We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service, shame about the room”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good location and service, shame about the room”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed here to attend a conference. The room was adequate but hugely over-priced compared with The Quadrant next door. Breakfast was nothing special, I would go elsewhere if I was paying. For the money I would have expected a bigger room and free wifi, but this was not offered. Also I had problems with the key card and was stuck outside my room more than once. On the plus side of the ledger, the service from the housekeeping staff through to the waiters and concierge was great.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view. There must be newer and larger rooms with more amenities than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougcoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pullman01, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear dougcoAuckland,

Our point of difference from other properties is our 5 star services and facilities such as our 24 hour full room service, 25 metre heated indoor swimming pool, day spa and turn down service to name a few. These are not available in the majority of 4 star properties. For all your future stays you will see that we do provide complimentary wifi in the hotel for guests perfect for checking emails, with an additional option of $10 per day for power users.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    858
    317
    79
    42
See reviews for
341
928
164
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Easy walking distance to cbd the hills will help you walk off the extravagant breakfast! Fabulous service, nice bar parking arrangement was tedious dealing with parking attendants all giving different instructions on where hotel guests should park

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargsandGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This was stay 1 of three on a Holiday to the North Island. I booked a different room type for each stay – just for fun. This stay was from January 31 2012 to February 2 2012.

The Hotel was easy to find, we arrived about midnight by car and were met by a friendly staff member who helped us unload, we utilised the valet parking at $25.00 per day.

Check in was fast and we were off to room 1750 in the Residential Suite Tower, these cost for then the hotel tower but were very good.

The room has a kitchen, laundry, two bathrooms with the bedroom and bathroom being upstairs. The view from the balcony is good, you can see the harbour and parks depending on room location.

We had ordered room service which took a while to come but was very good and worth the wait.

Internet is $10.00 per day which is more than reasonable – it is quite fast also.

As we had a car I cannot comment on the public transport nearby but it is close to the university so there must be some. The harbour and the many restaurants around Princes Wharf are a short drive away and well worth a visit.

The only issue with the hotel is the beds are quite hard and the partner disturbance level is very high.

Room Tip: The Residential Tower is new and the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pullman01, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Drew Jones,

Thanks for your fantastic review of our property. Additional to the $10 p/day for the hi-speed internet, we also have a complimentary wifi option which is perfect for checking emails.

I apologise that you found our beds hard during your stay, we have recently updated all the beds in the residence tower and are in the process of replacing the beds in the main hotel tower.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Have stayed at this hotel twice now. As an Accor club member, I used them a few months back for business with overseas clients, and then last month on a short holiday with my wife.
This property was formerly the Hilton Auckland, and has had a makeover from trhe dated decor.

As an upper class hotel I expect a lot more than say a Novotel in the same franchaise chain. In general they delivered. Staff were mostly well trained, but bar staff a little green. Restaruant delivered well presented food, and adjusted menu items for my wife's gluten free diet without fuss or difficulty. The lower ground spa and pool area is well equipped, we didn't try the personal services there.

Front desk and concierge staff took care of admin and valet matters well, but forgot small details like moving driver's seat back to my position. (one of my finer test points :) )

Overall a pass mark.

Executive floor rooms very good, standard level room used for personal travel is a bit dated.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing ocean direction, spend the extra for Exec floor if it fits budget, rooms are bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MethuselahNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Property: Pullman Auckland
Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing