We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to recommend.”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots to recommend.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A very handy hotel if you need to be in central Auckland. First a warning - on my first night I was put in the 'Hotel' section as opposed to the 'Tower'. My room overlooked the central atrium of the hotel where the restaurant is situated and had no natural light and no fresh air. Next day I got moved to the Tower and a room with a balcony and views of the Bay and sunsets. Much more like it! 'Hector's' the in-house restaurant has some good dishes and isn't outrageously expensive. The building was a department store in the old days and has lots of charm - and of course, being New Zealand, the most helpful and friendly staff imaginable. Oddly the buffet breakfast doesn't include coffee - you have to pay extra for that! There are also two gyms and two pools available - one of them outdoors and heated...with more sunset views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shylocktubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear shylocktubal,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I’m glad that you enjoyed your spacious room(s); the building where your first room was located is the hotel wing, and was once a department store as you’ve noted. The building was converted to a hotel about 17 years ago; the conversion was carried out with a focus on remaining true to the style of building and the features that it was originally known for. The Tower wing rooms offer more of a traditional hotel feel, and are a little more contemporary in style. We do have good facilities across both hotel wings, with 2 x pools, 2 x gyms, 1 x spa, 1 x sauna and a tennis court. We find our location is really good, not too far from Queen Street and allowing easy access to the Viaduct Harbour area. Thank you again for taking the time to share you feedback on TripAdvisor.



Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    660
    183
    57
    26
See reviews for
347
720
82
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at the Heritage for a corporate event. I thought the rooms were large, tastefully renovated with old world charm still prevalent with lots of timer floor boards. Breakfast was great - the "raw food" section was enlightening and different - what a great idea!!! The conference room did the trick. Having stayed at the viaduct this was a great alternative and I will most likely stay there going forward. More than impressed

Room Tip: there are views but not sure how to advise - ask them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear SydneyTrev,

Thank you for your positive comments after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our location and that you found your room to tasteful, while maintaining old world charm. Our breakfast offering is well thought out and the RAW Bar is proving to be a very popular part of our breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you visit Auckland. Thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culverden, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a lovely time stayed an extra day. Great apartment, lovely views. Staff delightful. Sitting out on the balcony watching the sun set over the harbour was so relaxing.
I enjoyed the apartment as had cooking facilities. Room to move.
Meals in the restaurant were of high standard. Very friendly environment.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to higher floor and bigger room. Go for rooms that look over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Vicki197,

Thank you for your positive comments after your stay earlier this month. It was pleasing to read that you found our team to be delightful and that you enjoyed the apartment style room, with great views across Auckland harbour that you stayed in. It was also good to read that you found the meals in Hectors Restaurant to be of a high standard. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had the best nights sleep in Superior room. I stayed there overnight for business and I'll certainly return - great spot - easy to locate - everything I needed but bed was highlight - super comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear TashWayne

It’s always great reading comments when our guests say they’ll certainly return. I was pleased that you found the room had everything you needed when staying on business. We have had a lot of positive comments about our beds, it was really great to read that had a the best nights sleep, we understand that the sleep experience is critical to an enjoyable stay. We look forward to having you stay again.

Kindest Regards
Marcus
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Love the location, a street away from skycity.
Love the roof top pool. Nice view of auckland city.
Reception was friendly and Breakfast was yum. Would stay here again if I want to be near skycity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear jo y,

Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in May. Our location often receives positive comments; being located so close to both the CBD and the Auckland waterfront allows our guests to a experience central Auckland in their own time. Thank you for your comments about our team being friendly and also that you enjoyed breakfas.

Kindest Regards
Marcus
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After a hectic couple of weeks, we decided to book the Heritage hotel to escape from reality and enjoy the luxurious lifestyle offered at Heritage hotel. The consultant on the phone was extremely helpful with which hotel we were staying at and promotional offers that were currently available. The room itself was very spacious with several amenities that amazing spa amenities that were also available for purchase at the front desk.

We headed out to eat and drink next to the pool area and enjoyed the beautiful ambience of the open-plan deck with an incredible view of Auckland city!

I was extremely pleased with the service, attention to detail and care the staff took with answering all my queries and really going out of their way for my needs.

We were also provided with complimentary drinks for our next trip and excellent idea to get attendees to choose Heritage hotels in the future!

I will definitely be looking at staying at this hotel in future and this trip has motivated me to try out the other Heritage hotels around New Zealand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Alisha G,

It was such a pleasure to read your review after your stay with us in June. I was happy to read that we were able to help you relax, after the hectic period you had in the lead up to your stay. It’s always nice when your first contact, in this case with our reservations team, flows through the entire stay, which helps meet your expectations. We do receive a lot of positive feedback about our room amenities, so much so that we do now have them for sale across the front desk, as you’ve noted. If you enjoyed our pool deck in June, then I’m sure you’ll really love it through the summer months. Thank you also for the positive comments about our team and how they had a strong focus on attention to detail and answered your queries and looked after your needs during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our Stay at the Heritage was a gift from our family to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary, which we enjoyed
The Room was spacious and very well appointed, with all the amenities.
The view from the window was very extensive day and night'
The Staff were courteous and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Stuart M,

Congratulations on celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary, what a fantastic milestone. It was nice to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at Heritage Auckland, in a spacious room offering great views and that you found our team were helpful & courteous during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write and submit feedback.

Kindest Regards
Marcus
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing