We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Waikato
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I have stayed at the heritage several times, and I always love it. I prefer the original side of the hotel, as I was a fan of the old farmers building, and I have fond memories of the place. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Angela W,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted my team has been able to share our "Heritage" experience with you and we do look forward to welcoming you back sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    667
    189
    57
    27
See reviews for
353
729
82
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed there with friends for the Roger Waters concert. We stayed there before and got a good deal on the internet so it was ok then. But this time we booked one of the luxury suites which has 2 bedrooms and how disappointing. We spend a lot of money and wanted something special, we told our friends about the swimming pool on the roof and that was the main reason to book this hotel again. But after walking with our bathrobes through the first hotel block, to the outside, along the tennis courts then back into the other building, up the elevator and then realize the pool is closed because it has major damage, looked like a building site. The apartment was also disappointing, the second bedroom was tiny and uncomfortable. We complained at the counter and were told that the pool was not advertised on the website anymore. This was a blatant lie, we looked the next day and it was still advertised with photos on their website and no mention about the pool being closed. We asked for some kind of compensation and were told very rudely that there would be none. We then talked to the manager and finally got him to give us a soft drink each. Wow, how generous. We should have sued him for misleading advertising. We then did not want to spoil our stay any further and went to the inside pool (still in our bathrobes). This was dirty and depressing. The spa pool had such dirty water that none of us even wanted to touch it!
When we took our drink vouchers to the restaurant we were told rudely that we can only use them at the bar. We felt like second hand citizens in a so called first class hotel. Nobody even offered to carry our luggage.
Never again! there are much better hotels at better prices and better service in Auckland.

Room Tip: there is no breakfast included
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Jo N,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your stay in May 2012. It is always very difficult to resolve such issues 12 months after they have occurred. We have invested significant time and energy into our customer service standards and do believe that the majority of our reviewers would confirm this. The Hotel pool has been a complicated issue to resolve but I can confirm that we look forward to this facility opening sometime in August this year
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We arrived jet lagged into Auckland after a long flight and the hotel was exactly what we needed. The rooms are very large and have everything you need, ideally suited to let you stay in or within a few minutes walk you can get to all the key areas of the city.
Large bed was a welcome sight and it was all we could do to wait until it got dark before we slept the night away in comfort without any disruptions.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Scott S,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted my team have been able to share with you our Heritage Experience" and that we have been able to exceed your expectations. We do hope you have enjoyed the rest of your visit to New Zealand and would look forward to hosting you at Heritage Auckland sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The room was well equipped and very spacious. Excellent buffet breakfast with plenty to choose from. Awesome service from all the staff well dealt with. Will definitely stay again.
The Hotel buidling is better than the Tower rooms in my opinion, but with both option you can still be assured of top service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Janine R,
Thank for sharing with our readers your fantastic comments relating to your recent stay with us. My team will be delighted to read your comments as we continue to work hard on ensuring our guest experience is one to remember and look forward to next time they visit Heritage Auckland.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed in your hotel on the March 22 and 23 and was very happy with the size of the room and the views from the window. The breakfast was great and everything functioned well....until on the morning of checkout, the airconditioning grill fell down and hit my partner on the back of the neck while she was brushing her teeth. I wondered what the huge crash and bang was! Luckily she was not hurt however I took some great pictures of the grill and the hole in the wall! When I checked out, I told the recption staff and they commented that they would get engineering to sort it out. It seemed strange that they did not take the welfare of their guests more seriously. I later filled out a survey form and posted this back hoping that the hotel would make amends....but I have heard nothing. I am not sure if Heritage Auckland really takes the welfare of its guests seriously??!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Geoff W,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay with us. For our readers benefit the incident was reported with reception on check out and at the time the Manager on duty did follow up immediately with our maintenance team as this type of incident is taken extremely seriously the guest wanted to ensure that we were aware of it and when asked how their stay was "great" was the response. If there was some form of compensation required this would have been the appropriate time to raise this. We do take extreme care to review all rooms prior to guest check in however the grill over the bathroom would have been visually checked. We have taken steps to inspect the grills in each bath room and I am very happy to report that no other loose grills have been detected. The reviewer is correct that our written acknowledgement of his concern had not be responded to as of yesterday and I have taken issue with this as it is our firm policy to respond with in 24 hours to all guest concerns by way of telephone call or by email or letter. I can understand your concern and do wish to sincerely apologise for what has happened and do thank you for your understanding.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

If you are looking for a big fanciful modern hotel then Auckland Heritage is not for you.Its a simple understated hotel but eveything functions well.Checkin was quick and receptionist explained the facilities of the hotel.
Room was big and spacious and had everything that i needed.Fridge washing machine fully equipped kitchenette with stove and microwave.Bed was big and comfortable.Bathroom had their Manuka spa toiletries.A bit dated in decor but stil everything worked well.
Internet as usual in New Zealand is a ripoff.Archaic system of paying for one days`s usage at an exorbitant price of which after you used a certain amount of MB you are charged again.
Location slightly off the town area but was a pleasant walk.Right round the corner was the SkyCity tower.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear AsianWorldTraveller,
Thank you for sharing feedback relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted that we have exceeded your expectations in most areas but would like to share with our readers that our internet charges have reduced 88% with in the last 12 months with 1GB of usage now only costing $15. I will look into your concern about cut off usage but in real terms I am delighted that we have been able to introduce these savings. I do hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and would forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have been in Auckland at Heritage. Room clean and big with first class services and amenities
I'm fully satisfied. The restaurant is nice with good food at a reasonable price, not as often happens in the hotels where you pay double. The breakfast was my preferred, the best way to start a day and at Heritage I found large choice and kind service, Maria is exellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffaele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Raffaele P,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we have been able to exceed your "eat' and 'sleep" experience expectations. I have shared your comments with our team in particular highlighting Maria's positive impact on you stay with us. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Heritage Auckland sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing