We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but nothing special”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Pullman is a comfortable hotel; there's not much to complain about. But equally there's nothing special to recommend it either. The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious, but the decor is a little dated and could do with a refresh. The hotel itself is on a hill above Auckland. Surprisingly, however, it does not provide much of a view (because of surrounding buildings). And it requires a walk down/up a fairly steep hill to get to/from the city. On a more positive note, staff were welcoming and helpful, and there is free wifi available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear "007Sydney",

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on the Pullman Auckland. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay.

As we are unable to tell which guest has a left a review on TripAdvisor, please do not hesitate to contact me on c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz when you are looking to return to Auckland. I would love to offer you a choice of rooms that might be more suitable on a future stay. We have many suites, rooms and apartments with breathtaking views of the harbour and Rangitoto, as well as a selection of rooms that are contemporary in style. We would very much like to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,461 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for only one night while on a quick trip to Auckland, considering our gorgeous residence suite we would have liked to have stayed longer!
The room was multi-floor with the bedroom, ensuite and walk-in-wardrobe on the top floor and the kitchen, laundry, lounge and second bathroom on the entry floor.
The room was clean, towels were in good condition, amenities were Roger & Gallet, all kitchen items were clean, tea was of a good quality and a coffee machine with capsules was supplied to be used free of charge. Furniture was modern and clean with all rooms being well appointed. The automatic blinds for the floor to ceiling windows worked well but did not block out the morning sun entirely. There were a few stains on the carpet and the balcony furniture was a little bit dusty, but apart from that I could not fault our one bedroom residence.
Staff were helpful and polite from check-in to check-out. Room service was efficient and reasonably priced. We made use of the valet parking which was not over-priced and convenient.
The staff allowed us to use the day spa facilities to get changed and freshen up even after checking out the following day - this is a great option if you have a later event or flight but don't want to pay for an extra night.
We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The residences are more spacious and have great views of the harbour and port. We stayed on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deux_Coxski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear "Deux_Coxski",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pullman Auckland. The team and I delighted that you had a wonderful and comfortable stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, everything that you would need and great staff. Love the close proximity to Vector Arena. An easy walk to shops and I love the fact that you can always get a taxi out front. Nice coffee from the bar.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sandygle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear "Sandygle",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pullman Auckland. The team and I are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and that the location of the hotel was ideal for where you needed to be in the city. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked in for the weekend of the Springsteen concert and were expecting the hotel and the city to be busy. The room was expensive- over NZD300 and seeing the 5 star rating we were expecting something fairly good. Sadly we were greatly disappointed! I write this review having stayed at most of the hotels in the Auckland CBD......except this one; and I certainly would not return to the Pullman. The location is great; close to downtown if this is what you want. mThe rooms are very small and basic- it looks like an '80s build. One of the worst features of our room and probably the whole hotel is the absence of double glazing. This means a lot of noise during the night that interrupts sleep. As seems to happen in every city in the world, about 3am-4am in the morning noisy trucks move in to town and empty numerous rubbish skips filled with glass bottles- at the Pullman they seemed to be operating just outside of our room. This is apart from the noisy drunken revellers leaving the downtown area during the night.
The room needs a revamp- the carpet was heavily stained and the furniture worn. The bathroom reminded me of my university hostel and it was a bit of a struggle to get in through the door. The food here was very average and despite all the smart well dressed hotel staff at the check in desk the service here is poor and the place seemed to be run by workers just "off the boat" with limited English
In my view, this place represents very poor value for money. It needs sorting out- I won't be back and you should think twice about coming here!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drurolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear "Drurolnz",

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the Pullman Auckland. I was disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience and that you are unlikely to return to stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies that the room was not to your expectations and that you were disturbed by noise in the early hours of the morning.

While the hotel rooms were refurbished in 2010, we are in the planning stages of a refurbishment to some of the rooms in the hotel tower. In the meantime however, we do have a selection of rooms in our Residency Tower that are more contemporary in style and many rooms throughout both towers that are quiet and away from the noise you experienced. Furthermore, we have a selection of different rooms and suites in the hotel which may be more suitable if you are looking for that extra space and comfort.

As I cannot tell from TripAdvisor which guest has left a review, I would be grateful if you would email me on c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz as I would very much like to liaise with you directly regarding your experience. We often receive many compliments about how friendly and professional our staff are and I would very much like the opportunity for you to experience our true Pullman Hospitality. We work passionately every day to ensure our guests are comfortable and have a memorable stay and if there is something that is not quite right we like to ensure that it is addressed immediately.

I very much hope to hear from you.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were warmly greeted by the concierge who took care of our car and luggage. At check in we were welcomed by the lovely Rick who is originally from Holland. He was friendly and professional and so easy to deal with. to say the least we were impressed with him. The wow factor was when we entered our apartment in the residential suite! Specious with a separate bedroom and very well appointed. The free wifi is a real bonus (not usually the case with most other 5 star hotels in Auckland). Lunch at the cafe was delicious and again the service exceptional. The hotel lobby is elegant and inviting. All in all we were delighted we choose to stay here and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear "Sarita S",

Thank you for your amazing review. The team and I are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to one of our one-bedroom Residence Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here three nights and were very happy with both the room and the quality of the service, which was attentive and friendly. Our room was spacious and clean, with a view through the buildings to the dockyards and the sea and a bathroom with bathtub and upmarket Roger & Gallet bath accessories. Unfortunately, we did not get time to use the free swimming pool and fitness room. The breakfast buffet was very good (though quite expensive), with a wide choice for both continental and cooked breakfasts, and cappuccino coffee on request (you have to pay extra for the second cappuccino - I have encountered this before and never understood why). Wifi was free if the slow option was chosen (NZ$10 for fast unlimited internet), but the slow option was sufficient for emails and surfing. We had a hire car to deliver back on our first morning, and there is parking at the hotel, though this was also quite expensive at $35 a night. The location close to the University of Auckland, about a quarter of an hour's walk to the centre, was ideal for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear "cleoch",

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel. The team and I are delighted that you had a wonderful stay. We pride ourselves on the professionalism and friendliness of our staff so I am so pleased that you experienced our true Pullman hospitality.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Hopefully next time you will have the opportunity to enjoy our 25m indoor heated swimming pool or the jacuzzi and sauna.

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Staying overnight at the Pullman was interesting. The room I got was a fairly typical king sized basic room. The bed was comfy the TV worked. It functioned but didn't wow me much. There was free wifi which was a definite bonus, and if I opted to pay more I would have got faster wifi. Oh well. This said, the staff were great and everyone was pretty friendly. The pullman is also conveniently located, with high st just a short walk down the hill...

If that is the good, the not so good was the bathroom. It should have been a high point as the tiling was pretty high end and good fittings were used. Sadly there was either blood or something worse smeared on the door and it was pretty dirty. Perhaps the Pullman management need to look at better room inspections

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear "PatrickP",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pullman Auckland. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, particularly that you had a good nights sleep and felt taken care of by our team.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issue you highlighted with the bathroom door. Please be rest assured that this is not of our usual standard and the lipstick mark has been removed with immediate effect.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me on c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz if I can be of assistance with a future reservation. It would be a pleasure to meet you.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,976 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £96 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing