We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the hill”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel is a good solid choice at reasonable value. Whilst a bit dated from the outside the rooms have all the usual modern conveniences and there is an excellent pool, gym and day spa area.

Service is a standout here. Whilst knowledgeable and professional, there seemed to be a genuine welcoming spirit. This was actually true of the experience in Auckland generally and visitors will be well rewarded for going off the beaten track a bit and striking up a conversation.

The hotel does have a few annoying quirks like a sporadically functioning lift and door keycard system and the rooms are not great on soundproofing from adjacent rooms. That being said the location is actually very quiet, just opposite a university precinct and park. It is well out of the 'party area' but still only a few minutes walk to the CBD, art gallery, wharf and other tourist attractions. Be warned there is a short but very steep walk up a hill to get back so this location may not suit everyone.

Overall, has the benefits of many larger hotels but still gives a feeling of personal service and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a glimpse of the harbour to soak up the Auckland experience and get your bearing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mlear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 2,370 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

I have stayed at the Pullman several times now, but this time a little disappointing. I found that the large oversize bed was 2 single kings pushed together leaving a massive lump in the middle of the bed, No mattress protector, the sheets were put straight onto the mattress. YUK. The inner duvet was very dirty again yuk. Kind of a let down as I know this hotel can provide a much greater experience. The resturant evening meal was great as were the pre dinner drinks in the lobby bar, Staff were great, I would return but I would check the bedding issue on arrival...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pullman01, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Annrod,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that there were some housekeeping issues regarding your bedding but I can personally assure you that this has now been addressed internally.

As a valued guest of Pullman Auckland, your comments are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future where you will see that this issue has been rectified.

Kind regards

Rob McIntyre
General Manager Pullman Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The mini-bus shuttle from the airport dropped us off at the door of this hotel and was cheaper than a taxi - no need to book in advance. Hotel was in good location near the centre of Auckland. Room was reasonable size but bathroom was the dated 'showercurtain over the bath' affair. The room was unbearably warm and to add to the discomfort there was the thickest feather duvet on the bed. We turned off the heating and used the air con - still too warm, then opened a window but nothing seemed to combat the warmth. A thinner duvet and and a throw on the foot of the bed would have been better to allow for individual control. Harbour view was partly blocked by other buildings. The gym was excellent and the swimming pool was fantastic as were the changing facilities. Didn't eat here so cant comment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bonnyblink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I booked on one of those last-minute hotel booking sites and asked for a room away from the elevator foyer as I'm a light sleeper and the sound of people talking whilst they're waiting for the lifts wakes me up. Naturally I was given a room right next to the elevator foyer. After some gentle whining I was given a much better room with a view over the harbour. However, try to get a room on the city side, as the harbour side also affords you a view into other people's apartments which are a little too close for comfort. Unfortunately I could also hear the television of the person in the room next door which was disturbing because I had work to do. Another annoyance was that house-keeping didn't seem to pay much attention to detail - I was given only de-caffeinated coffee and no coffee coffee, they repeatedly left more soap and conditioner than I could use in a month, but neglected to leave shampoo and body lotion - I had to keep getting it brought up, and my personal possessions were moved around and re-arranged a little more than I'm comfortable with. Room service wasn't good either: I ordered a gourmet beef burger and it was like a meal you'd get in a local pub; the bread was so toasted it was rock hard, the meat was over-cooked, the chips were over-cooked, and the onions weren't cooked. It's a nice hotel, but needs to lift its game as far as room service and house-keeping are concerned.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Booked through Hotel club. Great service. Even though there was quite a big conference going on the staff were VV helpful. And the trek to the swimming pool was well worth it. Relaxing weekend for the kids too, who loved the swimming pool. Only crit was the wait for the lifts and the scary moment when strange noises were heard inside.

Room Tip: If you are two adults two kids book through Hotel club as kids are free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rokucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a great time at this hotel. My family of 2 seniors, 2 children and 2 adults. we were upgraded to a deluxe room since we had Accor gold. this was a terrific location. Shocking they had indian dishes on the menu, the food at the hotel also was outstanding. the hotel is a little walk on the slope to the main Road where there are all the designer malls, food outlets etc are there. the breakfast was great. The Spa was huge and the best and it is also a heritage site.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the new wing where they have a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shriramd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed here on the opening night of the Rugby World Cup. Received an upgrade to a King suite - excellent service and excellent suite

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeezS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,878 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £107 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing