We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps you coming back.”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently stayed here for one night and it is hard to fault the hotel during our stay. Our rate included valet parking, 500 mb of in-room data, breakfast for two and a late check out of 12 pm.

Parking and check in were as simple and painless as it could be, hand over your keys and they will bring your bags in while you check in and then park your car away. Check in staff were friendly and efficient and we were off to our room in less than 5 mins.

Our room was situated by the elevator, which meant for convenient access to / from the room. I am also happy to report the elevators could not be heard from inside the room. The room it self was a deluxe suite containing a kitchenette, separate bath / shower, a lounge / dining room and a bedroom that could be closed off from the rest of the room.

The kitchenette had all you could require for a couple nights away including an oven & 4 element stove top, as well as a dishwasher to ease clean up.

The bathroom and toilet area has a modern design and includes separate bath and shower facilities. A clothes dryer is also included, however we did not use it so cannot comment on its effectiveness. Standard hotel toiletry products were included, but I do feel bubble bath should be added to the list.

The lounge and dinning area containers a dinning table with 4 chairs and does not feel tacked on / squished in, you could definitely have 4 people sitting comfortably around it. There is also the usual writing / work desk situated in the corner of the area, it has all the usual features and this is where the data point is.
The lounge contains a 3 person sofa and a single person arm chair - a 32" LCD TV is on the wall. The standard hotel Sky TV package of channels are included.

The bedroom contains one queen sized bed, in a area that could be partitioned off with a sliding door. The bed itself was a bit soft but this comes down to personal preference. A smallish ~24" TV was in the bedroom, and this also had access to the SKY TV channels, the remote wasn't working which meant we had to get out of bed to turn it off but oh well.
The view from the room was great, you could see the harbour bridge and marina. There was construction going on outside the window but we were high enough up that it didn't dominate the view. The windows could be opened which was appreciated.

The buffet breakfast being included was great as I am not sure if I would pay for the option separately as it feels a bit highly priced. Options include eggs any way, hash browns, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, cereals, breads, pastries, pancakes etc. Continental style cold meats / cheese options were also included.
A lot of emphasis is placed on the RAW bar, including a menu option for that only - it seemed a novelty with options lacking should you only select to purchase that.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone, and I think this has now become our default choice when staying in Auckland City.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlawlessStevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear FlawlessStevy,

Thank you for positive review after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. Your comments around the seamless check-in, including valet parking, luggage being delivered to your room and overall quick experience you encountered has been well received by our team, this is a key focus for us. Our breakfast does offer a wide range of food as you’ve mentioned, we are finding that our RAW Bar is proving to be a very popular part of our breakfast offering. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at Heritage Auckland and will return the next time you visit Auckland. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This section is set up for extended stay, the bed room comes with a kitchenette. It is well suited for preparing a simple breakfast and dinner. The supermarket is around the corner and two blocks from the hotel on Victoria street. It is a good way of dining on a budget. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FYL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear FYL003,

Thank you for your positive comments from your recent stay. It was pleasing to read that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that enjoyed the style of room offered in the Tower Wing, as well as the location of the hotel.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

As the name says it is a heritage property and we loved the two nights spent here.
Location is superb, the sky tower, Queen street and the water front a short walk away.
Rooms are spacious and comfy.
Wish they supply power plug adaptors as standard supply in all the rooms. Had to buy one at the souvenir shop as the concierge always ran out of supply.

Breakfast was in the lovely central courtyard with plenty of variety and taste

Loved the thermal pools as well.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank avranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear avranga,

It was great reading your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location; being centrally located means that we are just a short walk away from key highlights within the CBD or Auckland’s busy waterfront area. I will look into your suggestion around having more adaptors available for our international guests. Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

this is a lovely hotel, in a great location.
the bed was so comfortable.
The staff are lovely and happy to help.
Breakfast, room service & the restaurant all serve excellent meals.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millie2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear millie2112,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience after your stay at Heritage Auckland in April. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our location, the bed, the meals from Hectors Restaurant and our friendly helpful team.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights (not consecutively) as a part of a Tour Group. This is an older property and the age shows, but fairly well maintained. My observations based on our stay is summarized hereunder:
Pros:
1. Excellent Location right in the Centre of Auckland with shopping, restaurants, multiple choice eateries all around. The Skycity Tower and the Harbour are a short walk away. Absolutely superb.
2. Lobby is bright, cheerful and spacious.
3. Service and Reception staff are courteous, helpful and attentive.
4. Breakfast Buffet is a huge spread and absolutely top class. They even make eggs to order for you including Egg Benedict and Egg Florentine. Great start to the day.
5. Room and bath amenities are adequate for a comfortable stay.
6. Some rooms are good particularly those facing the harbour but some are too small and badly designed.

Our first Room No.351 was small and dingy with a view of the office building across the road so you have to keep the curtains drawn all the time. The lighting in the Room and the overall design of the room left a lot to be desired. Plug outlets for charging your gadgets were few and inconveniently located. Compared to the Room the bathroom was disproportionately large and well lighted. A corridor took up a lot of space in the room and there was not much place to put the luggage.

On the other hand the second Room No. 442 allotted to us after we returned 2 days later was huge with 2 Double Beds separated by a glass partition with a small kitchenette and a lovely balcony overlooking a part of the harbour. Overall stay was good except for the above

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour facing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear subchat,

Thank you for submitting feedback from your recent stay with Heritage Auckland. It was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed the hotel and our location. I was sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy the first room choice made by your tour company, however it was nice to read that on your return you found the room to be more to your liking. Our breakfast receives a large number of positive comments, with a wide range of dishes available and the option to have eggs cooked to order, we also find that our unique RAW Bar breakfast option is very well received. Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in a one-bedroom executive suite in the Tower wing. It's a great option when traveling with kids. The apartment is huge and has a separate bedroom with king bed. A pull out sofa bed was fine for our two young boys and was nicely made up on arrival. The kitchen is well appointed and the apartment has a good sized bathroom.

The boys loved the two swimming pools - one indoor, and one out.

The only criticism is that the hotel has two entrances and receptions - it would have been good if our reservation confirmation had indicated which reception to use. We checked in at the main lobby to then have to walk via a indoor / outdoor corridor to the Tower wing. Fine if you're on your own but with two kids and extra luggage, not so good. That said, staff were friendly and helpful getting us to the room.

But all in all an excellent choice if you want a hotel with larger rooms and resort-style facilities right in the centre of the city. We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Request a Tower rooms with harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Chris P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Heritage Auckland in April. The one bedroom executive suites in our tower wing are a really good room option when travelling with a young family. We do find that the pools are always a favourite with children, it’s great that you have an opportunity to choose between the indoor and outdoor pool option, depending on how the weather is. I’m sorry that we didn’t let you know which of our two receptions were best for you to check-in to. At time of booking we don’t usually make our room allocations, unless we receive a specific request; your point however is very valid, we do need to find a way to better communicate this prior to arrival at the hotel. Having said that the tower wing that you stayed in is just a short 2 minute covered walk from the Hotel wing reception, bar and restaurant – our team should have assisted with getting your luggage to your room, making the walk across easier. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for one night last Friday night and it was so enjoyable. We were lucky enough to have a higher floor on the tower wing and an awesome view of the harbour bridge and straight out to sea. It was a fantastic view and a big balcony. Fortunately the weather was on our side so we could go out and really take in that view! The room was lovely and fantastic shower pressure!! Would recommend staying here to you all. Staff are pleasant and the tower wing is nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for a view. If you like retro style then go for the hotel wing, but if you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Sandra310,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that although you stayed only the one night, you found that your room and the stay overall was enjoyable. We do have two different wings to the hotel as you’ve noted, offering choice and variation for guests. Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,617 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £96 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing