We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Two adults and two kids stayed for three nights mid December 2012. Beautiful, spacious room in the old building with two queen beds and divider. Spacious well equipped bathroom. Nice old building that has been tastefully updated. Valet parking and decent continental/cooked breakfast buffet were included in the room rate. Easy access from the Motorway.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear MR,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations of comfort ambience. Our generously sized guest rooms with recently upgraded bedding helps to create a strong point of difference when guest are selecting accommodation options while visiting Auckland. Our team will be very pleased to read your comments and we continue to work on creating a high level of nostalgia as the Hotel building nears its 100 years. We are also very pleased our Restaurant was able to exceed your expectations as well.
We hope the rest of your trip through out New Zealand was enjoyable and memorable.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    627
    170
    54
    22
See reviews for
330
691
75
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Our family of 4 stayed from 21 to 26 Dec 2012. We chose a one bedroom suite and one twin for our adult offspring. The suite was SO well equipped: stove, dishwasher, clothes washer/dryer, toaster, kettle and a microwave when requested, fridge. The rooms were large, clean and well serviced. We did not use their restaurant much as we wanted to try what Auckland had to offer. The location was central allowing us to explore in all directions. The old farmers' market building lends it character although perhaps even more could have been done to add to the 'period' feel. If we'd had a harbour view that would have been perfect and received a 5-star rating from us, especially since 4 of us stayed 5 nights including Christmas!

The only drawback [not of the hotel] I'd like to mention is the dirty sidewalks of Auckland nearby with their smell of urine, cigarette butts everywhere and ubiquitous blobs of chewing gum. Come on Auckland, get with it!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room or suite on a high fkoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof_ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Prof_ST,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations of comfort ambience. Our generously sized guest rooms with recently upgraded bedding helps to create a strong point of difference when guest are selecting accommodation options while visiting Auckland. Our team will be very pleased to read your comments and we continue to work on creating a high level of nostalgia as the Hotel building nears its 100 years since construction. We hope the rest of your trip through out New Zealand was enjoyable and memorable
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

The hotel itself doesn't look particularly appealing but the staff were great and it's really well located. Our room was a bit worn out but really spacious with comfy bed, and absolutely fine for a city stopover. Probably wouldn't go there for a romantic break but good for a quick and practical stop, right next to the Sky Tower.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Traveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Anna_Traveller 028,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to meet your expectations of comfort and dining. Our generously sized guest rooms with recently upgraded bedding helps to create a strong point of difference when guest are selecting accommodation options while visiting Auckland. I have noted your comments about your room standard and will have this addressed as we have worked very hard to ensure that our high level of excellent feedback is maintained. Our team will be very pleased to read your comments about their level of service provided to you and your family. We hope the rest of your trip through out New Zealand was enjoyable and memorable
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The Heritage Hotel is loaded with old charm and provides updated accommodations such as WiFi availability. Rooms are large and bathrooms are more than ample. Buffet breakfast served in the hotel dining room offers fresh and varied options. The Heritage is well located. It's only a five minute walk to the Sky Tower Complex. Be sure to a visit St. Patrick's beautifully restored church less than a block away from the hotel. I found staff to be friendly and accommodating. I was comfortable at the Heritage Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Traveler2Q,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations of comfort and dining options. Our generously sized guest rooms with recently upgraded bedding helps to create a strong point of difference when guest are selecting accommodation options while visiting Auckland. Our team will be very pleased to read your comments about our fresh and healthy food options offered at breakfast. We hope the rest of your trip through New Zealand was enjoyable and memorable
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Hotel would certainly deserve 5 star rating. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with an amazing view over the harbour. The furnishings and the extra touches eg bath robes were of such high quality. The staff were friendly and very professional. Hotel well positioned for shopping. restaurants etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear EileenE,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations of comfort and quality. Our generously sized guest rooms with recently upgraded high quality bedding helps to create a strong point of difference when guest are selecting accommodation options while visiting Auckland. Our team will be very pleased to read your comments, we look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

My friend and I had booked and paid well in advance the Heritage hotel for New Years eve and the 1st of January knowing that hotels book up fast this time of year. We rang up two weeks prior of our stay to confirm our reservation to be told everything was in order. Unfortunately not one week later we get a phone call to get told the hotel has been over booked and we were to be moved to another hotel. Really disappointed as the other hotel was much further away from where we would be celebrating, did not have the kitchen facilities we had booked and was only given the option of one queen bed not the two singles we had booked. Ruined my New Years. Not a great start for the year. Will not book with the Heritage again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0llyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Hollyay,
Thank you for your feedback and sharing your concerns online about your relocation. While it is not generally our policy to relocate any guest we made an error and took every step once we understood what our issue was and was very proactive in advising reserved guest well in advance of arrival the situation and made suitable plans that in general meet those guest who had to be relocated with additional bonus offerings to make up for the inconvenience this relocation had caused. I am very happy for you to contact me directly to discuss in person your disappointment and see how we can best recover from this situation.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed here on our first and last nights in New Zealand and wished we had booked for longer. The rooms were first class, especially when we were upgraded on the final night to a room with a balcony and harbour views. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kharbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Kharbon,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again very soon when you return to Auckland.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing