We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noice”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I booked in here on a Wotif mystery deal. The cheaper price was good value - I probably wouldn't pay the higher price as there are other places that are more to my taste
Having said that, Pullman is a nicely decorated, very comfortable hotel and it has a good room service menu - definitely a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear maarie,

Thank you for your review including your comments on our hotel being nicely decorated and comfortable, and our room service menu being good.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I couldn't believe how helpful the staff were, they absolutely went out of their way to help us. We booked one night and asked to stay another at the same cheap rate and they agreed we then decided 10 minutes before check out to stay again they said no problem and the next night we wanted to stay they were booked out but still managed to accommodate us even though we were very annoying !! The bathroom wasnt the cleanest but it was beautiful . The food was great but there was an extra room service rate and they lacked good dessert options . But overall really happy with the service and will definitely be staying there when I return to Auckland soon . And every time after that as well .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nztravelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Nztravelar,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us so much you decided to extend another couple of days. With regards to your comments on our room service dessert options; I will get the team to look into this now.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to your peers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed for 11 nights on business and this often seems too long for me. The Pullman made me feel very welcome and it started to feel like a home away from home - so well done to all staff! My room was excellent with lots of space - again important for an extended stay. Very convenient for the University of Auckland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear MikeDav,

Thank you so much for your review including your kind comments on my team. We strive to provide an environment that is as comfortable and welcoming as possible so you truly do feel like the hotel is ‘a home away from home’. I am so glad that the team achieved this for you for your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to share these comments with us, and look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is a nice facility but terribly overpriced, not one aspect of our stay represented value for money. The breakfast is shockingly overpriced, and of a very poor quality, the parking is disgraceful, there is no concession for guests staying overnight, and it would easily be well over 40 dollars to park there, per night, the hotel tries to justify this by offering "valet parking" for 35 dollars a night, but surely a cheaper parking rate should be available for guests staying in the hotel. The room was nice, and very clean, but still nothing special for a five star hotel.Our check out time was 10am and a 10.05 a member of staff knocked on our door to make sure we were ready to leave, which appeared quite rude. The positives for the hotel are its location, and swimming / relaxation area, but apart from that, its basically an up market 3 star, and very very overpriced!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHendrick90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear CHendrick90,

Thank you for your review especially your kind comments on our clean rooms, great location and facilities.

To address your concerns on the parking, we unfortunately are unable to dictate the prices of the car park below the hotel. This is public car park that is owned by Wilsons parking and as such we have no influence here. We do, however, offer a valet service for $35 which as you have mentioned, can work out to be cheaper than parking in this car park.

With regards to your comments on our buffet breakfast, this is quite a shock as we usually receive such positive reviews on this offering. For future stays I would suggest looking at the alternative breakfast options we offer which may suit your needs better.

Thank you again for staying with us. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed overnight at the Pullman Auckland. I was upgraded to a residential suite which was great; mind you i only used the room and the bathroom but i am certainly not complaining. THere was a big balcony attached with a fantastic view of the city and harbour. The lobby is stylish and accommodating. I was offered a complimentary drink at the bar while they sorted my room key, which was brought to me.
We came back after 10:30pm and had not eaten; the bar food available was really good. I had an excellent steak and the others seemed very happy too.
The location of this hotel is spot on ; just a stones throw from Queens St but not overly busy in terms of traffic etc. The only issue we has was retrieval of the car by the valet in the morning which seemed to take forever. Taxis and cars were continually pulling into the small front of house area with cars still jutting out on to the main road. It was pretty chaotic outside but inside I cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a suite ; it is worth it to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Paul O,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Pullman Auckland and for providing this review. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us including the upgrade, our bar food selection and our location. Please accept my apologies on the delay in your car delivery. Mornings are especially busy on our forecourt so I would suggest, for future stays, organizing in advance with our concierge for your car to be delivered by a certain time to ensure you do not have to wait.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I enjoyed another excellent stay at the Pullman.

Initially our room was on the second floor in room 201, facing towards the main road and hotel entrance. Needless to say the room lacked privacy and was very loud. It felt as though the pedestrians on the street were staring straight at you and the road noise was very loud. The room would be do-able if it was only for one night but we were there for another 2 nights so after requesting a new room we were pleasantly surprised when we were relocated to the 11th floor in room 1128. The room looked out towards the harbour and was very quiet.

Both rooms were very spacious and clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom small, but clean. Room service was excellent as were the valet staff at the front entrance. Considering how busy the valet staff get they were always cheerful and were always only too willing to help you. There is no self-park option at the hotel so valet parking is option at $35.00 per night.

The facilities are excellent. The complimentary gym on the lower ground level is well equipped with an excellent selection of cardio machines and weights. The lap pool is also excellent. There is a good size spa pool, sauna and steam room.

Breakfast is reasonably priced with an excellent selection of hot and cold food. The continental breakfast is $25.00 and the buffet breakfast $35.00.

Overall another excellent stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear jbg7,

Welcome back! Thank you for taking to the time to provide feedback on our hotel. Thank you also for addressing your room concerns with us so we were able to rectify the situation and in this instance, upgrade you to another room. I’m glad that you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms, facilities and excellent selection of hot and cold breakfast items.

With regards to the parking, there is a self parking option in the paid car park below the hotel. Most people prefer to use our valet due to the ease of parking and also the cost associated with this public car park.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to your peers.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Window seals perished so wind whined through windows all night. Television didn't work so had to. E moved to another room with worse windows. New room shower head fastner stripped so shower head wouldn't stay up. Hotel courtesy box of shampoo etc not refilled each day. Overall not what I expected for
5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammjamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Sammjamm,

Thank you for your feedback on our property. It is unfortunate that the weather conditions impacted on your stay with us. With regards to your room concerns, please accept my apologies on this. I have addressed this with the team as a result of your comments.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our true 5 star hospitality in the future.
Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £100 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing