We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Lovely pool, spa complex. Service very good. A pleasent hotel near to many facitities.Walked to the art gallery. Probably needed a cheaper eating place as there was only one restaurant which was rather pricy but the food eas excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    799
    288
    76
    39
See reviews for
324
853
154
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

If your use to noise then this place would be fine. Thin walls, hallway noise, noisey bar fridge and road noise. Bed not made correctly with the bottom sheet and underlay not tucked correctly at the bottom and rode up the bed, thought housekeeping would have got the message when the quilt was stripped back to expose the end. Other than these gripes, old hotel which has beeen renovated with nice foyer, bar. Food good at restaurant. Good location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed there during RWC and found the facilities excellent. Great pool & spa area kept in spotless condition. A fantastic buffet breakfast that will keep you going all day. Some rooms have a great view over Auckland harbour and it is a convenient location. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniekae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pullman01, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Thank you for your positive review. As you no doubt experienced during your stay, there is a lot of excitement in the city and at the hotel around the World Cup. I am glad that you had the chance to be a part of it.

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The Good:
The reception head, doormen, valets, & bell-hops. Polite, organised, effective.

The Bad:
Upon check-in, the blonde, female receptionist was almost rude. When we had to switch rooms, the same receptionist went from 'almost' to 'totally'. Fortunately, the reception head was close by.

The Ridiculous:
Upon arriving into our new room, I found a gaping hole in the wall and a wallpanel on the floor. Reception sent someone up who, upon fixing the wall, ran away as fast as he could presumably to avoid questions. I had to ring housekeeping myself to come up and vacuum the wood chips.

The "Why You Should Stay Here":
The pool, gymnasium, and spa are all open to the public through a membership scheme. Absolutely fantastic. The spa alone is worth a visit, even if you are staying somewhere else. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors have fantastic views, get more toiletries, and you don't have to ask for robes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graysharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pullman01, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear graysharp,

Apologies that there was an issue upon arrival to your room, but I am glad that you bought it to our attention and that we were able to address this as quickly as possible. As you can imagine it is a very busy time in the hotel at present, so thank your positive comments especially to do with our service and fitness facilities.

Kind regards

Rob McIntyre, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is basically a 3 star hotel trying to charge 5 star prices. If they were charging 3 star prices, I'd probably be less critical and more accepting. The room was quite small, barely big enough for the bed and the standard desk/TV platform. Although there is a very small kitchen counter & fridge (typical of every New Zealand hotel/motel we stayed in), eating in the room was nearly impossible since there were neither table nor chairs (except for one desk chair).

Other deficiencies:
The bathroom towels were thin and quite small.
There was no clock in the room.
There was an extra (and very pricey) charge for a wi fi connection.
The lock on the safe did not work.
We ate breakfast once in the coffee shop and waited nearly a half hour for a bowl of oatmeal.

The main attraction of this hotel is its location, not only 10 minutes walk from the heart of the city (Queen Street) but adjacent to both the University of Auckland and a large, well-kept city park.

Stay here if location is important to you, minimal amenities are all that you need, and price is no object.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the type of room you reserve. We were given a smaller room than we had reserved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pullman01, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear MRancer,

Thank you for your feedback. We have recently been re-issued with a 5 star rating and pride ourselves on this accreditation.

With regards to your room, I understand that you arrived 8 hours prior to the stated check-in time and our staff were helpful in accommodating your request to receive any available room type. The first room available differed from the room type you were originally booked into and you accepted this room with full knowledge that it was a downgrade on what you booked. As a 5 star hotel, we are fully committed to exceptional service and helping, where possible, with requests from our guests. Guests will always receive the room they have booked unless they request otherwise, as was the case for your stay.

Thanks for all your additional comments, all these issues have now been addressed.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel whilst on a business trip in Auckland.
The facilities were excellent - pool, sauna, steam room, and jacuzzi.
I didn't make use of the gym - but that also looked good.
Rooms overall are good - a bit on the small side.
I had room service a couple of times which also had a decent selection and the food was good.
A couple of negatives:
1 - the bed was too soft (or the mattress too old). But that may be a personal preference thing. It gave me a sore back.
2 - my room faced the water/docks area (what you could see of it) and from 5am onwards, the noise of clanging steel on steel (sounded like containers were being unloaded/loaded or bins collected), or some other similar noise generating activity woke me up.
I would really recommend a room on the other side which should be less noisy, and for the hotel management to upgrade to double glazing on this side of the hotel.
Aside from that, I would stay here again. Its well located, a short walk away from the main strip.

Room Tip: Don't get one over looking the docks/water because of the early morning noise (unless you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Property: Pullman Auckland
Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing