We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Extremely clean. Modern décor/furnishings. Central location. For international travelers on a different schedule, it would be nice for the exercise room to open before 6:00 a.m. We arrived late to a helpful check-in/reception.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear TheGoBird,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments from your stay in March. I was pleased to read that even though you arrived late the front desk team were helpful.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked the Heritage using the Stay Playful Family package, which includes the full buffet breakfast. The room was in the Hotel wing and we were extremely happy with the decor and character of the hotel wing. My request for a quiet room, for 2 adults and 2 young children, was met beautifully with 2 queen size beds and we were looking out onto the harbour. We never heard a single noise from anyone else. The buffet breakfast was the best buffet breakfast I have ever had for quality and range of food. We also went to the restaurant for dinner one night, which was expensive but again, the food was really delicious. The staff, from the reception to the restaurant to the cleaners, were really friendly and the hotel is located in a great part of the city. While we were sitting in the spa on the rooftop, we could watch those doing the SkyWalk and SkyJump. I even was impressed with the bin having sections for rubbish and recycling. Only hiccup was the reception staff gave us incorrect directions of where to catch a bus to the zoo. I would easily stay here again. The Stay Playful package was great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Cheryl F,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in March. Reading through your feedback was pleasure; from enjoying the room your family was allocated, to having a relaxing time watching the sites of Auckland and the adventures happening on the Sky Tower from our pool deck, to the enjoying a substantial breakfast in Hectors Restaurant. It was also pleasing to read that you found dinner in the hotel to be delicious. I would like to thank you for your comments about our team; we do have a great team, who all have a strong understanding of the need to provide what we call The Heritage Experience (T.H.E). Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've stayed here several times on the stay-and-play package. The rooms are extra large with dividing doors, more like a small apartment. My family enjoy the pool and hot tub facilities, all included breakfast, and I like the included valet parking. Overall the hotel and package is really good value for money and very comfortable and modern. The staff are fantastic as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcolliedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear rcolliedog,

It’s really nice to read that you have stayed with us several times and take advantage of our accommodation packages. I agree that they offer a good value for money with great inclusions. Thank you for your positive comments about the team, I know that they enjoy reading this type of feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Love staying here. Super comfy beds, very pleasant and prompt service from front of house staff, and the best hotel breakfast in NZ!

The continental breakfast buffet at $19 is fabulous and has a great selection of cereals, nuts, sweets, cheeses, salmon, croissants, raw food bar, juices and coffee. Hot selection also fabulous if you want a bigger breakfast.

The pool area and gymnasium top class, however it would have been nice to have been able to order a drink at the pool bar or even have some towels available for after our swim. Evidently you need to get them from reception before heading up to the pool. Lovely setting though with views out over the city and towards the harbour bridge.

Valet parking appreciated but a little on the high side at $35 per night.

Overall a great stay and certainly won't (and don't) hesitate in coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Catriona M,

Thank you for placing such positive feedback from your stay in April on TripAdvisor. I was really happy to read that you found the beds to be super comfortable, the front of house team to be pleasant and prompt with their service and that our breakfast offering is the best hotel breakfast in NZ. We do find that RAW Bar is proving to be a very popular addition to breakfast. We stopped our pool deck service at the end of March for the winter months, I apologise this service wasn’t available when you stayed; our team would have been happy to deliver drinks from the main bar to the pool deck for you. For your next reservation please look out for our special accommodation packages at our Heritage Hotels website, these packages often include parking. We look to welcoming you back to Heritage Hotel the next time you visit Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night pre-cruise and loved it. It is an older hotel but it has all of the luxury appointments. We were in a suite and loved the separate bedroom, beautiful bathroom, and kitchenette area. This would be my choice for a hotel for a longer stay. The only glitch was the fire alarm went off and the hotel was evacuated for a short time. The fire truck appeared and everything was checked before we were allowed back in the hotel. Very memorable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Joyce L,

It is pleasing to read that you loved your brief stay with us. We are celebrating the 100 year anniversary of the building that the hotel sits within this year. While the conversion to a hotel took place about 17 years ago, it was carried out with a focus on remaining true to the building. Thank you for your understanding with relation to the fire alarm activation, as I’m sure you’re aware these are out of our control – I suppose it is one way to become memorable. We would love to be able to welcome you back for a longer stay.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed in a superior room which was large, spacious, fabulous polished floor over looking the central atrium. Worth every penny.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the common areas were comfortable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank river_tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear river_tigger,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It’s always enjoyable reading about positive guest experiences. I was particularly pleased to read your comments about our team and how helpful and friendly you found them to be. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent 1 night here. The room was huge. The bath as well. Internet was $10 NZ a night. We did not eat here. The staff attended to all of needs. Very friendly and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to Queens Wharf, the City VIew Hotel and Casino and many restaurants. There is a Korean BBZ Buffet right around the corner. We arrived very early (watch out for crooked cab drivers - ask for a receipt. They will try to over charge) and our room was not ready. We walked and caught the Hop on and Hop off again bus at the City View and toured the city. The hotel held onto out bags and delivered them to our room. If we come to Auckland again, we will definitely stay. It even was quite reasonable in price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X86guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear X86guy,

Thank you for positive review after your stay at Heritage Auckland in March. It was a pleasure to read your feedback; I’m really pleased that you enjoyed the spacious room and bath as well as separate shower. We have a great team here and I’m glad that you were able to benefit from their attention and friendly service. We hope you do have a reason to return to Auckland in the future, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £98 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing