We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Wedding Aniversary”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50th Wedding Aniversary”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our Stay at the Heritage was a gift from our family to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary, which we enjoyed
The Room was spacious and very well appointed, with all the amenities.
The view from the window was very extensive day and night'
The Staff were courteous and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Stuart M,

Congratulations on celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary, what a fantastic milestone. It was nice to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at Heritage Auckland, in a spacious room offering great views and that you found our team were helpful & courteous during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write and submit feedback.

Kindest Regards
Marcus
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    662
    185
    57
    27
See reviews for
350
724
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. Paid extra for a bigger room and was well worth it. High ceilings, spacious room and well equipped. Had a great view of the harbour bridge. Breakfast was outstanding, amazing selection. This is our new favorite place to stay in Auckland!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Kimber A,

It was a pleasure to read such positive feedback after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. I was pleased to read that your friend’s recommended Heritage Auckland and more so that we met your expectations. It was also really nice to read that we are your new favourite place to stay when visiting Auckland. We look forward to you staying again.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Even though I had booked to stay at Heritage Auckland, I was informed at check-in that in fact I was staying in another building, some 200 metres away, linked by an anonymous, poorly signed, open air walkway. The hotel directory in my room made no reference to the fact that I was not actually staying at Heritage Auckland. It gave directions to the hotel facilities that assumed I was in the building in Hobson Street. It was only by asking for directions from the helpful but equally frustrated staff I could find a hotel bar, since the building I was staying in didn’t have one, nor a restaurant. I had to remember to dress warmly for the hike to breakfast. There was no map, anywhere, to indicate where I was, or where I needed to go to find the hotel’s facilities. There had been a few feeble, afterthought directional signs installed, but they only helped once I had begun the journey to the real hotel. Clearly no-one with any experience of guiding visitors had been involved in their design and installation.

The hotel should stop the pretence that there is only one ‘Heritage Auckland’ hotel building, and make adequate provision for the care of its guests. However, I certainly do not intend to be one of them again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sparky81,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in May. It is always very disappointing when I read that we haven’t met our guest’s expectations.
The Hotel Tower wing that you have mentioned is part of the Heritage Hotel and is just a short 2 minute, covered walk, from the Hotel wing reception, bar and restaurant. As I’m sure you will have noticed during your stay, we do also offer a full service front desk operation and porter service in the Tower wing, as well as in the Hotel wing. Earlier this month we installed updated/additional directional signs between the Tower and Hotel wings. I would be more than happy if you wanted to contact me directly, marcusk@heritagehotels.co.nz to discuss your experience further. I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations, we would love to see you stay the next time you visit Auckland, I would ensure Hotel wing to meet your preference. Thank you again for taking the time to share you feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Thanks so much for making us feel special on our wedding night!
The one bedroom suites are luxurious & spacious, we wish we could could have stayed longer than the 1 night. Great view of the harbour bridge out our window. Pool would be great in the summer.
Will definitely come back :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear rachspring,

It was a pleasure to read that we added a little extra in helping you celebrate on your special day, and that this made you feel even more special on such a big occasion. Our one bedroom suites offer a generous amount of room, the views from a number of the suites can be fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed during a work conference and was very impressed. Shared a room with a work mate and the room was large and comfortable. I particullarly liked the sliding door/wall that gave us each a bit of privacy - but found it suprising the windows were frosted in all the wrong places so it made more sense to leave that door open so that we wern't each lying in bed and seeing each other throgugh the window! Large bathroom was excellent and we thought it was great there was an oven in the room, although we didn't need to use it. Check in was a bit difficult as we seemed to be a bit of an inconvenience for staff, but once that got sorted our experience was really good. Great location and even close to a metro supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Newlyweds246,

Thank you for providing feedback on TripAdvisor from your stay with us in May. It was pleasing to read that you overall you were very impressed with the hotel and room type that you stayed in. I was sorry to read that your initial experience, during check-in, wasn’t positive, I have passed your feedback to our front desk team. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Heritage (Tower wing) is always my hotel of choice for visiting Auckland on business. Rooms are of a consistently clean and well set-up standard, with plenty of thought given to comfort and usability - powerpoints are located where you need them, chairs are comfortable, the closet has a full-length mirror inside and the comfort of the bed and pillows can't be faulted. Inclusions are top notch (this is the only hotel that gives me a shower cap!) and the personalised, friendly service is a quality that makes you feel valued and welcomed every single time. Their room service is great and the food always perfectly cooked.

Room Tip: For a quiet, comfortable night's sleep choose the Tower wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Julie M,

It was a pleasure to read such positive feedback after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. The Tower wing is well set up to cater for both our business and longer staying guests with a kitchenette, washer/dryer and high quality amenities. I would like to thank you for your comments about how our team always make you feel valued and welcomed when you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently stayed here for one night and it is hard to fault the hotel during our stay. Our rate included valet parking, 500 mb of in-room data, breakfast for two and a late check out of 12 pm.

Parking and check in were as simple and painless as it could be, hand over your keys and they will bring your bags in while you check in and then park your car away. Check in staff were friendly and efficient and we were off to our room in less than 5 mins.

Our room was situated by the elevator, which meant for convenient access to / from the room. I am also happy to report the elevators could not be heard from inside the room. The room it self was a deluxe suite containing a kitchenette, separate bath / shower, a lounge / dining room and a bedroom that could be closed off from the rest of the room.

The kitchenette had all you could require for a couple nights away including an oven & 4 element stove top, as well as a dishwasher to ease clean up.

The bathroom and toilet area has a modern design and includes separate bath and shower facilities. A clothes dryer is also included, however we did not use it so cannot comment on its effectiveness. Standard hotel toiletry products were included, but I do feel bubble bath should be added to the list.

The lounge and dinning area containers a dinning table with 4 chairs and does not feel tacked on / squished in, you could definitely have 4 people sitting comfortably around it. There is also the usual writing / work desk situated in the corner of the area, it has all the usual features and this is where the data point is.
The lounge contains a 3 person sofa and a single person arm chair - a 32" LCD TV is on the wall. The standard hotel Sky TV package of channels are included.

The bedroom contains one queen sized bed, in a area that could be partitioned off with a sliding door. The bed itself was a bit soft but this comes down to personal preference. A smallish ~24" TV was in the bedroom, and this also had access to the SKY TV channels, the remote wasn't working which meant we had to get out of bed to turn it off but oh well.
The view from the room was great, you could see the harbour bridge and marina. There was construction going on outside the window but we were high enough up that it didn't dominate the view. The windows could be opened which was appreciated.

The buffet breakfast being included was great as I am not sure if I would pay for the option separately as it feels a bit highly priced. Options include eggs any way, hash browns, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, cereals, breads, pastries, pancakes etc. Continental style cold meats / cheese options were also included.
A lot of emphasis is placed on the RAW bar, including a menu option for that only - it seemed a novelty with options lacking should you only select to purchase that.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone, and I think this has now become our default choice when staying in Auckland City.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlawlessStevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hectors, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear FlawlessStevy,

Thank you for positive review after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. Your comments around the seamless check-in, including valet parking, luggage being delivered to your room and overall quick experience you encountered has been well received by our team, this is a key focus for us. Our breakfast does offer a wide range of food as you’ve mentioned, we are finding that our RAW Bar is proving to be a very popular part of our breakfast offering. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at Heritage Auckland and will return the next time you visit Auckland. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing