We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel but was very surprised re the wifi situation - only 20 minutes free wifi time allowed which is ridiculous in 2014 and not very good for those who have to work. Other than that, it was clean and large room and bathroom. I also took advantage of the gym and spa facilities which were great

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank BritInNYC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear BritlnNYC14,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and choosing Heritage Auckland as your accommodation provider. In regards to your comments about our Wi-Fi, we do have competitively priced plans which allow for more data that you can use. The service you referred to is our lobby access which is complimentary for 1 hour or 100mbs of data, whichever expires first. I hope this assists in explaining why the service was limited and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson,
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Everything about the hotel - the quality of the room furnishings & fittings, the location, the staff, etc - were excellent and we would recommend it.

The reason I have marked it down overall is because of its outdated approach to wifi. This was our final hotel of a six week tour of NZ and the first to give such a short time limited allocation and where we had to ask for it.

We were given one code per day for one device only with a limit of one hour or 100 meg whichever was reached first. Any more and you have to pay. Everywhere else we went they gave access for at least two devices with no time limit and sufficient meg. Even places whose websites still said charges may apply gave it for free as they understand it is now the norm to build it into the price for travellers.

Come on Heritage. You don't charge separately for electricity or TV so get up to date and include wifi also as an essential commodity. And a room for two guests should allow for two devices at a time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear phil100652,

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with our readers. I understand your frustration with our internet plans and it is a subject which we are constantly looking to improve for the benefit of our guests, we will certainly take your comments on board and explore our options with this. Thank you for your recommendation and we certainly hope you visit our shores again soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I had booked two nights at the Heritage for the weekend of our wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we they had upgraded our room. The service was outstanding, breakfast was delicious especially the Eggs benedict. Highly recommend staying there for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Vicki B,

Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate your feedback. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly pass on your feedback regarding the Eggs Benedict to our Executive Chef. Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson,
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked for 3 nights in February. I alerted the hotel that we would be late, and also mentioned that this was a birthday trip for my partner. We arrived at around 2am and it was nice to find a person manning the check in ready and waiting. When we got up to the room, we found a note and a small box of chocolates wishing my boyfriend a nice birthday.
The room was great, a separate bedroom, large living room and kitchen area and goodsize bathroom. The kitchenette had everything needed. We didn't eat or use the facilities so I can't comment on those. We did hire a car and use the valet parking for one night, and because they had a deal on, we got breakfast for two, wifi and the parking for $50 - parking on it's own would have been $35 so not bad. Location wise we didn't have an issue, Auckland is a walkable city and there were convenience stores and cafes/restaurants in close proximity. Overall, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeneggs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Greeneggs2

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our readers and choosing Heritage Auckland for celebrate your partners birthday. I have shared your experience with my team and we were happy to hear that our extra touches and specials added value to your overall experence. Thank you again for your review and we certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a nice harbor view and a spacious apartment in the tower. Room had washer/dryer which was quite handy as we were packing up to go home after an extended New Zealand stay. Unit had a complete kitchen, but only very basic items for cooking when compared to other places we had stayed. Had balcony, but it was a little scary since it was open and 11 floors up.

Room Tip: Tower executive suites have kitchen & W/D. Need to be 11th floor or above for harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diannecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear diannecarol

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our readers and it sounds as though you enjoyed our spacious suites and magnificent views. We certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here after cruising from Tahiti. The hotel is very well appointed, and centrally located, just a few blocks from the Sky Tower. But what really impressed us was: After we left, we discovered that we had left some cash in our room safe. The staff worked with us to find a way to get it to us at one of our next destinations in New Zealand. They did not give up when several courier services refused to deliver cash. They converted the money to NZ, then transferred it to a sister hotel. When we checked in at Queenstown, our money was waiting for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear kc1030,

Thank you for your recent review and having the time to share your experience as it is always good to hear from Top Contributors on TripAdvisor. We are only too happy to help your money as it was our priority was to make sure you received this back in a timely manner, I am glad it worked out well for you.

We hope you enjoyed your time down in Queenstown and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed 3-nights in early February. Great location in walking distance to town sights and waterfront. Clean/spacious suite, good wifi/tv, washer/dryer in addition to full kitchenette. Quiet and staff very helpful. Only negative is the relatively high cost, but then again, the location and overall quality of the stay made it seem worth it.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Allen207,

Thank you for your recent review and detailed description of your stay. February was a very busy month for our hotel and our competitors so an increase in our rates was in direct response to the high demand which was experienced during this period. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing