooms face busy inner city main roads into and out of the city (Hobson St and Nelson St).

Rooftop pool is STILL closed. Used the indoor spa pool even though a sign next to it stated that it was 'out of order'. We'd asked reception for "towels for the spa pool" and nobody had said anything about it being out of order. It was too far to walk back to reception (in other wing) to check.

Have stayed at several hotels in the city which are nicer and better. If our stay had been for a "special occasion" we would have been a bit disappointed I think.

Location is good, walking distance to Sky Tower and Viaduct. Expect to pay hefty fee for valet parking if you come by car.




  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Thank you for a great stay
Rooms clean and spacious
great facilities
excellent service and friendliness
beautiful food, dinner and breakfast - congrats to the chefs:)
I was impressed with the overall service

Room Tip: If you're a smoker ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmelita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

we enjoyed our stay in this hotel. the room,and room facilities are very good. bathroom is wonderful. ther is a cooking range and microwave in the room. over all had a very good and comfertable stay. plus it is at a walkable distance to main attraction of auckland city sky tower and sky walk and sky jump.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing