We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fabulous stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed two nights within two weeks at the Heritage Auckland and both nights were fantastic. I have stayed at this Hotel many times over the years and it is consistently great. The staff are always lovely and very helpful. The beds have been upgraded with mine was simply divine, to the point I pulled up and sheets and checked out the brand and style which I will no doubt purchase for my own home. I had two fantastic sleeps. Well done Heritage, I will be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but I did enjoy having a little terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FayzHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear FayzHamilton,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Heritage Auckland. It was pleasing to read that you recently stayed with us a couple of times within 2 weeks, and that you’ve stayed many times over the years. Your comments about the team always being lovely and helpful are appreciated. We have upgraded all of our beds as you’ve noted, we understand the importance of a great sleep and are pleased to see that you enjoyed it so much you might well purchase the same type of bed for home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    628
    172
    54
    23
See reviews for
330
692
76
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staff was not really friendly, one staff was plain rude. Rooms are very average and not at all worth the money. We found it highly overpriced. It is very odd to have to walk a very long corridor connecting the 2 buildings. The pool was very disappointing, it looked old and depressing, but the spay was simply awful. It was so dirty looking that I did not even dare to put a foot in. We certainly will never go there again. There are heaps of nice hotels in Auckland and a lot of them are cheaper and offer better service.

Room Tip: look for something cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Jo L,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay back in June 2013. It is always disappointing when I read that we haven’t met our guest’s expectations. Firstly I would like to apologise that you didn’t find our team to be friendly, we have a strong focus on delivering an enriching experience to all of our guests, and I’m at a loss to explain why this didn’t show through when you stayed.

The Hotel Tower wing that you have mentioned is just a short 2 minute covered walk, from the Hotel wing reception, bar and restaurant. As I’m sure you will have noticed during your stay, we do also offer a full service front desk operation and porter service in the Tower wing, as well as in the Hotel wing.

We are currently working through plans to refurbish the indoor pool, spa and sauna in the Tower wing later this year; this will greatly enhance the look and feel of this area. Since your stay back in June last year, we have also reopened our outdoor pool, deck and fitness centre in the Hotel wing, which is looking really good.

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations, we would love to see you stay the next time you visit Auckland. Thank you again for taking the time to share you feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORT COLLINS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we first arrived from the US and then again as we were preparing to depart. It is a nice hotel but it is located at the top of a hill and you walk through some not so nice neighborhoods to go to the tourist attractions. We felt uncomfortable. The rooms were nicely appointed. The first room had an old bathtub that was very high and hard to climb into it. In addition it had these old wood floors that made a lot of noise when you tried to sneak into the bathroom in the middle of the night so as not to wake the spouse. The second room had a nice shower. We had reserved a king size bed and on the second stay they gave us a small be in a large suite. I would rather have had the bed. Rates are high but it is a city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Likestotravel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Likestotravel1000,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor, after your stay in April. It was good to see that you stayed with us twice and were able to experience different room types. The building where the hotel wing is located used to be a Department store, which was converted to a hotel about 17 years ago. This conversion was carried out with a focus on remaining true to the style of building and features it was know for, with that focus in mind the original wooden flooring was kept. While our location is up a hill, the hotel is in very close proximity to a number of other hotels, residential apartments and business office centres. We are located just a short 5 minute walk from both the CBD and the vibrant viaduct harbour area, on Auckland’s water front. Thank you again for taking the time place your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and chose Heritage Hotel Auckland as the place we wanted to stay! They treated us the way they state on their advertising….'you're someone special'. We so felt that, at every turn! From entering the room, greeted with a personal note from the General Manager, Marcus Keenan, and also yummy chocolates! Right through to the service at front desk, to valet attendants and always/always greeted with a smile and a 'can do' attitude. Thank you so much Heritage Auckland, you made us feel so welcome and really special. Definitely recommending you to friends and family worldwide!

PS: I absolutely loved the heavenly bed I slept on, it was the best couple of nights sleep in years! I have already contacted Sleepyhead about getting us one for home! Thanks

Lauren and Craig Henderson
Snells Beach
North Auckland

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear lauren h,

Lauren & Craig, it was a pleasure to read such positive feedback after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. I’m pleased that we were able to help make your 10th wedding anniversary celebration a little more special. We do enjoy knowing when our guests are staying for a special occasion, when we do know I like to ensure that we acknowledge that occasion. I would like to thank you for your comments about our team and their smiley, can do attitude. I’m glad that you found the bed to be heavenly, we understand that the sleep experience is a critical factor adding to an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in the older hotel wing and were lucky enough to get a harbor view room.
The bed was excellent and the room spacious.
The included breakfast was first class and could be taken in the dining room or in you room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Bill P,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I’m glad that you enjoyed your spacious room with a harbour view and an excellent bed added into the mix, for a comfortable sleep. Breakfast is a key focus for us, your comment that you found it to be first class helps us to know that we’re heading in the right direction with what we offer.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Really helpful and friendly staff. Great buffet breakfast at Hectors (best Eggs Benedict around town) . Stayed here 5 times now over the past 2 or three years. Definitely will return.The higfhest standards all round.

Room Tip: Both Towers are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Greg L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Heritage Auckland, it was pleasing to read that you’ve stayed with us 5 times over the past couple of years. Your opening comments around our really helpful and friendly team are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is extremely well located. The staff is very warm & friendly. The hotel has a special section for vegan travellers. being a vegetarian I strongly recommend this hotel to all vegetarians. The best variety of vegetarian options on the breakfast as compared to any other hotel in newzealand.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Karan T

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It’s always enjoyable reading about positive guest experiences. I was really pleased to read your comments about our menu selection, with our option for both vegan and vegetarian travellers. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing