We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and comfortable rooms”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,248 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I haven't stayed here for over 10 years and was pleased that the hotel maintains its heritage but with sufficient modern amenities and regular refurbishment. Room, a deluxe suite one up from standard, was comfortable and spacious with separate lounge. High ceilings add character. Our windows faced the atrium and overlooked the restaurant area but there were no noise issues. In fact during the entire overnight stay we heard little noise from the corridors or surrounding or above rooms. Rooms have kitchenette with basics if wanting to cook and the added bonus of internal laundry if clothes washing required. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Emanpee

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. Thank you also for choosing Heritage Auckland again after 10 years, we are pleased that you decided to stay with us again. It’s nice to read that you recognised the refurbishment work carried out since your last stay with us, and that you found the hotel to be quiet and relaxing. Our rooms do have a high level of modern facilities as you’ve noted, with kitchenettes and washer/dryers in every room. We hope to be able to host you again, hopefully a little sooner than another 10 years.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    658
    181
    56
    24
See reviews for
343
712
82
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have been staying at the Heritage Auckland for some 13 plus years and it is my first and obvious choice when booking accommodation in the Auckland CBD. Well appointed, spacious, clean with the most polite and helpful hotel staff - for me it is a home away from home that I use for both business and pleasure (family) accommodation.

Everything you need and close to downtown, Skycity, Viaduct and must not forget work :) - always a pleasure

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Colin L,

It was a joy reading your feedback, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Heritage Auckland over the past 13 years. We look forward to hosting you as you return, both for work and leisure with your family, for many more years to come. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

After a long flight from London, we just wanted a central hotel that was nice and central. This hotel fit the bill and the rooftop spa was good for a bit of chill time.

The room was a touch dated, breakfast seemed pricey for what it was and the wifi really should be free but I would stay here again. Hotel - you need to put up signs to the rooftop, it was a maze from the 8th floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horse2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Horse2099,

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on TripAdvisor. It was great to read that Heritage Auckland met your need for a centrally located hotel, which was also able to give you a bit of chill time. We do have an extensive buffet breakfast offering; however we also have an a la carte option available, which allows ordering to suit any budget. I understand your comment about Wi-Fi, we do offer complimentary access for an hour or 100mb, in the hotel lobby area. I am pleased to report that we are about to update signage, as you’ve commented on in your feedback.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I always stay Heritage Hotel whenever I visit Auckland when its available.

Rooms nicely appointed and very clean. Housekeeping is always excellent with my every visit! The best thing is the bed...It's very comfortable and crisp linen will promise you a good night sleep.

Hotel facility is excellent. Indoor swimming pool, gym, roof top swimming pool and spa pool are great to use. You never get bored in this hotel.

Breakfast is Very impressive!!! So many things to choose from raw breakfast consisting of variety of salad and nuts to cooked rice and miso soup with tofu! Coffee tastes great too.

Would love to go back whenever I go to Auckland. 100 over 100 points for me!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeLee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear ChloeLee69,

Thank you for always choosing to stay at Heritage Auckland. It’s pleasing to read that you enjoy the hotel and the facilities we offer. Breakfast is a treat and the RAW Bar is proving to be a very popular part of our breakfast offering. We look forward to being able to welcome you back the next time you visit Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hotel is clean and well appointed, rooms are big and airy with all a traveler needs.
Breakfast had plenty of choice and staff were helpfull.
I would certainly stay again close to the action, clean and quiet

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear irslas,

Thank you for your positive comments from your stay in April. It was pleasing to read that you would stay at Heritage Auckland again. We hope to be able to host you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights - the first when we arrived at 5.30 a.m. and had booked a single room - we got a room on the upper floors of the main hotel ( I didn't know that there was a main and an annex) and that room was lovely, large, clean nice balcony good view of the viaduct etc. Later that day we moved to a suite that we had booked (2 couples travelling together) the suite was large 2 nice bedrooms - king beds - a reasonable ensuite though the second bedroom used the bathroom attached to suite (so not an ensuite). The main area was also spacious but rather dowdy furnishings. There was a nice balcony lots of windows but as the suite was only on the 7th floor - the view was limited and the windows were dirty. What we really hated (all four of us) was that one had to walk 10 minutes from the annex where the suite was located - to the main lobby, the gift shop, the dinning rooms - or almost anywhere else. The staff, particularly in the dining room was quite attentive, the food was average thou I would say this hotel had the best selection of buffet food including fresh fruit, some cheeses, and smoked salmon and deli meats - in addition to the usual breads and breakfast pastries. Finally I thought the location though close to the downtown viaduct etc left something to be desired, on walking out of one of the hotel doors I noticed that the next door establishment was a massage parlour. I wasn't impressed. Also I could not help but feel that the street was rather seedy - I would not have and we did not every walk home at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popsicleCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear popsicleCalgary,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as it is always good to hear from our Top Contributors. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the restaurant staff and our breakfast area as we are always striving to create the perfect dining experience.

With regards to the walk between the "annex" and hotel lobby I believe this to be a 2 minute walk via the tennis courts and I have spoken to my Maintenance Manager about our next scheduled window cleaning service which I can confirm is very soon. Unfortunately we cannot control who operates near the hotel but assure you this is a safe part of the city.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a safe trip back to Calgary.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the Heritage Auckland twice while we were in New Zealand. At the beginning of our trip we stayed for four nights. We needed a place to stay our last night, before our flight back to the USA, so we decided to stay again, since was so good the first time. The first time we stayed in the tower wing; the second time we stayed in the hotel wing. Both are great, but we really liked the views and facilities in the tower wing. It is a good location for Auckland’s CBD and for places like Viaduct Harbour. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Pat A,

Thank you for you fantastic feedback and review. The team and I were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Heritage Auckland. Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing