We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and spacious”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gracious and spacious”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent 4 nights here in December and really appreciated the gracious old building and the large room which was their standard room. Very comfortable bed and quiet for sleeping. Air conditioner worked well and not noisy. Only had coffee and cake in the restaurant but lovely service and excellent food. All the staff very pleasant including the cleaning staff. I suspect they could use more cleaning staff as our room was not made up until after 4 most days but not a big deal. We liked the location as an easy walk to waterfront without the price tag. There is a problem with the shower over bath setup - we flooded the floor every time as the screen not properly sealed.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the atrium restaurant are a bit dark but we were not in the room during the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleKiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear NewcastleKiwigirl,
Thank you for sharing your comments with our readers relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are delighted we have exceeded your expectations in delivering "The Heritage Experience" and do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    658
    181
    56
    24
See reviews for
343
712
82
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our first stop in New Zealand on our holiday, very centrally located with a great view of the fireworks for New Years Eve. We ate in the restaurant whic
h was first class, meals delicious and waitstaff very attentive. Our room was spacious with a view of the harbour, very clean and tidy. All in all a great couple of nights....would definately recommend and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Leigh M,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are delighted 'The Heritage Experience" has exceeded your expectations and that the staying with us on New years Eve has left wonderful memories for you all.
We would look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Heritage Auckland is a great place to stay in downtown Auckland. The room was spacious, clean, very comfortable and included a kitchenette. Within walking distance to restaurants, the marina, buses and ferry boats. The staff was so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear ajawain,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are delighted "The Heritage Experience" exceeded your expectations and your memories of staying with us are fantastic.
We do hope that we can host you sometime in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights and loved the location -- close to the Viaduct and lots of great restaurants, and easy to get to and from the airport on the bus. The hotel itself is in a historic building so it definitely feels old and tired, but the rooms are comfortable and spacious. The kitchen was fully appointed if you wanted to cook dinner - there was an oven and full range, pots and pans, etc. The concierge and the desk staff were amazing -- they provided us with recommendations about what to do and also spent 15 minutes on the phone booking us a wine tour on Waiheke.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Meredith S,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I do note your comments about the building which will celebrate 100 years of operation this year. we continue to ensure the true character of the building is maintained. I am delighted that our service levels exceeded your expectations and would look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The room was large, spacious and comfortable, full service kitchen allowed for a few meals in the room. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. No issues with housekeeping. The location was excellent and easy to get to the wharf or other parts of the city were within close walking distance. Nice lobby bar with excellent cocktails and great coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear sjworldtravels,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are delighted "The Heritage Experience" has exceeded your expectations. My team and I were honored to host you and we look forward welcoming you back to Heritage Auckland sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We rented a two-bedroom unit in the tower. Well-furnished with two bathrooms (though the W/D were tiny). Very accommodating staff. Very close to sights and restaurants. A terrific hotel for families. Decent gym and pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Clint B,
Thank you very much for sharing with our readers the excellent comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. <y team and I are very pleased "The Heritage Experience" has exceeded your expectations and we do look forward to ensuring we continue to do so with all of our guest.
We were delighted to host you and wish you a very merry Christmas and a very successful 2014.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed in the Heritage wing of this hotel in a larger room on the Stay Playful package. I cannot speak for the quality of the other rooms but this was massive! Included free wifi and buffet breakfast with had a really interesting healthy options range. Large bath and shower and good service all around. The location was great for walking down to the harbour as well as to the Skytower complex. The bed was perhaps not as firm as it could have been for someone that needs a lot of back support.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear KHughes86,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. My team and I are very proud "The Heritage Experience" has exceeded your expectations and we do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E. General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing