We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, nicely appointed”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we first arrived from the US and then again as we were preparing to depart. It is a nice hotel but it is located at the top of a hill and you walk through some not so nice neighborhoods to go to the tourist attractions. We felt uncomfortable. The rooms were nicely appointed. The first room had an old bathtub that was very high and hard to climb into it. In addition it had these old wood floors that made a lot of noise when you tried to sneak into the bathroom in the middle of the night so as not to wake the spouse. The second room had a nice shower. We had reserved a king size bed and on the second stay they gave us a small be in a large suite. I would rather have had the bed. Rates are high but it is a city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likestotravel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Likestotravel1000,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor, after your stay in April. It was good to see that you stayed with us twice and were able to experience different room types. The building where the hotel wing is located used to be a Department store, which was converted to a hotel about 17 years ago. This conversion was carried out with a focus on remaining true to the style of building and features it was know for, with that focus in mind the original wooden flooring was kept. While our location is up a hill, the hotel is in very close proximity to a number of other hotels, residential apartments and business office centres. We are located just a short 5 minute walk from both the CBD and the vibrant viaduct harbour area, on Auckland’s water front. Thank you again for taking the time place your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and chose Heritage Hotel Auckland as the place we wanted to stay! They treated us the way they state on their advertising….'you're someone special'. We so felt that, at every turn! From entering the room, greeted with a personal note from the General Manager, Marcus Keenan, and also yummy chocolates! Right through to the service at front desk, to valet attendants and always/always greeted with a smile and a 'can do' attitude. Thank you so much Heritage Auckland, you made us feel so welcome and really special. Definitely recommending you to friends and family worldwide!

PS: I absolutely loved the heavenly bed I slept on, it was the best couple of nights sleep in years! I have already contacted Sleepyhead about getting us one for home! Thanks

Lauren and Craig Henderson
Snells Beach
North Auckland

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear lauren h,

Lauren & Craig, it was a pleasure to read such positive feedback after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. I’m pleased that we were able to help make your 10th wedding anniversary celebration a little more special. We do enjoy knowing when our guests are staying for a special occasion, when we do know I like to ensure that we acknowledge that occasion. I would like to thank you for your comments about our team and their smiley, can do attitude. I’m glad that you found the bed to be heavenly, we understand that the sleep experience is a critical factor adding to an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in the older hotel wing and were lucky enough to get a harbor view room.
The bed was excellent and the room spacious.
The included breakfast was first class and could be taken in the dining room or in you room.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Bill P,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I’m glad that you enjoyed your spacious room with a harbour view and an excellent bed added into the mix, for a comfortable sleep. Breakfast is a key focus for us, your comment that you found it to be first class helps us to know that we’re heading in the right direction with what we offer.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Really helpful and friendly staff. Great buffet breakfast at Hectors (best Eggs Benedict around town) . Stayed here 5 times now over the past 2 or three years. Definitely will return.The higfhest standards all round.

Room Tip: Both Towers are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Greg L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Heritage Auckland, it was pleasing to read that you’ve stayed with us 5 times over the past couple of years. Your opening comments around our really helpful and friendly team are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is extremely well located. The staff is very warm & friendly. The hotel has a special section for vegan travellers. being a vegetarian I strongly recommend this hotel to all vegetarians. The best variety of vegetarian options on the breakfast as compared to any other hotel in newzealand.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Karan T

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It’s always enjoyable reading about positive guest experiences. I was really pleased to read your comments about our menu selection, with our option for both vegan and vegetarian travellers. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

W stayed here again recently, after we got a early morning text on our way to airport to say our flight was cancelled. The service was great as we had to check in at 5am in the morning with 3 kids. The room was great too.. very clean and nicely done and the POOL area on the rooftop was fantastic. We also had dinner here and again could not fault.

Room Tip: Didn't have a balcony this time round, but will be asking for one next time. Makes the room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Jacqui P,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor. What a shame your flight was cancelled at such short notice, that would have been frustrating. It was good to read that even though you were back at 5am to check-in; the service you received was great. Our outdoor pool and deck facilities are fantastic, and probably just what was needed to help relax after your flight was cancelled, and to keep you children busy and entertained. We hope to be able to host your family again if you visit Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful property. All the staff seemed interlinked and knew what was happening and you moved from a smiling receptionist, past a smiling porter who had introduced himself by name to us, through to the maître d who was also very welcoming. One of our party was a vegan and they were in 7th heaven with the exceptional vegan menu at dinner and the breakfast that had a dedicated area for raw food. I am not a vegan and I found all the options for me also outstanding. I also loved that the porter had delivered our luggage to our room before we opened the door, and yet the check in process was very speedy - it was like magic!! Well done, Heritage - I think you are truly separating yourself from the rest of the Auckland market. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear travel766,

Thank you for positive review after your stay at Heritage Auckland in April. Your opening comment that you really enjoyed our Hotel has been well received. It was very nice to read that you found our team offered a seamless level of customer service. Our food offering, through both Dinner and Breakfast, has been extremely well thought out with our Executive Chef, Jinu, focused on delivering a balanced menu with plant based items combined with seasonal, local produce. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing