We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    858
    317
    79
    42
See reviews for
341
928
164
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A great pit stop hotel with all the amenities one would expect
Quiet room (seaward side) and the beds are really comfortable
The hotel is situated in central Auckland but is still a 10 minute walk to the waterfront and being on top of a hill there is a steep walk back. Suggest take one of the many taxi's available.
The restaurant was too expensive for my liking so found a top notch place to eat at the Elliot Stables on Elliot Street (10 minute walk) where top class food can be ordered from about a dozen different restaurants surrounding an eating area. I had a perfect lasagne with french crepes for dessert!
The Pullman has an excellent Valet parking service and the staff were very courteous. Worth a try!

Room Tip: Choose the seaward side for quietness and better views I was on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchitectNick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear "ArchitectNick2014",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pullman Auckland. The team and I are delighted that you had a wonderful stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was recently at the Pullman Auckland for 4 nights whilst attending a conference at the same hotel. The hotel appeared old from the outside but the lobby has had a makeover and looked quite modern. Unfortunately, my check in experience was not great. There was no queue system and the receptionists were too busy looking down at paperwork to notice who was actually the next person waiting. This resulted in two people being served before me even though I had been waiting the longest. The room I was allocated was on the third floor facing the back of the hotel. I didn't mind as I wanted a quiet room and I imagine the rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy. Sunday morning was an exception though as garbage trucks came rather early to the back of the hotel to empty the rubbish eg. 6-7am which created quite a racket. The room was small, and the bathroom was tiny. I didn't really mind as I honestly didn't spend much time in my room. The bed was excellent and the mattress and bedding was very comfy. The location of the hotel is about a 5 min downhill walk to Queen st (obviously an uphill workout on the way back!)

I tried to book a treatment at the spa at the end of the conference but it was booked out for 2 whole days! Not sure what's going on with staff there but obviously there is a lack of staff to fulfil the demand.

I probably expected better from a brand name hotel like Pullman. It's hard to put a finger on what's wrong but I think it lacked the ambience, service, and quality that would entice me to come back. If you do stay at the Pullman, try the Bircher muesli for breakfast. It's yum!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear "physioT",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pullman Auckland and for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I was pleased to read that you found our beds excellent and the bedding comfy.

Please accept my sincere apologies that there was a delay in your check in experience and that you were disturbed by the Council trucks so early on Sunday morning. I wll share this feedback with our Front Office Manager and the Council so that this does not happen again. I can understand that both situations must have been frustrating, for which I would like to express my sincerest apologies.

As the Spa at the Pullman is extremely popular with our guests, we do suggest making a reservation for any treatments at the time of booking in order to avoid disappointment. I am sorry that we were unable to welcome you to the Spa on this occasion.

As you might be aware, we are unable to tell from TripAdvisor which guest has a left review. We would very much like to welcome you back to the Pullman Auckland and I hope that you might find the time to discuss your stay with me further. My email address is c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz.

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed as a family of four for five nights and had a suite comprising two interconnecting rooms with a living area/kitchen.

The location of the hotel is very central and well-located for getting around Auckland.

Rooms: the hotel lobby and main areas are very nicely decorated. The rooms themselves are fairly plain but comfortable. Very good beds. There are knocks and chips here and there to the furniture, and the lock on our balcony door was broken, indicating that the hotel is in need of a little refurbishment to bring it back up to standard.

The housekeeping was to a very high standard. We asked in our booking for the children’s rooms to have twin beds but it had a shared bed.

We had to call the lobby on a couple of occasions. The DVD player was not working but it was soon fixed. One evening we hoped to watch a movie but the movie system was not working on either TV in our room and it took over an hour to resolve this.

We ate in the bar and also tried the breakfast, both were of a high standard but the prices were very high. A children’s glass of lemonade cost $5.50, which is far too much and goes against the family spirit of Accor hotels. Service was a little slow in the bar.

We ordered room service on our third night. This included a carafe of wine. When it arrived it was a single glass of wine. We also ordered mayonnaise but it was not sent. We rang down to ask if these could be replaced and they were replaced in about 10 minutes.

The hotel staff were quite young but always courteous and helpful.

At checkout our bill contained numerous extra charges, eg for breakfast on the morning before we had even arrived(!), for numerous movies we hadn’t watched… over $350 in extra charges in total. These were removed without issue, but I am mentioning them as I feel that this simply should not happen in a quality hotel.

Overall, so many little things went wrong during our stay that I am not sure we would book it again, which is a shame as the location and the quality of the rooms are great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OffWeGoOnATripAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear "OffWeGoOnATripAgain",

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Auckland. It was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I will share your kind comments with the team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of the staff as we constantly aim to improve the quality of our services.

Please accept my sincere apologies however that there were a few issues you experienced. As we do not know which guest has left a review, I would be grateful if you could email me your booking details so I may look into these areas you have mentioned. (My email address is c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz) We pride ourselves on service excellence which means your stay should have been nothing but perfect. We would very much like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. I hope to have the pleasure of speaking with you very soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

First time stay, I brought it through a mystery deal. They put me in a higher up room as it was my first visit and I appreciated that. I used the pool facilities which are great, bed was lovely. Great nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chch_kraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear "Chch_kraig",

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Visited The Pullman for one night as part of my husbands 40th birthday celebrations.

We gratefully accepted the complimentary room upgrade to a suite. The room was lovely, and the bed was very comfortable. In fact the only negatives were that the bathroom was tiny - only room for one person at a time and my husbands knees practically squashed against the side of the bath when he had to use the facilities. Also there were lots of stains on the carpet in each room of the suite which was such a shame as it took away from the otherwise attractive area.

Plus sides, the staff were lovely, the location was fantastic - a 5 minute walk right into the heart of the city.

Just a note, the valet parking system is very efficient, but at no time were we advised by either the valet staff or reception that the service would be chargeable. In fact we only discovered this charge had been added to our account upon checkout.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, would recommend to others and would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank twebster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear "twebster75",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your husband's 40th birthday. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and very much liked the location of the hotel.

I will share your kind comments and feedback with our team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we continue improving and maintaining the quality of our services.

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is in walking distance of the downtown and harbor area but there is a climb up the hill to get to the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, but you might get a little traffic noise on lower floors. The staff is very accommodating and friendly and the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear "la901",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Pullman Auckland. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Property: Pullman Auckland
Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing