We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Auckland”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Lovely hotel, well located and great service. We arrived in the country for a 2 week holiday and stayed in the hotel for 1 night to start the holiday, it set the mood for the entire time as the hotel was great. We went for a walk, even in the rain into the city (Thursday night) and need up in a pub in Vulcan lane which had a black board out side saying it had the best fish and chips in Auckland, we agree with their claim the food was fabulous, came back to the hotel and had a drink in the lobby just a grab way to finish a perfect evening. We would stay here again when we next visit Auckland

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish1Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Irish1Australia,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. I’m glad your stay at Pullman Auckland was able to set the tone for the rest of your trip. It sounds like you had a great Auckland experience and made the most of our location to visit some of the top Auckland eateries.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a great hotel in the middle of Auckland city. It is a cut above the rest and provides a comfortable clean room at an affordable price. The staff are extremely polite and the restaurant has seasonal dishes and produce which is a good change. It is a ten minute stroll to the city centre full of bistro’s, café, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear davidg777,

Thank you for providing such a great review of our property. It appears that you enjoyed your stay with us which I am pleased to hear.

We look forward to welcoming you back from across the ditch again in the future.

Thank you for recommending us to your peers.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I booked a night at the Pullman as a much needed night away from our 11 month old. We were looking forward to being able to relax and recharge. There are some great positives about this hotel:
- location
- friendly, professional staff
- leisure and spa facilities
- lobby and bar/cafe

While we did have a relaxing time with no sleep disturbances (most important :) ) there were a few things which made us feel the hotel wasn't quite the standard we expected. From reading other reviews, perhaps we had a room which hadn't been renovated?
- several dark stains on the carpet as you walked into the room
- black mould around the bath (not the sort of mould you can clean off but need to replace the filler between the bath and tiles)
- could not connect at all to the wifi
- dated furniture and furnishings (including a random analogue clock which I shut in the wardrobe so we couldn't hear the ticking)

To be clear, the room was very clean but on the tired side.

Overall an enjoyable stay but would probably look to stay elsewhere next time we have an opportunity for a night away.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Karen M,

Thank you for writing this review and for choosing Pullman Auckland for your special night away. I am glad you enjoyed our location, friendly staff, leisure facilities and lobby bar/restaurant during your stay.

I would suggest for your next stay upgrading to one of our residence suites which may better suit your needs. These rooms come complete with your own private balcony, kitchen and lounge area and a large bathroom including a walk in shower and separate bath. We are currently in the planning stages of a refurbishment in our hotel tower which we are very excited about.

With regards to the complimentary Wi-Fi, don’t hesitate to talk to our friendly team during your next stay and they will be able to help you connect to the internet.

We hope to see you again during your next stay.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nudging 5 star. Stayed in a comfortable Superior Room which i pre-purchased for NZ$150 (US$125) - a bargain for this level of hotel. Most of the better hotels in Auckland are constrained by their heritage and Pullman is no different. Small bathrooms with only shower over bath offered but they are tastefully renovated. Bed very comfortable, free wifi and good sized working space. Public spaces are nicely done with a popular bar with nice alfresco area and a good looking restaurant. Friendly staff right across all departments. A nice part of town also - opposite park and only 5 mins walk down to Shortland St and 15 mins to Casino.

Room Tip: Harbour View Rooms have nice views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear StuckinBangers,

Thank you for your review, including your positive comments on our comfortable bed, good sized working space and nice public spaces. I’m glad our location suited your needs and that you found our staff our by friendly across the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand and our hotel again in the future.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to your peers.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Blacke1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 September 2013

the best thing about this place is the staff i think!! very attentive and friendly. check in, check out was very fast and easy. the room was medium size and clean but the bed was comfy. the bathroom was pretty normal size but it was clean as well. Overall a good place to stay for a night or two as its very centrally located and isn't far from Queen street.
Thank you to the staff as i mentioned that everyone was very nice and friendly!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpacker3667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear backpacker3667,

Thank you for your positive comments on our friendly and attentive staff and efficient check in/out procedure. I have shared your comments with the team and they are very appreciative of your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back from across the ditch again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Pullman is a really nice hotel, I stayed in a superior residence room which was new and modern, carpet clean, no marks on walls or furniture. Housekeeping have done a fantastic job cleaning the rooms and maintaining them to a high standard. I will start with the things I loved, followed by the things that need improvement.

Loved:
• The options you are given when making a booking – high/low floor, near/away from lift, aircon on/off on arrival. Such a great idea
• Real king size bed!! Not one of those zip kings so no hard bit or sinkage in the middle of the bed
• Fantastic, large modern bathroom with huge bath, big shower and double basin. Even a telephone by the toilet (if you’re interested, I’ve never really understood why they do this. I’ve never wanted to make/receive a call while I’m using the toilet)
• Great smelling bathroom products
• Plenty of power points, and they are in easy to reach/sensible places
• The concierge staff were fantastic. Every single person was asked if they needed help with their bags. When people arrived in the driveway, they rushed to the car so they could open the door for you. They were extremely attentive, as soon as you were in their line of sight, they were ready and waiting to help you

Improvements:
• Room service prices very expensive. Plus they charge you a $5 service fee. To order a caesar salad, you get charged $25 for the meal + $5 for them to bring it to your room. $30 for a salad – that’s crazy!!
• Mini-bar items are expensive too, $7 for a water – crazy!!
• Remote control didn’t work from the bed, so when I needed to turn the volume up or down/change the channel, I had to get out of bed and stand closer to the TV. Not sure if it was the distance or the batteries in the remote were going flat
• Internet is very slow. I paid the $10 fee for the premium internet (which is a bargain by hotel standards), I can’t even imagine what the free internet would be like – dial up speed?? On a number of occasions I had to reload the browser because it had timed out
• The analogue clock next to the bed is a bad idea…. tick, tick, tick. I ended up moving it into the bathroom, out of ears length
• I ticked that I wanted a newspaper delivered on my registration card when I arrived, the two mornings I was there I never received a newspaper

Room Tip: Book a room in the residence tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear bgm01,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel. I’m glad you had such a great time with us and that our staff were able to assist you with your booking, bags and room.

Thank you also for taking the time to highlight areas you feel where we could improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,551 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £97 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing