We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleepless”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,549 - 1,555 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, close to the university and Queen St. There are many dining options nearby for all types of budgets. The room was extremely clean and I loved the way it was decorated, my room had a really nice view of the city and the harbor.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful, I needed to print out some documents for my next leg of the trip and they did it for me right away.
The only thing I didn’t like that much was the internet service, it was a little slow, especially the first time I used it. Also, I do not know if the rating system for hotels in New Zealand is different but I would not consider this a five star hotel, I would say it’s a nice four star. Another thing that needs improving is some sections of the carpet in the corridors, some of them are in urgent need of deep cleaning/replacement.
This hotel is very conveniently located if you ride the airport bus, it’s a short walk from the stops on Queen Street. There are also many options to explore night life nearby, from very nice pubs no more than 5 minutes away to interesting bars on Karangahape road. The city museum is very close too, and it’s free! There is also a decent size supermarket nearby.
I had a very good stay there and I would definitely go back and recommend this place. I think it offers outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fabrizio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Fabrizio80,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. Your description of our hotel including mentions on our good location, clean rooms, nice views and helpful staff is truly appreciated.

With regards to our internet service, I am pleased to tell you we have just invested in upgrading our internet offering to ensure full coverage for all devices which will provide a faster delivery of data for our complimentary Wi-Fi users. If that still does not satisfy your internet requirements, we still have the option of high speed internet for only $10 for those high power users that require a higher speed, across multiple devices.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was originally going to give a lower rating however I will explain why this improved.

The superior king bed room I was given had two king zip beds zipped together and they used two separate covering under the sheets so you can feel the gap between the two beds. The complimentary wifi was okay however the coverage is sketchy. I found the best coverage in the room in the bathroom which was closest to hallway and worst was near window. Some furnishings were showing their age. The lift had security to insert card for floors but wasn't activated.

The room itself was of a good size and the bathroom had a shower over tub. Location of the hotel was good and within walking distance of Auckland Central and a bit further from the Viaduct.

I tried room service for dinner and food was very good and was delivered quickly.

My impression of hotel improved after visiting the gym and pool. It had a well equipped gym with the latest equipment. The pool was large and there was a spa, sauna, and steam room. There was also a spa treatment area I didn't try.

The thing that ultimately left me giving the Pullman a 5 instead of 4 or even possibly a 3 were their staff. They improved my stay as it went along. Rose was lovely when I checked-in. She was apologetic when it took a while to change my room away from lift as I was staying for a few nights. Katherine helped extend my check-out (she even double checked for me to make sure I could check out at 4pm as I was silver) and made sure I was getting newspapers as I wasn't receiving. Valentina was lovely and made sure she vacated my room quickly after I returned when was cleaning my room. Polly was helpful with fixing the blocked plug in my sink and had a lovely attitude. Chris was great with fixing up problem with key card. Jonah was very nice at check-out and also apologised profusely when I used vouchers and took a while to process.

Overall, the problems I may have had at the start can be fixed with upgrade of wifi provider and soft refurbishment of rooms. Their strength is their staff and should be commended on their friendliness and willingness to assist. Although not as polished as The Langham, I still enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear rc33,

Thank you for your high rating of our hotel. It appears my team made quite an impression on you! I am glad that they were able to make your experience such an enjoyable one.

I am pleased to say that since your stay we have upgraded our internet in the hotel to address our coverage issues. I hope, during your next stay, you will be able to experience this improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Marg_Foster
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed at the Pullman Hotel and was amazed how accommodating the staff were from assisting my luggage and also helping myself with my conference material as well. I was super impressed. The only problem was an issue with my room however the staff immediately resolved and was continually ensuring that I was well taken care off.. I cant stress how amazing the hotel was with their customer service and standards which made me leave thinking this hotel is impeccable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is needing to use conference facilitates, attending concerts at vector or a night away..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Anna-Lee H,

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you felt so well taken care of and that we were able to collectively impress you.

We are so appreciative of all your positive comments and feel very humbled that you would recommend our hotel to your peers – Thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Lovely service and foyer. Room was spacious, but bathroom was a little tired and shower over bath not ideal for everyone. Accommodation was good value, restaurant and breakfast offerings at the high end though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Jane G,

Thank you for your review on our hotel especially your comments on our spacious bathroom and lovely service. To address your room comments, you will be pleased to know that we are currently in planning stages of a refurbishment.

Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We ran a really successful event at the Pullman for about 120 guests and everything worked really well. The service was great, the food was very good and the facilities were hard to fault. The rooms in the residence tower are excellent (particularly 1660 - awesome views).

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the residence tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evansclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear evansclan,

Thank you for providing this feedback on our meeting and events team and facilities. Our team strives to deliver the highest levels of service and I am glad that you experienced this dedication at your event.

I look forward to welcoming you back from across the ditch for another business or leisure stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £100 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing