We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heritage TOWER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heritage TOWER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed 1 night at Tower Deluxe Suite of Heritage Tower Auckland in Jan 2013 ...terrific .
At $NZD199 I literally cannot find a single fault ( and I am fussy ).
Buffet breakfast was included - and was terrific - a huge range of absolutley everything you could dream of - and the head chef even came out to have a chat to check every thing was good.
Car park was included under the building.
The Deluxe suite was BIG with north facing harbour view - quiet - clean - bed was luxurious - the room looked absolutley immaculate. Maybe it had just been renovated , I dont know - but carpet looked quality, brand new , furnishings were top-notch. Air-con was silent , even on full. Room 1102 if your interested.
We're are definatley going back .

Room Tip: Ask for 'North Facing' with a balcony ( some dont ) that way you can open the ranch-slider a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrLikesValueForMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Mr Likes Value for Money,
Thank you for sharing with our readers your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. My team will be delighted to read these and we do look forward to welcoeming you back to Heritage Auckland sometime very soon.
Kind Regards

Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    627
    170
    54
    22
See reviews for
330
690
74
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We purchased the kiwi summer deal,$199 for a suite with breakfast included when we came here last week for a night.the room was great,had cooking facilities,was spacious and v clean.we were really happy with everything,and to top it off the breakfast included was FANTASTIC!buffet style,a massive selection.compliments to the kitchen staff.we'll be back for more eggs benedict!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear ijmonkey,
Thank you very much for sharing with our readers your wonderful comments relating to your recent stay with us at Heritage Auckland. My team were delighted to read your high praise about your dining experience with us.
We continue to work very hard to ensure we continually look for improvement in our guest experience.
We look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards

Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Great hotel! Clean large rooms and very very helpful staff. Would be 5 stars if there was more than 1 hr of free internet. Didn't get a chance to try to upstairs pool as it was shut for renovation, but looked nice and would have only added to the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Julia 3012,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with our readers on your recent stay with us. My team will be delighted to know you have had a great time and that they have been apart of ensuring that your stay has been memorable. We do continue to work on reducing the cost of internet and as these improvements continue we will pass these benefits onto our guest.

Kind Regards

Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I can't really fault this hotel except to say the rooms are a little dated.

I called ahead to ask if it was possible to have an early check in, within 20 minutes of our arrival to the hotel at 9am, we were in our clean room. We booked a Deluxe Suite on a special deal of $199/night incl breakfast and having the option of a second bed instead of a lounge area was ideal for our toddler. Service was excellent - truly friendly and helpful.

There's a good selection at breakfast, and we were pretty excited to see some of the world's top tennis players having breakfast with us each morning (in town for the Auckland Open). I think breakfast is quite expensive if not included so worth looking for a deal where it is.

The hotel's location is good - it's an easy 5 minute walk down to the Viaduct basin where there are loads of bars and restaurants, and a 15 minute walk from the redeveloped Britomart area (really great, check it out). The CBD is dead on a weekend, but it's not like you want to hang out there anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moneypenny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Moneypenny28,
Thank you for sharing with our readers your excellent comments relating to your recent stay with us. My team will be very pleased reading through your feedback. We do hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand and would look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards

Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Having stayed at this hotel in the CBD previously we were looking forward to returning however upon arrival were given a room much below the previous standard and without a bath. We were moved to another room that did have a bath, we noticed the scaffolding out the window but there was no work going on. At 2pm in the afternoon we noticed people on our balcony and then the banging began, when phoning reception we were told that the workers are on a schedule and there was nothing to be done about it! What kind of hotel books people in to a room when there is construction going on right outside. The next day I asked for our room to be servcied before lunchtime if possible - it was never serviced at all, instead we had to get back on the phone to ask for milk, towels and left the rubbish in the hallway. Really poor service and quality of amenities on this trip especially when there are more cost effective places to stay in the CBD that are more appreciative of their guests.

Room Tip: the tower wing is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Ncubis,
Thank you for sharing your concerns with our readers relating to your recent stay with us.
This follows the email you sent to us which we have responded to as well apologising and making good on these concerns. We acknowledge that the issues you have raised were disappointing and do not meet our generally very high professional standards. We will take this as a learning moment to continue our path to excellence for our guest. The only additional comment I would make that has been omitted from your posting is that we did offer to move you which was declined.
Kind Regards

Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We were only at this hotel for one night - a quick stay on route to elsewhere - but it was an enjoyable and comfortable stay.
The hotel is not super cheap but not ridiculous - pool and gym were closed which was a pity, but no big deal.
Internet prices were steep (didn't use that anyway). Staff were attentive and pleasant.
Excellent location - just up from the sky tower (or whatever it's called!) and plenty of restaurants nearby - Mexican, Turkish, Thai ( we went to the latter and the food was fantastic).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Renbar,
.Thank you for taking the time to share with our readers the excellent feedback relating to your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations in almost every way. I have noted your comment about our internet pricing which recently underwent a significant remodelling with 1 GB of usage now only costing NZD$15, this represents an 88% reduction on our previous plans which I believe now represents excellent value.
My team will be delighted to read through your feedback and I do hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand has been memorable

Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was the least favourite of our stays in New Zealand.

General standard of the Hotel was good - However the swiming pool was closed for repairs and the other pool was also not accessable.

Breakfast cost $70 for two and they charged another $5 because i had a second cup of coffee. I just felt it was a bit of a cheek. Especially as they had moved the breakfast room to a lobby while the stripped the wood floor of the existing one very noisily during our breakfast.

Hotel looks a bit tired but standard is okay - no heart though and they certainly did not make you feel in any way special to them.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarzanhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Tarzenhey,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments about your recent stay with us in December 2012. I note your comments about your restaurant experience and can advise you that while we will continue to charge for a take away coffee, if guest have enjoyed our extensive breakfast a discounted price of $3 will be offered. My team do work very hard to ensure that all guest feel they are someone special staying somewhere special, if we have not been able to achieve this in your instance, please accept my sincerest apologies. I do hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand was enjoyable and relaxing.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing