We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous City Escape”
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We took a girls weekend to the Heritage Auckland City and rented a 2bedroom executive suite. It was beautiful - we could not fault the layout or space. The hotel itself is very warm and welcoming and feels just a little bit posh, which we loved for out treat getaway! The fact that it has so much history behind was amazing as we remembered the same iconic building from many years ago. The rooftop pool is definitely something else, and the gym/indoor pool are also very comfortable. We will definitely be booking this hotel again for our next City Escape.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Lynette M,

Thank you for your positive comments after your stay last month. It was nice to read that the girls treat getaway weekend was a good one and you found the 2 bedroom suite, that you stayed in, to be spacious in meeting your needs. Thank you for your positive rating and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,791)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

From arrival check-in, valet, concierge, room service, fix broken lightbulb, housekeeping, restaurant, valet (three times during our stay) check-out....Couldn't fault your service, will return again, Thank you.

Room Tip: Old style building ( the old farmers trading co) but well done and very well presented. If you want...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Neil S,

Thank you for placing such a positive rating and great feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay at Heritage Auckland in July. I was really pleased to read that you found our team provided a level of service, throughout your stay, that couldn’t be faulted; we do strive to ensure our customer service is consistently positive. Thanks for saying you’ll be coming back, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

we booked a concert/show package deal over the internet which included accommodation valet parking, late check out, breakfast and a complimentary drink each at the lobby bar. I have to say it was great value for money, the room was lovely and spacious with a private deck and breakfast at hectors the next morning was to die for! Loved the raw granola and raw coconut yoghurt!! Staff were approachable and pleasant so we will be coming back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kelbel4221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear kelbel4221,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on TripAdvisor, after your stay in July. I’m pleased that you enjoyed our show package; we find that it is an attractive and competitively priced offer. It is also good to know that you found your room to be spacious and enjoyed the balcony. Our breakfast gets a lot of positive feedback; the Raw Bar is proving to be very popular. It is really nice to read that you will be coming back, we look forward to having you stay again.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Centrally located, well equipped, clean and a most comfortable sleep. Rooms are spacious and would suit a family. Very close to supermarkets, shopping belt and other attractions. Highly recommended. Look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear luckyyip,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay at Heritage Auckland in July. Our central location is very handy to a number of key areas within Auckland. It was good to read that you found your room to be spacious and clean and that you also had a comfortable sleep. We look forward to having you stay again.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have been to the Heritage Hotel in Auckland several times and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff are extremely helpful. The restaurant area is very well set out in its courtyard like setting and the food is of a high quality. The rooms are well fitted out, often with a kitchen. I also recommend this hotel for its proximity to the main shopping area and also the viaduct and ferry areas.

Room Tip: Rooms on Hobson Street are closer to the restaurant.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Maureen P,

It was such a pleasure reading your review after your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. It is really nice to read that you’ve stayed with us on several occasions and that you always enjoy staying with us. The atrium style setting of Hectors Restaurant creates a different feel from a traditional hotel restaurant, offering space and natural light from above. Our location is handy to a number of key areas within Auckland; being just a short walk to both Queen Street and the Viaduct Harbour area and also within easy access to all key motorway connections. We look forward to having you stay with us again, thank you for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have spent 2 lovely vacations in the Heritage Hotel. You are treated like Royalty from the moment you step inside the door. The staff are well dressed, polite and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The view from our Window was just lovely and we sat on the balcony and enjoyed the sun.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite is the newer side
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Dawne C,

What a pleasure to read the heading for your review and then to continue on and read your comments. It is really satisfying for our team to read the type of feedback that you have provided; we do strive to provide a high level of service to all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for a night on the Tower side of the Hotel for my birthday. We have stayed there before, and once again the stay was exceptional. The Concierge and Staff were excellent and we ordered Lunch with Room Service, and that too was delicious and good value. Had a great sleep and a wonderful breakfast at Hectors the next morning....I recommend to all my overseas friends and great for an overnight stay for shows or special occasions...Thanks Heritage xx
Where's the rooftop Spa Pool gone??? Had to go to the indoor Spa...wasn't quite the same...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Balcony or upgrade to the Tower...still great views...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorjabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear jorjabreeze,

Thank you for such a great review after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. It’s always pleasing to read from guests who have stayed before and who take the time to recommend us to their overseas friends. I was happy to read that our team were excellent, you enjoyed your room service lunch and that after a great nights sleep you had a wonderful start to your day by taking breakfast in Hectors Restaurant. Unfortunately our spa pool did have to be removed from the roof top pool deck, it just wasn’t able to cope with the extremely high level of use that it was getting. We are currently investigating options to replace the spa pool with a commercial spa option, however we do expect this will take a little time.

Thank you again for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £91 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing