We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pullman Auckland”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,348)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 2,348 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com
Thank artsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The staff is this hotels biggest asset. They could not do enough for us from arrival to cleaning our room. Our stay was for 5 nights and although the rooms are tired the bed was very comfortable. We ate a number of times in the restaurant only because of convience the meals we found were expensive but average. When we received our bill with a charge of $25.00 for a local cell phone call plus other local calls that were also expensive we were shocked. No where does it tell you the cost of phone calls. Please in future have a list of what local calls will cost. After all you can advertise that a charge of 1.5% is added to ones credit card which we also found unacceptable so why not display some of your other hidden costs so guests are aware of them. Not everyone has access to a cell phone when arriving in the country. I am sure you are not the only hotel price gouging the unsuspecting tourist.

Room Tip: Check all the prices before you do anything.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwigirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear "kiwigirlCanada",

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team took extra special care of you.

We have taken on board your comments regarding the telephone charges. While the prices are available from Reception and the Switchboard Operator, we will ensure that a price list is placed in the bedrooms so that our guests are aware of the cost prior to making a phone call.

In the meantime, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived for a nights stay with a group of friends, the valet was very friendly so we thought great this is going to be good but the smiling faces ended at the door! No welcome to the hotel from check in, the booking had been made as a group booking and seemed to completely baffle the woman checking us in and took us over 30 minutes to get it sorted. Our friends were arriving later and had all sorts of trouble checking in including one couple being sent to an already occupied room ummmmmm!!! Using the cards to get in the room took us ages with the card only displaying the green light on two of the 50 times we tried to get in and you had to be quick but the door was not always so obliging.
We had booked a package which included breakfast but nothing of this was explained to us when checking in so we had to ring reception and ask.
The room was ok looking a bit tired with stains on the carpet etc but it was clean. The bathroom was very small with the shower only big enough to shower a 10 year old the rest of us are very cramped and the shower water temperature fluctuated and what is with the shower curtain who has shower curtains anymore you get attacked by it and have to do the shower curtain release dance, I would have taken another star off for this, but I thought two stars was probably a bit harsh.
Breakfast was ok but we all had to wait for 10mins to get cutlery and from very grumpy staff, and lots of the breakfast items were empty and weren't refilled while we were there.
For the rate we paid we expected more. Probably won't be back.

Room Tip: We had a superior king which sort of had a view of Rangitoto but I think a view of the park would be...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, General Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear “Catznz”,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. While I am pleased that you found our Valet team very friendly, please accept my sincere apologies that there were certain aspects of your stay that you found disappointing.

We pride ourselves on the friendliness and professionalism of our staff, so it saddens me that you did not experience our usual Pullman hospitality from all of the team.

I wish that the members of our Management team had been aware of the level of unhappiness that you have portrayed here with regards to the shower and your room keys, so that we could have resolved these issues at the time. Our team would have been pleased to offer you a room move to a bedroom with a separate shower to the bath, and they would have assisted with the difficulty you were experiencing with the room keys.

As you know, we cannot tell from TripAdvisor which guest has left a review. If you do not mind, I would be most appreciative if you could send me a quick e-mail (rob.mcintyre@pullmanauckland.co.nz) so we can liaise direct. It will be helpful for me to know further information surrounding some of the areas you have highlighted in order to ensure these issues are addressed.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Rob McIntyre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a very classy hotel. Staff are the best asset = well trained, positive, welcoming, proactive, helpful. Rooms are large, very clean and well serviced, beds are so comfortable breakfast is great. Excellent gym. 5 minutes stroll down the hill into middle of CBD.good rates on accoradvantage or wotif.

Room Tip: save $$$$ and use the airport bus service. 5 minutes walk up a fairly steep Shortland St to Hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear "RossandJan",

Wow! Thank you for your very generous review! The team and I are humbled by your kind comments.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Pullman Auckland is a practical business hotel esp. for those who work in Fonterra as it is right across the road from their office. The Residence wing is new and modern but the main one is a bit rundown. I have heard they are renovating but my floor's turn hadn't come until this stay! Staff is very courteous and most reliable. It is a very busy hotel most times of the year but staff across all departments is both professional and efficient. Queen St. and Waterfront are a walking distance which means this hotel offers better value for money compared to the likes of Hilton down the hill. Overall recommended.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room in the Residence wing
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aamir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear "Aamir M",

Thank you for taking the time to review the Pullman Auckland. Your feedback is very important to us and I will be delighted to share your kind comments with the team.

We are indeed in the planning stages of a refurbishment to the rooms in the hotel tower, in order to keep the hotel up-to-date and commit to our ongoing restoration project. In the meantime however, we do have a selection of suites in the hotel tower as well as the bedrooms in the Residence which may be more suitable to guests who prefer a contemporary feel.

Thank you again for your fantastic review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The room and service were great however the website advised Heated Indoor Swimming Pool - I'm unsure of the temperature but in my opinion wouldn't call it Heated - very mildly luke warm. Of course having a child with me we still got in and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear "Kelly S",

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and you had the opportunity to use the swimming pool facilities at the Spa at the Pullman. The average temperature of our indoor swimming pool is 29 degrees celcius however the outside area can vary depending on the weather.

I hope you had a fantastic time at the Taylor Swift Concert. We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £104 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing