We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical conference hotel, but not bad”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here four nights for a conference. Good location near Sky Tower but not noisy. Very comfortable bed, clean and smart room with pleasing decor. Odd layout with TV nowhere near bed but no couch to watch it from, over large desk so impossible to get near a mirror to put make-up on and sockets on the floor so crawling around to plug in hairdryer and mobile phone charger. And it was impossible to shower without covering the floor with water. I'm sure people who run these hotels never stay in the rooms, they just have a list of furniture and then throw it in the room without thinking!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel just for one night and were warmly welcomed by the staff. The room was spacious, clean and warm. The beds were really comfortable and although this hotel is in the middle of the city, it was not noisy at all so we had a wonderful undisturbed sleep. Breakfast in Hectors diningroom was scrumptious with a wide variety of foods to choose from. The valet parking was a real treat too. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Not far from the viaduct & close to SKY Tower. Ask for a room in the New Tower as they are way nicer & not to mention quieter

Room Tip: The older part have lovely wooden floors but this means its noisy when people walk up the hallway &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel is a mix of great and average. Great is the lobby,bar, restaurant areas and overall decor and appeal. Average are the generally unfriendly staff - helpful and efficient but not very cheerful or friendly. I stayed in a large suite with nice view of the harbour, the bed was comfortable, room spotless and well equipped with a range of seating. A disappointment was the bed side light which was so low voltage I couldn't read in bed and there was no light control for the ceiling lights near the bed. Minor but very annoying. The last annoying thing was the business centre which had a printer that didn't work - a real issue when trying to print off the last minute report I needed for a business meeting at 9am. While staff were helpful and did the printing for me at the front desk I wasted half an hour trying to get printer to work (with help of staff).

Room Tip: Ask for harbour views as some rooms have a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Had two nights at the Heritage in Auckland, a nice hotel, but the room was badly in need of a face lift now, we were on L3, so canot comment on all rooms.
The staff are what makes this place great, they were so lovely and friendly and helpful, I know they have room service, but they went out of their way to make us late night desserts from the restaurent when we came back from the Jersey Boys, they did'nt need to do that, but had remembered this from an earlier comment I'd made at lunch time.
Food in the Restaurant was first class for breakfast, lunch and dinner,
A place can me made or broken by it's staff and this place is definately made by the staff - Management should be proud of them.

If anything only down comments: shower over the bath, I hate that, husband is 70 and not good at getting in and out of the bath, very dangerious, so why do this, there is enough room to put in shower stalls.
Terrable background music in the restaurant, how about some nice classical?
Coffee mugs at breakfast horrid, good coffee in good china please.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skymyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The housekeeping in this hotel was excellent. I am recently bereaved, and although I never asked anything from housekeeping staff they were able to work out what things to move, what to move back, and what not to touch at all.

I ended up leaving a tip of about NZ$30 (which was all the NZ$ I had on me before I left for the airport) for the housekeeping staff together with a thank you note. Sometimes it is the little things that count, and the excellent job done by housekeeping at this hotel made all the difference to my stay at what was a sad time to be travelling for me.

Room Tip: Close walk to the Viaduct, which is where all the cool restaurants and bars are. Short $15 cab ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Heritage. Good value at $NZ189 incl parking , for a harbour view room on top floor. Cannot fault our stay - everyone was helpful , friendly, room and bathroom was top quality for the price - especially the bed ! WOW I loved the bed - Im going to try and buy one 'Sleepyhead Commercial Equisite Latex'. Room was very well appointed and very clean. Did I mention the bed. Go for it !

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor , north facing , so you get harbour view with no-one above. Negotiate parking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLikesValueForMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing