We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent experience”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Fulfilled our request of two queen beds at short notice. Room was clean. Fruit basket and free bottled water upon arrival. Centrally located. Unique looking hotel. Breakfast was fantastic. Great options, fresh and good service. Definitely would stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dale I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Dale I,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations and would look forward to welcoming hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,791)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,347 - 1,353 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Heritage is central Auckland, so close to lots of good restaurants and bars and the waterfront. The rooms are clean, comfortable, with good supplies of products, dressing gowns, and a good balcony. Service was friendly, but they did insist on inspecting the room before we left which made us feel a bit like naughty school kids! Also, make sure which wing you're in to choose which reception to check in at - it's quite a walk between blocks!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear NZGirl69,
Thank you for sharing your feedback relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland with our readers. I am delighted we were able to share with you our Heritage experience and than you were comfortable and your weekend in Auckland was a great success. I do note your comment about room check prior to departure, for our readers information, guest who pay by cash are required to provide a cash bond, it is easier for both the guest and the hotel to ensure that all charges relating to there stay and settled at the time of departure to reduce any need to follow up on any outstanding charges later on. I look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Auckland sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We are a family of 4 who came to Auckland to celebrate my daughters birthday. The 2 B/R apartment in the Tower Wing was perfect. Shame they stung me an extra $40 to guarantee me a room with a harbour view. Also be aware when checking out and paying the bill. I had booked the family package online but was overcharged by $40. I didn't pick up their error until I got home and sent them an e'mail message where they quickly admitted their mistake and credited my credit card the difference. It makes me wonder how many others get billed incorrectly that never get noticed? But that said ... I was really impressed how the Staff made my daughter feel special with free chocolates being delivered to our room to acknowledge her birthday, also I e'mailed 24hrs out from our arrival asking if a birthday cake could be arranged. A Chef phoned me within 30mins and confirmed that this could be done (charge applies). One hour after checking in the cake was delivered to our room giving my daughter the treat away from home that we wanted. Thanks for going that extra mile for us Heritage. Happily return again soon.

Room Tip: Room 906 Tower Wing. Bridge and harbour views, relatively quiet for Auckland. Might get noisier dur...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Teagle,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments with our readers on your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we have been able to make your family celebration one to remember and do look forward to sharing this experience with you again sometime very soon. I have noted your comment about the over change and on investigation this issue was an isolated error and my front office team have had this highlighted to ensure we are able to rectify it quickly if it were to arise again. We look forward to hosting you at Heritage Auckland again.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I've just spent four nights at the Heritage in the older part of the hotel and loved the character and charm of the room I had. The staff were friendly and welcoming, but one thing that let me down was they assumed I knew more than I did about the place, IE assumptions made I knew the complexity of two entrances and myriad of two hotels together, where to leave your car for valet parking, how to find your car after valet parking, just the assumption that I was familiar with Auckland - things an outsider notices. As people know its the little things that get you, aside from that I did enjoy myself.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nauribeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Nauribeth,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted my team has been able to share our "Heritage" experience with you. I have also noted your comments relating to signage, we have discussed ways to improve this element of our guest experience. We do look forward to welcoming you back sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights at the Heritage Hotel for business. Rception was welcoming and check in was quick. Dinner the first night was at the hotel restaurant which had great service and food quality with friendly wait staff. The room was on the small side when compared to some other hotels i have stayed in, but was comfortable and woudl definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Wayne D,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted my team has been able to share our "Heritage" experience with you and we do look forward to welcoming you back sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I have stayed at the heritage several times, and I always love it. I prefer the original side of the hotel, as I was a fan of the old farmers building, and I have fond memories of the place. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Angela W,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted my team has been able to share our "Heritage" experience with you and we do look forward to welcoming you back sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed there with friends for the Roger Waters concert. We stayed there before and got a good deal on the internet so it was ok then. But this time we booked one of the luxury suites which has 2 bedrooms and how disappointing. We spend a lot of money and wanted something special, we told our friends about the swimming pool on the roof and that was the main reason to book this hotel again. But after walking with our bathrobes through the first hotel block, to the outside, along the tennis courts then back into the other building, up the elevator and then realize the pool is closed because it has major damage, looked like a building site. The apartment was also disappointing, the second bedroom was tiny and uncomfortable. We complained at the counter and were told that the pool was not advertised on the website anymore. This was a blatant lie, we looked the next day and it was still advertised with photos on their website and no mention about the pool being closed. We asked for some kind of compensation and were told very rudely that there would be none. We then talked to the manager and finally got him to give us a soft drink each. Wow, how generous. We should have sued him for misleading advertising. We then did not want to spoil our stay any further and went to the inside pool (still in our bathrobes). This was dirty and depressing. The spa pool had such dirty water that none of us even wanted to touch it!
When we took our drink vouchers to the restaurant we were told rudely that we can only use them at the bar. We felt like second hand citizens in a so called first class hotel. Nobody even offered to carry our luggage.
Never again! there are much better hotels at better prices and better service in Auckland.

Room Tip: there is no breakfast included
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Jo N,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your stay in May 2012. It is always very difficult to resolve such issues 12 months after they have occurred. We have invested significant time and energy into our customer service standards and do believe that the majority of our reviewers would confirm this. The Hotel pool has been a complicated issue to resolve but I can confirm that we look forward to this facility opening sometime in August this year
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £91 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing