We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed one night at the Pullman and was pleasantly surprised. We upgraded to the suites at a reasonable price and found a very spacious room with a good view. The little extras (slippers and quality toiletries) made the stay special. This hotel is a bit "out of City Centre" and the walk into the City is perhaps not for everyone. We made use of the free City Circuit bus (daytime) which stops at the University (walk to the hotel via the Uni garden) and also a taxi at about $9. from Sky City one evening. We had one dinner at the hotel and really enjoyed that. Service great: we asked for an airport shuttle to be booked, we stored our luggage early morning - friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    821
    297
    78
    40
See reviews for
329
887
154
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Hotel in great condition, clean rooms, very comfortable bed ans great pool, gym, sauna. The management have spend well ensuring an older hotel looks after the modern traveller (albeit needing to consider far cheaper wifi offeri)

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank godmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks from the Middle of July, we had 2 Executive Rooms during our stay which entitled us access to the Executive Lounge every day. We had a Continental Breakfast there every morning ( my only negative was that it was the same food for the 14 days we were there! Plus only 1 hot dish which was a Fritatta ) you could go downnstairs and eat at the other outlet but if you wanted a Full breakfast it was more. The lounge was open every night from 5.30pm-7.30pm with a selection of canapes and drinks. This was lovely as there was variety and the food was yum. They were pretty sharp with closing the bar at 7.30pm! The rooms were tastefully done but for a 5 star hotel you should not have to chase up for the amenities & water to be replaced everyday! Our kids used the indoor pool nearly every day and it was great and a decent size. The gym was fantastic! You could use either Valet Parking or self park your car for 24 hours it was $15 which is great for City parking. I would stay there again. For the people who dont know it was originally the Hyatt Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickshaw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

It's always nice to be greeted with a willing smiley face. Staff were friendly and attentive. Decided on Pullman through their online promo. If you decide to walk down to Queen Street for a night out beware of the slippery hill slope on rainy days, otherwise get a taxi at lobby. Liking the gym facilities and pool. Very expensive Wifi service $28 per day. Clean and tidy toilet, medium size bathtub with few strand of hair!!, plentiful warm shower , if body lotion was to be provided would be a plus. Very limited TV channel. Window well sealed from noise of gusty winds, but could hear people going in and out their room nearby. Need better sound insulation for front door. Newspaper should be available everyday.

Room Tip: Get promo price and upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf1437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel claims to be five star - well they must be generous with their scoring in New Zealand. Reasonable location, with harbour view from some rooms - but it's of the container port part of the harbour! Rooms comfortable though not over-large; they appear to have been recently revamped and updated - which is more than can be said for the showers which are antiquated.
Very good business restaurant with wide selection at breakfast and a sensible range of options for dinner.
I was running a seminar and the conference facilities left much to be desired - primarily that the sightlines were very poor due to structural pillars. Conference food was also variable in quality (but not much in variety!).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pullman01, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thanks for your comments. We have 11 conference rooms ranging from smaller boardrooms to large pillarless style exhibition spaces and I am sure next time we can match a room to your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel is ok for a stay in Auckland a bit of a walk to town but not that far. The room are average, the bathrooms small and the beds are good but in general not a hotel I will remember if it was not for the restaurant. It was excellent and we really enjoyed every meal and an awesome breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Couldn't believe my luck coming from Australia that this hotel was only $100 a night, that's cheaper than the YHA surely! So I wasn't expecting much, but this was 4 or 5 star, the old Hyatt with a very modern facelift and complete renovation. Often the reno is just in the public areas, but it is the rooms that got the best of the deal, they are fabulous. Got sold the spa and massage facilities at check-in so went straight there to have the massage only to be told the 'girl' goes home at 6 so come back tomorrow. Goodness! So I went to look for the restaurant and it is really just a cafe so that was disappointing and the hotel's not right in Auckland to look for alternatives on a cold winter's night. However the buffet breakfast was very good in the morning and the room service dinner was delicious. Excellent value for money, would definitely stay again if the Stamford (where I usually stay) is full or expensive on the hotel websites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Property: Pullman Auckland
Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing