We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and location great!”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service and location great!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice hotel, all staff were helpful and very friendly. Got an upgrade to a suite on my second visit, which I really appreciated after my long trip. The view was nice from the room, looking onto the near park across the road. Food was very good. I will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF4572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear "ChrisF4572014",

I was delighted to read that you very much enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to complimentary upgrade you to one of our suites.

Please let me know when you look to book your next stay with us. (c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz) It would be lovely to meet with you on your next visit.

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    859
    318
    79
    43
See reviews for
342
928
165
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many hotels in Auckland, and after this stay I have added Pullman Auckland to my favourites. Stay was flawless.

Room was so spacious and basically amazing (Executive King Suite) - with two toilets, a walk-in shower, a bath, two sinks, amazing mirrors, a beautiful executive desk, two tv-sets, a comfy sofa and reasonably comfortable bed.

The photos on the hotel website do not show the beauty of the room - I have added some of my photos to give you an impression what you can expect.

I would not be so happy about the stay at the hotel, if not the 25 m swimming pool with several lines, spacious sauna + steam room, spa and well-equipped gym. This is a really good "cherry" on the cake. I do not think that you can get that at many hotels in Auckland. The honest and full smile of spa/gym staff made me feel so welcome.

The breakfast selection was really good - with salmon, really tasty blue cheese, well-cooked eggs Benedict's by the chef and really efficient and helpful staff. I really enjoyed the breakfast - you pay $35 for it, but you are getting moneys worth. Giving numbers to orders is a really good way of avoiding queues - so you can enjoy your breakfast when the chef is preparing your cooked order.

Disclaimer - i cannot guarantee that all of the hotel rooms are as nice as the room 1408, but there is not a huge difference in price between superior room and executive king suite. Consider spoiling yourself a bit by taking a better room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacek_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear "Jacek_TA",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Pullman Auckland. I was so pleased to read that we are now one of your favourite hotels in the city and that your stay was flawless. I will share your kind comments with the team. I know that they will be so happy with your feedback. They work passionately every day to ensure that our guests' stays are memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back. It will be a pleasure to meet you on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel's not bad, but not the best Pullman I've stayed in. The rooms were ok, the staff were really helpful and friendly. The location is great, in walking distance to the cities main eat street and parks. The breakfast was just ok....I was an Accor member so was worth it with the discount but suggest you try other brekky options if you have time. Coffee in the bar was VERY average.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear "Amy H",

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on the Pullman Auckland. I am so pleased that overall you had a good stay and you very much like the location of the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. If times allows, please contact me on c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz with any room preferences you may have. We want to make sure that you are comfortable and taken extra special care of on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed staying here during Christmas season. Modern and friendly staff. Located very close to city, with only a walk down hill. Very good restaurant with a nice lounge if you are in mood for drinks. Also has Good conference facilities with a nice spa.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear "Richard B",

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Pullman Auckland over the Christmas season. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A great pit stop hotel with all the amenities one would expect
Quiet room (seaward side) and the beds are really comfortable
The hotel is situated in central Auckland but is still a 10 minute walk to the waterfront and being on top of a hill there is a steep walk back. Suggest take one of the many taxi's available.
The restaurant was too expensive for my liking so found a top notch place to eat at the Elliot Stables on Elliot Street (10 minute walk) where top class food can be ordered from about a dozen different restaurants surrounding an eating area. I had a perfect lasagne with french crepes for dessert!
The Pullman has an excellent Valet parking service and the staff were very courteous. Worth a try!

Room Tip: Choose the seaward side for quietness and better views I was on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchitectNick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear "ArchitectNick2014",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pullman Auckland. The team and I are delighted that you had a wonderful stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was recently at the Pullman Auckland for 4 nights whilst attending a conference at the same hotel. The hotel appeared old from the outside but the lobby has had a makeover and looked quite modern. Unfortunately, my check in experience was not great. There was no queue system and the receptionists were too busy looking down at paperwork to notice who was actually the next person waiting. This resulted in two people being served before me even though I had been waiting the longest. The room I was allocated was on the third floor facing the back of the hotel. I didn't mind as I wanted a quiet room and I imagine the rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy. Sunday morning was an exception though as garbage trucks came rather early to the back of the hotel to empty the rubbish eg. 6-7am which created quite a racket. The room was small, and the bathroom was tiny. I didn't really mind as I honestly didn't spend much time in my room. The bed was excellent and the mattress and bedding was very comfy. The location of the hotel is about a 5 min downhill walk to Queen st (obviously an uphill workout on the way back!)

I tried to book a treatment at the spa at the end of the conference but it was booked out for 2 whole days! Not sure what's going on with staff there but obviously there is a lack of staff to fulfil the demand.

I probably expected better from a brand name hotel like Pullman. It's hard to put a finger on what's wrong but I think it lacked the ambience, service, and quality that would entice me to come back. If you do stay at the Pullman, try the Bircher muesli for breakfast. It's yum!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear "physioT",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pullman Auckland and for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I was pleased to read that you found our beds excellent and the bedding comfy.

Please accept my sincere apologies that there was a delay in your check in experience and that you were disturbed by the Council trucks so early on Sunday morning. I wll share this feedback with our Front Office Manager and the Council so that this does not happen again. I can understand that both situations must have been frustrating, for which I would like to express my sincerest apologies.

As the Spa at the Pullman is extremely popular with our guests, we do suggest making a reservation for any treatments at the time of booking in order to avoid disappointment. I am sorry that we were unable to welcome you to the Spa on this occasion.

As you might be aware, we are unable to tell from TripAdvisor which guest has a left review. We would very much like to welcome you back to the Pullman Auckland and I hope that you might find the time to discuss your stay with me further. My email address is c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz.

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Property: Pullman Auckland
Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing