We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for one night, had to room move as the room we had been checked into did not have two beds but that was easily fixed and the second room had a much better view. Joan checked us in and was extremely pleasant, Mitchell the concierge was more than helpful (helped move bags and gave good restaurant / bar choices for both Auckland and Queenstown (the next location on our trip). The lobby area was pretty funky looking (in a good way), the only downside is the walk back up the hill from Queen Street (walking down is not a problem of course) but the location is well-placed and there are good views of the parklands out front and the city also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear "Tommw5",

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on the Pullman Auckland. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay.

I will share your kind comments with Joan, Mitchell and the team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we continuously work hard to ensure the quality of our services are enhanced.

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,370 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in May for two nights as my sister and husband are members of ACCOR, the accommodation is very nice and well equipped, fantastic views, the customer service by the staff was very good and so very helpful. I did find the air conditioner hard to control it was quite warm in the room and the only other small complaint was the bathroom shower curtain it was very annoying, while trying to shower maybe need a better option. We ate dinner in the dining room it was really, really nice and the service was brillant. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear "Leah H",

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay.

If time allows, I would be grateful if you would drop me a quick email with your booking details. We do have some rooms with separate showers to the bath which might be more comfortable for you on a future stay. (c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz) I would be happy to make a note of this for you.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This property is a renovated hotel with a beautiful modern lobby and rooms that are obviously older with high ceilings and crown moldings with updated bathrooms. What made the stay of 5 days a joy was the staff. The doormen were consistently courteous, helpful and knowledgeable, particularly Rick who I think must live there because he was seemingly always there to open our car door. Cairan, the concierge, went out of his way to get the proper tour for us and arranged to have a pick up at the hotel. The Tapestry Restaurant staff (Alem) was also courteous and eager to meet the needs and requests of the guests as was the receptionist desk (Sarah).

Room Tip: You can have a view of the University of Auckland or one toward the harbor. We had the former and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear "W T",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pullman Auckland. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff. Ciaran, Alem and Sarah will be so pleased when I share your feedback with them. The entire team work passionately every day to provide memorable experiences for our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed at the Pullman for a business function and meetings as part of a group. Our room was OK, though the A/C was a bit noisy and hard to regulate so that you could get consistent temperature, but that is a quibble. The main issue was the embarrassment I was caused to experience at check-in, when the check-in clerk tried to correct the "mistake" that had resulted in our being assigned a room with a single king-sized bed. In fact, that is what we had requested, and our efforts to convince her that we wanted that bed were not persuasive, apparently, since she kept trying to have us move into a room with twin beds. Finally we had to just tell her that my travelling companion and I were a (same-sex) couple, and were quite happy to share a bed. Is it really necessary to have to spell these things out in Auckland in 2014?? Why could she not have just taken us at our word that we wanted to keep things as it was? And why, when I raised this casually with one of the managers later in the day, did no one offer an apology for this?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear "James_Glucksman",

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to speak with me yesterday regarding your stay at the Pullman Auckland.

My sincere apologies again that you found yourself in an embarassing situation during your check in experience. While I am confident that the staff member felt they were being of assistance, I will remind the team that we should not assume our guests' preferences unless we are advised otherwise.

In the interest of the readers of this forum, I must mention that I have spoken to the Manager on Duty concerned, and he did indeed apologise for the embarrassment you felt. He also assured me that he made an attempt to find out further information from you regarding the incident, to which he was unsuccessful.

I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is in a convenient location by Auckland University and the CBD. The public areas are well maintained with pleasant, modern decor, and the hotel has a superb large pool with a retractable roof. The staff are extremely pleasant and professional and make every effort to attend to all your needs. I also loved the breakfast buffet which has an excellent array of items. And the Energy Revive green smoothie drinks they offer as a pick me in the rooms and at the bar are a really wonderful flavorful tonic.

By way of minor quibbles, I think the rooms need to be renovated. While comfortable, they feel rather dated. And it would have been helpful to have universal outlets so as not to need adapters to plug in laptops and charge cellphones. The wireless internet was also a little sketchy on occasion. Apart from this, would highly recommend this property as being clean, efficient, comfortable and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear "Peter R",

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Pullman Auckland. I was delighted to read that you very much enjoyed your experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

When this hotel was managed by the Hyatt brand, I had the pleasure of regularly staying here and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Admittedly under Hyatt, I was provided with residence rooms and suites for my stays. This was my first visit back under the Pullman brand. The room provided had a nice view but did look very dated and small in comparison to the other Auckland hotels. Air conditioning was noisy, the bathroom was very dated. Showering was annoying with the shower curtain pinning you in a small corner, however bathroom amenities were nice enough. Room service was a bit of a mixed bag, my wife had a great looking meal and mine was average. Restaurant breakfast was over run with a tour group which did not aid to a relaxing breakfast, nor a lot of food on offer with the kitchen doing there best to keep up. May I suggest a conference room or something for those large groups so as not to deter you FIT or corporate guests. We had a great cocktail function at Top of the Town and the conference facilities, spa facilities and gym were excellent. In a nutshell, I think the rooms are very average and could do with a refurb but good (not excellent) in most other areas.

Room Tip: Go for a residence room/suite or hotel suite. Avoid a hotel room until they have a decent refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJFarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear "CJF101",

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on our hotel. It was a pleasure to welcome you back after all these years. I am so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and you very much enjoyed the cocktail function you attended at Top of the Town, as well as the Spa at the Pullman facilities.

As you mentioned, the hotel has both a Residence and a Hotel Tower - The Residence Tower being more contemporary in style and the Hotel Tower very much traditional. Depending on your length of stay and your preferences, we have the pleasure of offering our guests a range of suites and rooms that may be suitable.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you found the air conditioning noisy and would have preferred a separate shower to the bath. As I am unable to tell from TripAdvisor which guest has left a review, I would be grateful if you would email me your booking details. I would like to ensure that we allocate a walk in shower for your next stay and make a note that you would prefer to reserve one of the Residence Rooms in the future. Furthermore, if time allows, it would be very helpful for further feedback on your Room Service experience. We have recently introduced a new menu and the Executive Chef welcomes honest feedback in order to offer a culinary experience that our guests will thoroughly enjoy and remember. My email address is c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Arrived late in the evening and one of the porters had taken my bag inside :) Check in was fast and efficent. I forgotten his name but he had given me a late check out! Thank you, it was much needed. I had breakfast and the layout was great. Alot of options and probably the only hotel I have seen so far that has Nutella which is a extra bonus. Came back later than the check out time because of a meeting which was okay with the staff. All staff were great! Thanks to the porter for dropping my bags into the taxi Saturday morning. Happy fella! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanieeTavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear "DanieeTavita",

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am delighted that you had a wonderful experience and that the offer of a late departure was helpful.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,878 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £107 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing