We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Wanganui
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Luxury in the city”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

From the moment we arrived every single staff member impressed us with their courtesy, friendliness and helpfulness.
Our room was luxurious and dare we say it, the bed was even more comfortable than our own bed at home. The bathroom was spacious.
The breakfast was outstanding and one evening we had tapas at the bar which were excellent.
The room was quiet but we did not have a view.
The hotel is central to downtown Auckland. It is a short walk to the ferries, restaurants and buses.
Unfortunately when we were there the pool was not operating. We were able to use the lap pool in the gymnasium but it wasn't quite the same.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear locatelli,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am extremely delighted that we have been able to exceed your expectations on every level. Our team continues to work very hard to ensure our guest experience is one to remember and provides confidence when you wish to reserve your next stay with us.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    645
    178
    56
    24
See reviews for
337
703
80
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Comfortable and pleasant, with good service, but a bit dated. We had a suite, but it had no natural light because it overlooked the internal courtyard. This was a bit disorientating, but the room was certainly adequate. The porters coped well with our baggage (which was quite considerable) and the staff were always helpful. However, the hotel seems to fall between being a business hotel and being a vacation hotel. Overall acceptable, but not great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Winelover 399,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay with us at Heritage Auckland. We have discussed your comments as a team and thank you for your feedback on our teams service performance and while accepting your feedback on lighting, we have taken considerable care to improve decor and lighting in the last 12 months. The dated comments you have made would relate to the historical nature of the building. We have recently refurbished our guest rooms and have focused on this historical ambience in furniture and fittings we have introduced to our guest rooms.
We do hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.

Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at The Heritage and once again it was excellent. This time I had a suite overlooking the restaurant in the atrium and it was roomy and very quiet.
I ate at Hector's one night and the food was excellent, although I do have a bit of an issue with being charged $7.00 for a bottle of sparkling water. Breakfast was included in one night's tariff and the selection was amazing. I don't think I have ever seen a better selection. Room service was great when I didn't feel like going downstairs the second night. The staff was friendly and helpful, particularly the restaurant staff.
My only grumble was that the servicing of my room didn't happen till very late in the afternoon. Would have loved to have come back after a long day out to find the bed made, etc.
Other than that the whole experience was fabulous and I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alimay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear alimay47,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your most recent stay with us at Heritage Auckland. We are delighted our "eat" experience has exceeded your expectations have noted your improvement comments highlighting room servicing, we make every attempt to ensure that all guest rooms arriving and stay over are serviced in a professional and timely manner. On occasions that we have a high number of expected check in's we have to prioritize this. I would suggest that if you are requiring an earlier room service, please share this with our front desk who will then look to facilitate your request. I have also noted your feedback on water pricing and put this onto our service improvement agenda for discussion.
We do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon

Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

After a 2 week cruise, my clients stayed in Auckland for a couple of days before flying home.
I chose the Heritage Auckland Hotel. The quality of services is matched by the convenience of the hotel's excellent location in Auckland city. Rooms are spacious and attractive. The hotel staff excels in guest satisfaction and prompt personal service. While there may be several hotels in Auckland, there is a "pleasant surprise" of delight when I place them at the Heritage Auckland.-Kiwi Specialist USA

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Linda M,
My apologies for this very late response to your excellent feedback that I am sure our readers will find very helpful. We continue to work very hard on ensuring we share with all of our guest "The Heritage" experience. We look forward to hosting more of your clients with us in the very near future.
Kind Regards

Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed 1 night as part of a conference group.I stayed in the original section (not the tower section) Room was really large with a separate sitting area. Furnished in the old art deco style with modern touches like a flat screen TV which you can see from either the sitting room or the bedroom. Room had cooking facilities; oven, stovetop, fridge, toaster and kettle. Strangely though, no microwave.
Bed was sublimely comfortable. Friendly reception and concierge staff and lovely overall ambience in hotel.
Extensive array of bathroom amenities and shower and separate bath in bathroom.
Downsides; not very efficient airconditioning in rooms and room smelled a little of old cooking.
I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Cazzyg,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay with us at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted you have been able to enjoy our "Heritage experience" and did note your comments relating to the Air conditioning which has been working overtime in this unseasonably hot summer in Auckland. Our technical team are working on our system to ensure it continues to operate more effectively going forward.
We would look forward to hosting you at Heritage Auckland sometime very soon.

Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

The Heritage is a well designed hotel made from the old Farmers building. Each room is big, well laid out and clean. Location is good for getting down to the viaduct or queen st. Parking was easy with valet from the front door for a low cost. But they where rubbish at getting the car back to us delivering it to the door which we wher not standing at and then not letting us know it was waiting at a different door. The resturant is ok but better place are close by. Free wifi is avaiable down stairs. There are quite few tourists staying here but the staff cope with all inquires.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Andrew A,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. It is really important to note that the 'Farmers" building will celebrate it's 100 years in operation next year and we are really looking forward to making this a fun, memorable with a strong sense of pride that we have been able to nurture the 'old lady" into the 21st century.
I do note your comments relating to your valet service and will ensure our concierge team take your comments as a "coaching moment" to ensure we work towards excellence in service.
We do hope that you will return to enjoy our" Heritage experience" sometime very soon.

Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had a four night stay at the Heritage after a cruise to Auckland. We arrived about 10 am and did not expect our room to be ready. However we did not have too long to wait until gaining access to our room. The room itself was very clean and well equipped, we also had a fairly large balcony which got plenty of afternoon sun. The balcony was very much a saving grace as we had booked this hotel knowing that there was a closure of the outdoor pool. We had booked well in advance and had been assured that repairs would be complete by the time of our arrival. Unfortunately when we arrived we discovered that the pool was still out of commission which was a big disappointment. Apart from the pool not being available we had an excellent stay and would recommend the hotel. The way that we arranged our time in Auckland was to go out in the morning, do some sightseeing and have lunch. We would then return to the hotel and catch some sun on the balcony. The problem with that was that room servicing was always pretty late and we were unable to completely relax until it was complete. Overall though it was still a pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iain48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear iain48,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we have been able to share with you our "Heritage experience" including your "sleep”, and "eat" elements. I do note your comments about our roof top pool, I no more than any one is looking forward to this project being completed. It has been a very complicated process with a number of hurdles to overcome the total replacement of the deck and pool area. We are most hopeful this will be completed in June this year. The pool will be heated so we are really looking forward to sharing with the world when we are fully operational
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing