We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and Old” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tired and Old”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I hate giving poor reviews, but I cannot sugar coat things when they are not satisfactory.

I've never been to this hotel before and booked it as it was convenient (walking distance) to where I had to be everyday for 10 days. Unfortunately that was the only Pros that I found with this hotel. I was massively disappointed and regretted my choice of accommodation for the entire time I was there.

The hotel itself is split into two buildings with a labyrinth of interconnecting corridors adjoining the two. I'm not sure if the entire hotel was old and out dated, but my area certainly was.

The décor of the hotel (foyer, corridor) was out-dated. The same thing can be said for my room. It badly needs renovating/refreshing - particularly the bathroom.

It's saving grace is the friendliness of its staff. But made staying there bearable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Hammer T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after you stayed back in August 2013. It was very disappointing to read that you found the hotel to be old and tired; the wing of the hotel that your room was located in used to be a major department store, which was converted to a hotel about 17 years ago. The conversion was carried out with a key focus on remaining true to the style of building and the features that it was known for. As you have noted we do have 2 wings to the hotel, the other wing is more contemporary in style. I’m unsure whether you raised your concerns during your stay? we would have certainly been happy to show you the newer, more contemporary style rooms, and changed rooms for you had these rooms more to your liking. It was nice to read that the friendliness of our team helped to at least made your stay bearable. I’m sorry that we didn’t meet you expectations, however I do thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    628
    172
    54
    23
See reviews for
330
692
76
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Was the first place when I landed in New Zealand. Friendly staff. Upgraded me to suite as it was available. I had stayed in old building. Hotel has a new building too which I guess faces harbour.

Rooms were quite big and of classical type. Wifi was available for 30 mins per day only.

Breakfast was nice and had plenty of options for vegetarians. Had Indian food joints in vicinity which can be added advantage for Indians. There is a general store with almost every Indian stuff in a lane just opposite to the Hotel (might be of some help to Indians).

5 mins walking distance to Skyline casino & tower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear RRajiv,

Thank you for your positive comments from your stay in November last year. I’m glad that we were in a position to offer you an upgrade to a suite and that you enjoyed this room type. Our rooms are quite spacious and are in keeping with the style and age of our historical building. Our breakfast offers a wide range of food to meet most dietary requirements and includes fresh juices and our unique RAW Bar. Our location is handy to any number of key attractions within Auckland and is just a short walk to both Queen Street and the Viaduct Harbour area. Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fantastic view of the harbor, great location and helpful staff.

If you have the opportunity, select a higher floor - absolutely spectacular view! The hotel amenities are excellent - outdoor and indoor pools, one of the fitness areas is adjacent to the outdoor pool so great atmosphere for your workout.

Hotel was centrally located so everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Stephen B,

It was a pleasure reading your feedback after your stay at Heritage Auckland in March this year. I’m glad that you enjoyed the view from your room and that you also enjoyed our location and the helpful team we have. Thank you for highlighting our fantastic facilities available across the hotel; with 2 x swimming pools, an indoor spa pool and sauna, 2 x gyms and a tennis court, we do offer a wide range of facilities to meet most needs. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Handy location, loved the suite, felt very luxurious loads of space, great lighting. Bed was very comfortable I want one for home. Room service a bonus very prompt and polite. Would definitely book the heritage over any other hotel when staying in Auckland City

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Catha99,

Thank you for such a positive review after your stay at Heritage Auckland. We receive a lot of great feedback about our beds; this is such a critical part of any hotel stay. Our location is handy to any number of key areas within Auckland; just a short walk to both Queen Street and the Viaduct Harbour area and providing easy access to all key motorway connections. It is pleasing to see that you’d choose to stay with Heritage Auckland the next time you visit Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The best part of our stay at the Heritage for me was their catering to different food intolerances by way of their very tasty healthy food options on the menu, including RAW, juicing, GF & vegan etc. Made life easy and I didn't feel like I was an alien for a change!
The beds were extremely comfortable and we always enjoy the "heritage" factor of the building. Would definitely stay there again.
RMCS

Room Tip: The sliding door with frosted glass between two beds to create two separate bedrooms is not that gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Rachel S,

It was great to read that you enjoyed the various food options available through Hector’s Restaurant at Heritage Auckland. Our food offering has been extremely well thought out with our Executive Chef, Jinu, focused on delivering balanced menus that offer a range of plant based items combined with seasonal, local produce. Our breakfast in particular, does offer a wide range of food including fresh juices and our RAW Bar, which is proving to be a very popular part of our breakfast offering. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re visiting Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay. The room was fantastic for the kids and us with the dividing door and very clean. The breakfast was awesome. The kids enjoyed the heated lap pool and spa. Was disappointed they didn't have all the sky sport channels and at night when people walked along on the wooden floor by our room in heels it made a bit of noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanashazza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear nanashazza2014,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor. It was pleasing to read that you had a fantastic stay, and that you found the room suited your needs as a family. We do offer a select number of channels, it is always difficult to have enough, or the right channels, to meet all of our guests preferences. We do find that our original wooden floors are a great feature of the building, however if people don’t walk on the carpeted areas they can be a little noisy.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The room overlooking the harbour was just fantastic! Beautiful, clean, spacious and with a kitchenette we were able to make our own breakfast. The front desk staff were wonderful and helped us with booking tours and sorting out issues we had with some of our pre-booked activities. My only complaint was the price of breakfast. Although it got rave reviews, I did not want to spend NZ$28pp.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank USAsvenskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear USAsvenskan,

It was a pleasure to read your positive feedback after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. Your comments about the room you were in being beautiful, clean and spacious with harbour views are really appreciated. It is also very pleasing to read that our front desk team were helpful in booking tours for you, and in sorting out the issues that you had with your pre-booked activities. We do believe that our breakfast offering is competitively priced; we offer a wide range of food, including a full cooked buffet, continental buffet, tea & coffee, juices and our unique RAW breakfast bar, which is proving to be a very popular part of our breakfast. As an alternative we offer the option of an a la carte breakfast menu, allowing you to pay for what you choose to order. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Property: Heritage Auckland
Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing