We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room but.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great room but.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed in your hotel on the March 22 and 23 and was very happy with the size of the room and the views from the window. The breakfast was great and everything functioned well....until on the morning of checkout, the airconditioning grill fell down and hit my partner on the back of the neck while she was brushing her teeth. I wondered what the huge crash and bang was! Luckily she was not hurt however I took some great pictures of the grill and the hole in the wall! When I checked out, I told the recption staff and they commented that they would get engineering to sort it out. It seemed strange that they did not take the welfare of their guests more seriously. I later filled out a survey form and posted this back hoping that the hotel would make amends....but I have heard nothing. I am not sure if Heritage Auckland really takes the welfare of its guests seriously??!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Geoff W,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay with us. For our readers benefit the incident was reported with reception on check out and at the time the Manager on duty did follow up immediately with our maintenance team as this type of incident is taken extremely seriously the guest wanted to ensure that we were aware of it and when asked how their stay was "great" was the response. If there was some form of compensation required this would have been the appropriate time to raise this. We do take extreme care to review all rooms prior to guest check in however the grill over the bathroom would have been visually checked. We have taken steps to inspect the grills in each bath room and I am very happy to report that no other loose grills have been detected. The reviewer is correct that our written acknowledgement of his concern had not be responded to as of yesterday and I have taken issue with this as it is our firm policy to respond with in 24 hours to all guest concerns by way of telephone call or by email or letter. I can understand your concern and do wish to sincerely apologise for what has happened and do thank you for your understanding.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    646
    178
    56
    24
See reviews for
337
705
80
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

If you are looking for a big fanciful modern hotel then Auckland Heritage is not for you.Its a simple understated hotel but eveything functions well.Checkin was quick and receptionist explained the facilities of the hotel.
Room was big and spacious and had everything that i needed.Fridge washing machine fully equipped kitchenette with stove and microwave.Bed was big and comfortable.Bathroom had their Manuka spa toiletries.A bit dated in decor but stil everything worked well.
Internet as usual in New Zealand is a ripoff.Archaic system of paying for one days`s usage at an exorbitant price of which after you used a certain amount of MB you are charged again.
Location slightly off the town area but was a pleasant walk.Right round the corner was the SkyCity tower.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear AsianWorldTraveller,
Thank you for sharing feedback relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted that we have exceeded your expectations in most areas but would like to share with our readers that our internet charges have reduced 88% with in the last 12 months with 1GB of usage now only costing $15. I will look into your concern about cut off usage but in real terms I am delighted that we have been able to introduce these savings. I do hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and would forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have been in Auckland at Heritage. Room clean and big with first class services and amenities
I'm fully satisfied. The restaurant is nice with good food at a reasonable price, not as often happens in the hotels where you pay double. The breakfast was my preferred, the best way to start a day and at Heritage I found large choice and kind service, Maria is exellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffaele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Raffaele P,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we have been able to exceed your "eat' and 'sleep" experience expectations. I have shared your comments with our team in particular highlighting Maria's positive impact on you stay with us. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Heritage Auckland sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Character department store building converted into a 5-star hotel with unmatched facilities and located in the heart of the city. Suits business or personal travel, best enjoyed in summer from the rooftop pool with spectacular harbour views.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepolarbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear The Poloarbeer,
Thank you for sharing with our readers recent comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we have been able to exceed your expectations in every way. We look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Perfect location if you like to walk. Easy access to viaduct, harbor, Queens street shopping, Sky City and more. Staff is friendly and helpful. Reception area/lobby lounge is comfortable. Our room.faced an internal atrium with no natural light. The room was clean and had every thing we needed in a very compact space. Sitting on the bed you could touch the wardrobe on one side and wall on the other side. The bath was spacious. We chose the hotel based on location. The room.was adequate for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank df03438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear df3438,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. We have atrium facing rooms as well as harbour facing rooms. The atrium facing rooms do have natural light but is reduced by a UV tinted glass due to the heat and light the 7 floor atrium can generate. I have noted this in your profile to ensure that we have the ability to offer you a harbour view option for your next stay. We have worked very hard to ensure we have high quality lighting in these rooms to offset this issue. I am delighted we were able to provide you with friendly and helpful service. We do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. Great family room options, a good pool and gym area, central location, friendly service, tennis court, giant chess board and lots more besides.

As for the dining, we were very pleasantly surprised to find that a 'main stream' hotel had about 50% of the fine dining menu dedicated to healthy vegan dishes. The food was simply superb. In the words of my partner, "This is vegan heaven". We've found our new Auckland home. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Tower block is where the indoor pool and gym is, so can make it a bit handier for kids if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Mark R,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am extremely delighted that you have commented on our vegan dining options as we have spent considerable time and effort developing our healthy dining options and my team will be pleased with your feedback.
We do hope that we can welcome you back to Heritage Auckland sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Heritage Auckland for two nights in March 2013. The hotel is in a good location - close enough to both the harbor and the downtown shopping district but not so close to be bothered by all the noise and hub bub of tourists. We had a twin double room on the 3rd floor of the towers that was spacious, clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful with handling of luggage and providing directions. We recommend it as a very good 4-star hotel and we would definitely stay there again if we returned to Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 919MichaelN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear 919MichaelN,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we have been able to exceed your expectations in offering our "Heritage experience" We would look forward to welcoming you back sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing