We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in old department store building”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

What I love about this hotel is that five (?) floors of inner rooms - and they're really lovely - surround on all 4 sides a square that used to be the old open loading dock of the department store. A skylight has now been put on as a ceiling and the restaurant - Hectors, named after the department store parrot - is on the ground level and can be looked down on from guests' windows. It's so neat to sit in this beautiful restaurant. Its like you're sitting outside in a plaza or piazza with window-ed buildings on all four sides. I'm sorry I can't put into words a proper explanation for you... darn. Hope you can understand me.

Oh, one thing: the Heritage is up a bit of a hill - about three minutes fast-walking, 10-15 mins if you're a slow walker - from Queen Street, the main street of the city. There may be a car shuttle, I never asked.

Room Tip: Don't skip the buffet breakfast. It's really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixiehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Pixiehat,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted Hectors Restaurant which as you have explained is set in an Atrium style which delivers lots of natural light delivered to your expectations. We do hope that we can host you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Had the best time , they even help friends surprise me for my birthday..
awesome room and amazing beds, very clean..
room service was excellent.
breakfast was very yummy with a great selection of hot and cold foods..
Could not fault them...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vibrantlibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Vibrantlibra,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are delighted you and your friends have taken away these fantastic memories which continues to motivate us all to ensure that all guest depart Heritage Auckland having the same experiences that you have. We do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

From the moment we drove up valet parking (which is great when you have 3 children by yourself), fantastic room more than enough room for us all and a great deck outside. The rooftop pool and spa was lovely and the kids had a ball. We decided to eat at the restaurant in the hotel which offered kids meals at a really great price. The wine per glass was a little bit expensive at $12 a glass but with three children in tow I thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast (included) the next morning was devine. Will be back very soon

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Michelle P,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are extremely delighted to host you and your family and that T.H.E. Heritage experience has left you wonderful memories. I am pleased that you enjoyed the recently renovated roof top pool area. The RAW breakfast bar is gaining a strong following and is becoming an important part of potential guest decision making process when considering staying at Heritage Auckland. We do look forward to hosting you and your family again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at the Hotel in September. The location is very central close to the harbour, downtown, Sky City Tower & Casino, shopping, restaurants and much more. The rooms were big & clean with kitchenette. The beds were great too. The bathroom was a fair size with both shower & tub. Our room was facing the street but did not have any noise or disturbances. The location is great only walking distance to the harbour, shopping, restaurants, etc. The breakfast was Excellent with hot & cold. The selection is vast with cereals, hot food like scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, etc., salads, fruits, pastries, juices, coffee, tea, etc. One of the best ones we have had in our travels through the world. The staff all over the hotel are very helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimbaMasaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Simba 888,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the excellent comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are extremely delighted and proud of your feedback, this is due to the experienced nature of your postings of your travels and while we take every posting very seriously I do believe your experience has to be noted as part of my response to your feedback.
We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your experiences in New Zealand and also hope that we can host you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a quiet and comfortable stay for 6 days. Our room is clean and spacious, with comfortable chairs and bed, and kitchen facilities. The location is great, walking distance to Sky City, harbour, shops and restaurants. I even had the chance to see Wicked at The Civic, a last minute ticket purchase for the Friday night show.1 hour complimentary internet provided, so no need for us to pay for 24-hr internet on our first and last day at the hotel. Check in/out process was smooth, we had to leave a day earlier than scheduled but we appreciate that the front desk staff did not frown or try to charge us for the 1 day stay we cancelled.

A few things that can be improved on: Very limited channels on tv, the bed is huge and really comfy but the pillows are quite small, the water from the shower leaked on the bathroom floor.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and will consider Heritage for our next visit.

Room Tip: The corner suite at the hotel section where we stayed during our first visit is nicer than our last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassdelaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear SassdelMar,
Thank you for sharing the good comments with our readers relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland.
I am delighted we have exceeded your expectations in most areas of your stay and am delighted to advise you and our readers we have recently introduced deluxe lodge pillows that has improved the Sleep experience for our guest. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey through out New Zealand and do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We took daughter and grandson to Heritage for 3 nights and had a great time. The rooms cater for families and are large. |The service is excellent. The pool and spa pool up on the roof are great. Was better when the spa was actually working. Could park car and walk into town.
Got breakfast with our deal and was a great feast. Helpful staff on things to do.
Have been before and would go again.

Room Tip: Get a room with the 2 big beds and facing north with a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinx1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Spinx1973,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. You will be pleased to know the in conjunction with our Spa pool supplier "Vortex" The issues we were facing with the Spa pool operation have been addressed and our guest are now enjoying the spa pool as well as new recently renovated roof top pool complex on these wonderful summer days. My team and I are delighted we have been able to share T.H.E. Heritage experience and do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Gosh... Where do I start??? Perfection from start to finish would be probably be an apt description of our overnight stay. From The Porter who carried our luggage into the foyer, The Concierge who enquired if we needed a hand taking our small wheeled suitcases to our room, The night Concierge who never batted an eyelid when we complained that our swipe cards wouldn't open our room door at 3am- we were trying to open the door on the room one floor above our one. The beautifully polished floor boards, the HUGE rooms and the large balconies, the absolute cleanliness and polish of the whole hotel. To the Management and staff of the Heritage Hotel, I applaud you. Your hospitality and your polish has made me a convert, I have binned my loyalty card to one of your competing establishments and have ensured that you are THE hotel to stay at when visiting the big city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kushiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Kushiebear,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the excellent feedback relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I have read your comments with pride as we do continue to be very focused on delivering T.H.E. Heritage experience on each and every occasion including your sleep, eat and play memories. We do look forward to hosting you sometime very soon when you visit our beautiful city.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,930 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £98 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing