We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, but expensive and lots of little issues”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed as a family of four for five nights and had a suite comprising two interconnecting rooms with a living area/kitchen.

The location of the hotel is very central and well-located for getting around Auckland.

Rooms: the hotel lobby and main areas are very nicely decorated. The rooms themselves are fairly plain but comfortable. Very good beds. There are knocks and chips here and there to the furniture, and the lock on our balcony door was broken, indicating that the hotel is in need of a little refurbishment to bring it back up to standard.

The housekeeping was to a very high standard. We asked in our booking for the children’s rooms to have twin beds but it had a shared bed.

We had to call the lobby on a couple of occasions. The DVD player was not working but it was soon fixed. One evening we hoped to watch a movie but the movie system was not working on either TV in our room and it took over an hour to resolve this.

We ate in the bar and also tried the breakfast, both were of a high standard but the prices were very high. A children’s glass of lemonade cost $5.50, which is far too much and goes against the family spirit of Accor hotels. Service was a little slow in the bar.

We ordered room service on our third night. This included a carafe of wine. When it arrived it was a single glass of wine. We also ordered mayonnaise but it was not sent. We rang down to ask if these could be replaced and they were replaced in about 10 minutes.

The hotel staff were quite young but always courteous and helpful.

At checkout our bill contained numerous extra charges, eg for breakfast on the morning before we had even arrived(!), for numerous movies we hadn’t watched… over $350 in extra charges in total. These were removed without issue, but I am mentioning them as I feel that this simply should not happen in a quality hotel.

Overall, so many little things went wrong during our stay that I am not sure we would book it again, which is a shame as the location and the quality of the rooms are great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OffWeGoOnATripAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear "OffWeGoOnATripAgain",

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Auckland. It was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I will share your kind comments with the team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of the staff as we constantly aim to improve the quality of our services.

Please accept my sincere apologies however that there were a few issues you experienced. As we do not know which guest has left a review, I would be grateful if you could email me your booking details so I may look into these areas you have mentioned. (My email address is c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz) We pride ourselves on service excellence which means your stay should have been nothing but perfect. We would very much like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. I hope to have the pleasure of speaking with you very soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 2,422 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

First time stay, I brought it through a mystery deal. They put me in a higher up room as it was my first visit and I appreciated that. I used the pool facilities which are great, bed was lovely. Great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chch_kraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear "Chch_kraig",

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Visited The Pullman for one night as part of my husbands 40th birthday celebrations.

We gratefully accepted the complimentary room upgrade to a suite. The room was lovely, and the bed was very comfortable. In fact the only negatives were that the bathroom was tiny - only room for one person at a time and my husbands knees practically squashed against the side of the bath when he had to use the facilities. Also there were lots of stains on the carpet in each room of the suite which was such a shame as it took away from the otherwise attractive area.

Plus sides, the staff were lovely, the location was fantastic - a 5 minute walk right into the heart of the city.

Just a note, the valet parking system is very efficient, but at no time were we advised by either the valet staff or reception that the service would be chargeable. In fact we only discovered this charge had been added to our account upon checkout.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, would recommend to others and would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank twebster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear "twebster75",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your husband's 40th birthday. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and very much liked the location of the hotel.

I will share your kind comments and feedback with our team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we continue improving and maintaining the quality of our services.

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is in walking distance of the downtown and harbor area but there is a climb up the hill to get to the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, but you might get a little traffic noise on lower floors. The staff is very accommodating and friendly and the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear "la901",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Pullman Auckland. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The only thing wrong with this hotel is that is needs to be refurbished and better sooner than later, everything is spotless but it looks very tired in the hallways and the room, bathroom quite outdated. Service in this hotel is definitely tops right down to the porters and valet persons. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its great service and just hope that redecoration is not too far away

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear "Fiona M",

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on the Pullman Auckland. It was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay.

While the rooms in the hotel tower are more traditional in style, we do have a residence tower which is more contemporary in design. Please let me know when you are next coming to Auckland and I will be happy to meet with you on arrival to showcase these to rooms to you. It would be a pleasure to meet you. My email address is c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel. I love its central location - close, but not bustling. The staff are always very pleasant and helpful. I would stay there again. The pool and spa area were very nice. I used the pool but not the spa. Perhaps next time...

Room Tip: I was offered a room right next to the lift, as I had arrived a little early. The receptionist told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveh652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear "Steve H",

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Pullman Auckland again. It was a pleasure to welcome you back. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Reached the hotel around 11.00am and check in was very fast and before we reach our room our luggages were in the room, which I have not seen in 98% of hotels. Room is very spacious and had a spacious hall with TV and sofa. The gym is well equiped and maintained. We did not received news paper. Bed and Pillows are very clean and carpets and furnitures need replacement or refurbishment. Staff are very co-operative and their bar has variety of drinks. Like all hotels in Auckland there is no free parking. I was told that the new wing is much better and had no chance to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selvan_koilpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear "selvan_koilpillai",

Thank you for your taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Pullman Auckland. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel.

Please let me know when you look to book your next stay with us as I would be delighted to meet with you on arrival to showcase a selection of our rooms. We are fortunate to have both traditional and contemporary rooms available for our guests depending on their preferences. My email address is c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £95 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing