We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Northland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I booked a suite for four nights and was very comfortable. The bed had a lovely pillow top. It was great to have a separate bath and shower, although only the shower saw any use due to a busy schedule, and I never saw the pool(s) or gym for the same reason.

The staff were exceptionally helpful from booking through to check out and everything in between.

It was a spacious lounge but the lack of coffee table made it a bit hard to sit down with drinks. A microwave would have been more useful than the stove/oven.

Not sure if there is double-glazing as I was able to hear quite a bit of traffic so I'd recommend earplugs for light sleepers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Spinner S,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent stay. It was really pleasing to read that you found your four night stay at Heritage Auckland to be comfortable; and that our team were exceptionally helpful, from your initial contact through until you checked out. We do receive a lot of positive comments about our beds; the sleep experience is an essential part of any hotel stay. For you next stay we do have suites that offer both a stove/oven and a microwave, please just ask our reservations team. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    660
    183
    57
    26
See reviews for
347
720
82
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The Heritage has a great central location and a fascinating history as one of New Zealand's first department stores. The building retains much of this old charm even using some of the old wooden beams in the dining area. The original wooden floors are beautifully polished though they are rather noisy. The deluxe rooms are more like apartments with full cooking facilities and separate lounge and bedroom. The decor is subdued and not typical of modern flashy hotels. The outlook from our room was over the viaduct basin and Harbour which was very pleasant. The only fault was in the shower design which let water flow onto the floor due to a poor seal in the shower door. All the staff are very pleasant and helpful. A very good hotel at a moderate price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Brian H,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor after your stay earlier this month. As you’ve commented on, the building which is now the hotel wing used to be the Farmers Department store, and was converted to a hotel about 17 years ago. The conversion to a hotel was carried out with a focus on remaining true to the style of building and to ensure that some of the original features that the building was known for were kept, with that focus in mind a number of wooden beams and columns were kept, as was the original wooden flooring. Thank you for your positive comments about our team being pleasant and helpful.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I've stayed here a few times for work and it's always been an enjoyable stay. The staff are friendly and professional. The rooms are large with high ceilings, and some have a balcony you don't notice from the outside. The hotel is large with two gyms, a rooftop pool and a tennis court. Free wifi is available in the lobby for guests. The atrium is nice and the breakfast buffet sufficient. All in all, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattymae26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear kattymae26,

Thank you for your positive comments from your stay in October last year. It is pleasing to read that you’ve stayed with us a few times previously for work, and that you have always found your stays to be enjoyable. Breakfast is a key focus for us, your comment that you find the buffet to be sufficient helps us to know that we’re heading in the right direction with what we offer. We look to welcoming you back to Heritage Auckland again.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I chose heritage hotel based on great reviews, kitchen facility and location. Was very happy with the choice. The location helped us in exploring some great food option of queens street. The room was very spacious giving ample space for my 3 year old to run around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6siddharthp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear 6siddharthp,

Thank you for your positive comments from your recent stay. It was pleasing to read that you chose to stay with us based on feedback & reviews submitted on TripAdvisor; and that you were very happy with your decision. We do find that our location is really good, not being too far from Queen Street does allow the opportunity to explore, as you’ve noted. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A very handy hotel if you need to be in central Auckland. First a warning - on my first night I was put in the 'Hotel' section as opposed to the 'Tower'. My room overlooked the central atrium of the hotel where the restaurant is situated and had no natural light and no fresh air. Next day I got moved to the Tower and a room with a balcony and views of the Bay and sunsets. Much more like it! 'Hector's' the in-house restaurant has some good dishes and isn't outrageously expensive. The building was a department store in the old days and has lots of charm - and of course, being New Zealand, the most helpful and friendly staff imaginable. Oddly the buffet breakfast doesn't include coffee - you have to pay extra for that! There are also two gyms and two pools available - one of them outdoors and heated...with more sunset views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shylocktubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear shylocktubal,

Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I’m glad that you enjoyed your spacious room(s); the building where your first room was located is the hotel wing, and was once a department store as you’ve noted. The building was converted to a hotel about 17 years ago; the conversion was carried out with a focus on remaining true to the style of building and the features that it was originally known for. The Tower wing rooms offer more of a traditional hotel feel, and are a little more contemporary in style. We do have good facilities across both hotel wings, with 2 x pools, 2 x gyms, 1 x spa, 1 x sauna and a tennis court. We find our location is really good, not too far from Queen Street and allowing easy access to the Viaduct Harbour area. Thank you again for taking the time to share you feedback on TripAdvisor.



Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at the Heritage for a corporate event. I thought the rooms were large, tastefully renovated with old world charm still prevalent with lots of timer floor boards. Breakfast was great - the "raw food" section was enlightening and different - what a great idea!!! The conference room did the trick. Having stayed at the viaduct this was a great alternative and I will most likely stay there going forward. More than impressed

Room Tip: there are views but not sure how to advise - ask them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear SydneyTrev,

Thank you for your positive comments after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our location and that you found your room to tasteful, while maintaining old world charm. Our breakfast offering is well thought out and the RAW Bar is proving to be a very popular part of our breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you visit Auckland. Thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culverden, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a lovely time stayed an extra day. Great apartment, lovely views. Staff delightful. Sitting out on the balcony watching the sun set over the harbour was so relaxing.
I enjoyed the apartment as had cooking facilities. Room to move.
Meals in the restaurant were of high standard. Very friendly environment.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to higher floor and bigger room. Go for rooms that look over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Vicki197,

Thank you for your positive comments after your stay earlier this month. It was pleasing to read that you found our team to be delightful and that you enjoyed the apartment style room, with great views across Auckland harbour that you stayed in. It was also good to read that you found the meals in Hectors Restaurant to be of a high standard. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing