We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed in the Heritage for only 1 night, it is very central to both shopping and the Viaduct and the bedroom was very spacious and clean.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but the entire hotel seemed tired and dated.
The hot water took about 5 mins to come through the shower faucet, I almost gave up and the pool and gymnasium area are desperate for an upgrade. I know these seem picky but if you are rated as a top hotel the facilities need to reflect this.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_M480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear Traveller_480,
Thank you for sharing your comments with our readers regarding your recent stay with us. I have noted your comments about the building presentation and while we have invested significantly in the refurbishment our guest rooms and public areas it has to be put into perspective that our Heritage building is nearly 100 years old and some of the rustic charm of wooden floor boards and high ceilings are not modern and have to been seen in the spirit of the buildings charm. I have asked my team to review the water issue you have raised.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Heritage Auckland sometime very soon

Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    662
    185
    57
    27
See reviews for
349
724
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

i Regularly stay in the Heritage! Its location is second to none.. A two minute walk to Queen Street or the Viaduct , its location is great and the Standard of the rooms are superb. the service and food there is also excellent, and when they have there special deals, the whole experiance is the Best in Auckland.

Room Tip: If you wish to go for a girlie weekend or with children then have the Deluxe Suite as it has 2 queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear TraceyR,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at Heritage Auckland. It is pleasing for my team to be able to read these comments that assist in motivating us all to continue to work hard on improving our product for you all to enjoy.
We look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The Heritage is well located within walking distance of most attractions. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is magnificent! Ask to stay in the older section of the hotel. The rooms have 15 ft. ceilings. We had a room with a kitchenette and a view of the Auckland Bridge. The outside pool was under renovation, but there was an inside lap pool that was quite nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatima58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear Fatima58,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with our readers about your recent stay with us. It is pleasing that our team were able to exceed your expectations. The Old Farmers building is about to celebrate 100 years in 1914 and the high ceilings and wooden floors are a real feature that we are very proud of.
We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon

Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frigiliana, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed here for one night before heading to the airport to fly home at the end of our holiday. This was our second visit, having done the same thing on our previous NZ trip five years ago. We were impressed then; we were equally impressed this time. I would describe it as comfort personified, and the attitude of all staff members we encountered further confirmed my belief that all New Zealanders are congenitally incapable of being inhospitable.

Room Tip: It's worth taking the valet parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Payasoru,
A very warm welcome back to Heritage Auckland and I am delighted you have shared with our readers your excellent feedback relating to your recent stay with us.
My team will be delighted to read your thoughts on our guest service and we continue to strive to improve our guest experience each and every time.
We do hope you have enjoyed your trip to New Zealand and would forward to welcoming you all back sometime very soon.
My Kindest Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during my visit to Auckland. The view of the harbour was amazing from my room in the tower. Service was excellent. Rooms and balcony are spacious. They have provided most of the amenities required by travellers. Location is also good. Breakfast was good. All in all a good value for money and a very nice experience. Would surely stay here again for my next visits to Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoghRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Amogh Run,
Thank you for sharing with our readers your wonderful comments relating to your recent stay with us at Heritage Auckland. We have noted your positive comments about our breakfast experience. We have worked very hard to ensure that we have a great balance of fine foods and warm and attentive service. We look forwarding to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We booked our night in the city for our wedding and were not disappinted. The reception staff were friendly and couldn't have done more for us. The room was well presented and clean, and very quiet for such a busy location in the city.

Our room had a full kitchen which we didnt need on this stay, but was nice to know that fully fuctional suites are avaiable.

We highly recommend paying extra for the breakfast as the sitting goes until 11.00 giving you a good sleepin, and the range of food is amazing. I was surprised when we were asked if we wanted coffee even though there was a self serve machine on the buffet, which was then personally served to our table.

We had a great relaxing night with an awesome brekkie, which saw us thriugh the rest of the day. It is our second time staying at the Heritage and will be booking there again.

Room Tip: Advise of wanting a kitchen at time of booking as some suites have a full kitchen available, and oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Shakey72,
Firstly, congratulations to you both for your very special day and thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with our readers on how much you enjoyed your stay with us recently. My team and I are extremely delighted that we have exceeded your expectations in every way. We look forward to hosting you and your partner again on your next wedding anniversary.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Immaculate place great service. I arrived late staff were very genuinely friendly. First impressions big clean flash. Room much the same wonderful spacious and clean. Great sleep and couldn't hear any noise from street below. The only question I had was the whereabouts of the dish washing liquid. Unfortunately I didn't have time to agonize over that too long but left my dishes for the establishment - sorry. Wonderful restaurant great breakfast setup excellent service Loved it and coming back just make sure there's dishwashing liquid and and scrubbing brush please. 5 stars

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortwalk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Shortwalk74,
Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback with our readers relating to your recent stay with us. I have noted the dishwashing liquid and have passed this onto my house keeping team. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Auckland sometime very soon to host you again.
My Kindest Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing