We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We rented a two-bedroom unit in the tower. Well-furnished with two bathrooms (though the W/D were tiny). Very accommodating staff. Very close to sights and restaurants. A terrific hotel for families. Decent gym and pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Clint B,
Thank you very much for sharing with our readers the excellent comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. <y team and I are very pleased "The Heritage Experience" has exceeded your expectations and we do look forward to ensuring we continue to do so with all of our guest.
We were delighted to host you and wish you a very merry Christmas and a very successful 2014.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    627
    170
    54
    22
See reviews for
330
691
75
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed in the Heritage wing of this hotel in a larger room on the Stay Playful package. I cannot speak for the quality of the other rooms but this was massive! Included free wifi and buffet breakfast with had a really interesting healthy options range. Large bath and shower and good service all around. The location was great for walking down to the harbour as well as to the Skytower complex. The bed was perhaps not as firm as it could have been for someone that needs a lot of back support.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear KHughes86,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are very proud "The Heritage Experience" has exceeded your expectations and we do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I , along with 2 friends stayed here as an overnight stop prior to flying out of Auckland.
The on-line booking direct with the Hotel was uncomplicated as was the pricing structure.
We were pleased with the reception staff and the bell boys were very attentive and took care of our luggage from the taxi.
Both allocated rooms were facing the interior courtyard on the 4th floor and were very comfortable with an excellent bed.
The room was quiet which made sleeping very easy.
We did not have time to use the Hotel facilities as the Sky Tower beckoned us, however the roof top pool and leisure facilities looked very inviting.
We did not eat in the hotel restaurant so cannot comment.
The late check out on departure was appreciated as it allowed for further site seeing in the morning and the concierge looked after our baggage until our taxi arrived to take us to the Airport.
All things considered it was a very nice experience and I would recommend the Heritage to others.

Room Tip: Internal bedrooms with courtyard view will minimise street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear marsandbob,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the excellent comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are delighted "The Heritage Experience" has exceeded your expectations and we would be most honored to serve you again. We also hope that when you return to Auckland we can host you again.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
564 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I were guests of this heritage listed hotel recently and must say it is the best hotel we have stayed at in Auckland. Was given a deluxe room - Room 408. It comprised a sitting and kitchen area as well as lovely bedroom, with the most comfortable bed and pillows ever. Great position, pool on the top level was crystal clear and clean. Service was very good, breakfast was delicious. Its a winner from us. Would undoubtedly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 408 overlooked the atrium and because it is Christmas the tree was sparkling. Not noisy at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanP196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear SusanP196,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay and Heritage Auckland. My team and I are delighted "The Heritage Experience" has exceeded your expectations and that you fond our newly renovated roof top pool area such a wonderful place to relax and enjoy our balmy weather.
We do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

2 wonderful nights at this wonderful hotel, myself and 3 children. Our treat to the city from the country. Such a lovely room, such lovely staff ....thanks to Maria for being such a sweetie at breakfast....... the rooftop pool and spa is just out of this world. Love you Heritage, cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHERYL407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear SHERYL407,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the fantastic feedback on your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I and in particularly Maria(who has been awarded our employee of the year this year) are very proud to serve you with honor and do look forward to hosting you and your family sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel is in a central location walking distance from the harbor area and the shopping area of Auckland. During my NZ trip I have stayed her for two nights. Reception staff was nice and rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet is pretty good as well. I would like to get a drink at the bar one evening at 10.40 and did ask for a mojito. Couldn't get this since the bar was closing. When I asked what time the bar closed the bartender said 11. When I insisted to get a drink I could get one but I sensed that he didn't do this with great pleasure. The drink he than put in front of me was appalling. Tasted it an left it. If this is the service to be expected in a high quality hotel we are far away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Toine M,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am pleased that we were able to deliver great service in most areas of our hotel for you. I am most disappointed with the service delivery in our lobby bar area. I have shared your comments with my team and have focused on this as a coaching moment on reaffirming our "can do" attitude and training on the finer art of cocktail making. I do appreciate your candid feedback as it is only with such feedback can we work towards improving our guest experience.
I do hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau QC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on completion of an Australia/New Zealand cruise, and selected this hotel thru Expedia for its reasonable price and location. It was an easy walk to the hotel from the cruise ship drop off in the harbor. Upon checking in, we were advised that we had been upgraded to a suite (Expedia status Elite Plus), and what a suite it was: complete with living room and kitchen facilities! The room was fantastic, and the personnel was very friendly and accommodating as well. The restaurant (we had breakfast there), in its superb interior courtyard, was also great. We had a day and one half in Auckland after the cruise, and from this hotel, we walked around to catch the Hop-on-hop-off bus one block up, walked to Queen Street, and even walked to catch the Airport shuttle (Airbus) to the airport. Very convenient!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Boumar,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the fantastic comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are delighted 'The Heritage Experience" has exceeded your expectations and that you also enjoyed your time visiting the Auckland attractions. If you do decide to return to New Zealand we would be delighted to host you again.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing