We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend Away”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I had booked two nights at the Heritage for the weekend of our wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we they had upgraded our room. The service was outstanding, breakfast was delicious especially the Eggs benedict. Highly recommend staying there for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Vicki B,

Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate your feedback. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly pass on your feedback regarding the Eggs Benedict to our Executive Chef. Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson,
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked for 3 nights in February. I alerted the hotel that we would be late, and also mentioned that this was a birthday trip for my partner. We arrived at around 2am and it was nice to find a person manning the check in ready and waiting. When we got up to the room, we found a note and a small box of chocolates wishing my boyfriend a nice birthday.
The room was great, a separate bedroom, large living room and kitchen area and goodsize bathroom. The kitchenette had everything needed. We didn't eat or use the facilities so I can't comment on those. We did hire a car and use the valet parking for one night, and because they had a deal on, we got breakfast for two, wifi and the parking for $50 - parking on it's own would have been $35 so not bad. Location wise we didn't have an issue, Auckland is a walkable city and there were convenience stores and cafes/restaurants in close proximity. Overall, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeneggs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Greeneggs2

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our readers and choosing Heritage Auckland for celebrate your partners birthday. I have shared your experience with my team and we were happy to hear that our extra touches and specials added value to your overall experence. Thank you again for your review and we certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a nice harbor view and a spacious apartment in the tower. Room had washer/dryer which was quite handy as we were packing up to go home after an extended New Zealand stay. Unit had a complete kitchen, but only very basic items for cooking when compared to other places we had stayed. Had balcony, but it was a little scary since it was open and 11 floors up.

Room Tip: Tower executive suites have kitchen & W/D. Need to be 11th floor or above for harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diannecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear diannecarol

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our readers and it sounds as though you enjoyed our spacious suites and magnificent views. We certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here after cruising from Tahiti. The hotel is very well appointed, and centrally located, just a few blocks from the Sky Tower. But what really impressed us was: After we left, we discovered that we had left some cash in our room safe. The staff worked with us to find a way to get it to us at one of our next destinations in New Zealand. They did not give up when several courier services refused to deliver cash. They converted the money to NZ, then transferred it to a sister hotel. When we checked in at Queenstown, our money was waiting for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear kc1030,

Thank you for your recent review and having the time to share your experience as it is always good to hear from Top Contributors on TripAdvisor. We are only too happy to help your money as it was our priority was to make sure you received this back in a timely manner, I am glad it worked out well for you.

We hope you enjoyed your time down in Queenstown and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed 3-nights in early February. Great location in walking distance to town sights and waterfront. Clean/spacious suite, good wifi/tv, washer/dryer in addition to full kitchenette. Quiet and staff very helpful. Only negative is the relatively high cost, but then again, the location and overall quality of the stay made it seem worth it.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Allen207,

Thank you for your recent review and detailed description of your stay. February was a very busy month for our hotel and our competitors so an increase in our rates was in direct response to the high demand which was experienced during this period. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were given a warm reception here and upgraded to room 408 which was in fact a small suite; big bathroom (tub and walk-in shower,) sitting area with TV and DVD, dining table and chairs, kitchenette with cooker, fridge and dish-washer, and a compact bedroom (with another TV). In the lobby of the suite was a cupboard with a washing machine in it too! Lots of luxury toiletries and fluffy towels. Bed was soft, but we slept well on it. Limited free wifi – one hour per person per day, but at least it was available in the room – not just the lobby. Breakfast staff were helpful, although I had to ask for butter every day, (only spread was on offer) which caused some bemusement.
The downside to the room was that the only light came from a window in the seating area onto the atrium, just above the restaurant and facing all the other rooms so we had to keep the grey window nets closed for privacy, and after a couple of days (we were there for 3 nights) we began to feel a bit claustrophobic with no natural daylight or fresh air in the room. The lighting in the rooms was generally quite poor too.
One problem we found was that there was nowhere to put our suitcases, so we ended up putting one on the desk in the bedroom and the other on the floor. Another difficulty was that to be able to use the full length mirror on the inside of the wardrobe, you had to stand in the wardrobe as the strange shape of the room meant that the bed jutted out and prevented the door opening fully.
There is a fantastic rooftop pool with spectacular views over Auckland harbour and the hotel is well place for the ferry terminals, restaurants and Queen Street shopping. There is also a happy hour in the lobby bar, early evening with drinks at happy hour prices (although we never did meet the manager or sample any free canapes, as advertised)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Figgysfriend,

Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to share your experience as it is always good to hear from Top Contributors such as yourself.

I have passed on your comments to our Restaurant Manager suggested if it is an option to have both butter and margarine available on our tables. With regards to your luggage we do have luggage racks readily available from Houskeeping so for the future please dont hesitate to contact us for this.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel directly off a flight from the UK and booked a suite in the expectation that there might be times when one of us asleep and the other awake. We were very glad we did – the bedroom was large and the lounge / dining / kitchen area even bigger. The kitchen was fully equipped – but we only used the kettle. The bathroom had a good separate shower cubicle.

So the room was excellent, and we thought well worth the price, and the staff at reception etc. were helpful and friendly. But there are two reasons I do not rate this hotel as excellent overall. Firstly, whilst the continental breakfast buffet was very good the optional add on of the hot buffet was a big mistake. Even by normal hotel buffet standards, the food was low in both quality and temperature. If you want hot food you might consider the a la carte options which are freshly cooked. Another shortfall of breakfast was that on both mornings our tea / coffee took a long time to arrive.

The other reason I do not rate this hotel as excellent overall is there was a charge of NZD 10 per day for an internet connection, and that was by cable, not wifi, and also a surcharge of 1.5% to pay by credit card. I think both of these are unacceptable in a quality hotel in 2014 – even if not uncommon in New Zealand.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear PercyVeerance,

Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to share your experience with our readers. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and I have spoken to our Chef and Restaurant Manager regarding your comments the tempreture and quality on our buffet, to see if there are any options for ensuring the food is kept well.

With regards to internet we have Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and we've had this service since 2011, internet charges are still common in New Zealand but we do believe we offer competitive packages which cater to most our guests. The 1.5% credit card surcharge which you experienced is unfortunately a reflection of the high fees charged by credit companies, after much thought and invesitigation we decided to follow our competitors in trying to recover these high costs.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £115 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing