We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Staying Here”
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Auckland
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    848
    311
    79
    42
See reviews for
337
916
162
601
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here when Accor announced a 40% sale on rooms and included free breakfast. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are nicely appointed particularly the refurbished ones. However the hotel is let down by the inconsistent service provided by some of the staff. It took a long time to check in. When we arrived at around 5pm there was only one person at the check in counter. I had to wait a long time to check in and just as it was my turn, 4 people emerged from the back office and asked if they could help. Where were they to begin with? You could hear the wind whistling through the corridors but you couldn't hear it in our room. We ate dinner at the Tapestry restaurant. My husband ordered the steak medium rare but it arrived blue. He sent it back. By the time the steak was served again my chicken had gone cold. The food at breakfast was very good but the waiters struggled to keep up. We waited a long time for our table to be ready and some of the waitresses seemed harried. We also weren't offered any coffee or tea and had to wildly wave our hands to get anybody's attention.They ran out of eggs at the buffet. By the time the eggs were refilled we had finished our breakfast. The buffet is however much better on weekdays when there are fewer people and the waitresses have more time for guests. The hotel says they only take 5-10 minutes to retrieve your car from valet but every time we asked for our car it took at least 15 minutes. That was quite annoying. On one occasion they even gave us the WRONG car! I don't mind if they take 15 minutes but be upfront about it. Don't over promise and then under deliver. If it really takes 15 minutes then just say so. The other thing that irritated me was the spa. I had a 60 minute massage at the spa but it wasn't really 60 minutes. The masseur started 5 minutes late and finished 2 minutes early. That might sound petty but when you're paying $130 for a 60 minute massage, I deserve to receive 60 minutes worth of your time! I felt ripped off at the spa. The time spent in the "waiting room" should not count towards the massage. The hotel has the potential to be 5 star but unfortunately we did not receive that experience. If it weren't for the 40% sale I would be giving this hotel a lower rating.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YLH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear "YLH01",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Pullman Auckland. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel. While I am so pleased that you loved the location and the room that you stayed in, I was disappointed to read that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

As you may be aware, I am unable to tell from TripAdvisor which guest has left a review. I would be grateful if you would email me your contact details so I may liaise with you direct regarding your feedback. Your stay should have been nothing but perfect. It is my hope however that when you expressed your thoughts to the team during your stay, they would have rectified the areas immediately. We very much appreciate both good and honest feedback so we are able to highlight this to the team in order to better serve our guests in the future. (My email address is c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz)

I look forward to hopefully hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is in the nice location, 5 minutes walking to the harbor and the center.Rooms are nice and well furnished.The only complaint is very very loud noise coming from the windows.It was windy when I was there and the wind was making terrible noise through the windows.I couldn't sleep at all.My colleagues said that they had the same issue.
Everything else is really good and the food is delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear "Sanjulina",

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Pullman Auckland. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay.

My sincere apologies that the wind kept you up at night however. Unfortunately Auckland experienced gusts of wind of up to 125 kmph last week, due to a storm that lasted several days.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good service, comfortable rooms, good location. A good business hotel except that if you wanted to have your laptop and mobile on wifi you had to pay $10 per day. And I liked the breakfast a lot - really wide range of choices!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitizenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear "CitizenDave",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Pullman Auckland. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Below is a letter I sent to the hotel manager.

Dear .........

When I saw the first night's accommodation charge on your system I asked one of your staff who assured me it would be correct. At no time was I told I would have two bills to pay. I assumed, since there were so many online specials available for your hotel, that my rate was matched to them.

As for having a great stay. A comedy of errors and inadequacies. I've listed for you what I can remember.

1. Room requests were ignored as you are aware but even to the extent of providing a room with two singles rather than a king.
2. Equipment failures - air conditioning didn't work
- room safes didn't work
- tv quality very poor
- in room movies not available through half our stay
- unusable coffee machine
- a damaged lift without a lobby button which I only mention as I found myself trapped by it.
3. Catering - buffet breakfast food appeared days old
- vegetarian meals served covered with bacon !!!!
- a menu that read very well but the food supplied was to such a poor standard as to be inedible. Try the cannelloni, the rubber cheese pizza and the terrible desserts.
4. Service - a few hardworking, amenable staff members accompanied by a number who were very disappointing.
- Uncaring, disinterested and inept. Did not return calls or confirm bookings.
- Billing unclear and not correctly itemised.


Overall .... a very disappointing experience. I chose your hotel as you seemed to promise quality but unfortunately this was only a marketing illusion.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear "LuckyLui",

Thank you for writing to us regarding your recent stay at Pullman Auckland, and for taking the time to speak with me earlier in the week regarding your stay. I very much appreciated you sharing your feedback and as I mentioned, we are sincerely sorry that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations..

As mentioned in my email correspondence to you, I am sincerely sorry that we did not originally allocate you an apartment with two king beds. The request was acknowledged but I have since learnt, that the information did not download from one system into another, and for this I am sincerely sorry. It was an error from our side. I know our Front Office Manager, complimentary upgraded you to one of our corner suites once we realized the error, however I do appreciate that it was not ideal to move to another room during your stay.

After speaking with the Maintenance team, I understand from my colleagues that while the aircon did work, it was a case that you wanted the temperature adjusted which was done centrally from behind the scenes and from within the room. As our safes run off a battery operated system, at some stage, unfortunately they will lose their battery life however the batteries were replaced immediately.

As I mentioned, I am sincerely sorry that the In Room movies became unavailable during your stay. While this is a service provided by an outside company, I can appreciate that it is frustrating nevertheless to not be able to watch a movie of your choice. I have since removed the movie charges from your bill.

Please be rest assured that the breakfast items are cooked on the day and are replenished as and when needed, in line with keeping the quality of the food to its highest standard and keeping in mind holding temperatures and timings. While I know that you did not enjoy some of the room service items, it is difficult for me to comment on this when we are not told about your disappointment at the time. If you are not happy about something, we very much want to hear about it so we can rectify the situation immediately. We also receive nothing but praise about the quality of food served in the hotel so it was surprising that you did not enjoy several dishes.

I have also spoken to the Executive Chef regarding the pancakes served in the Omni Bar and they are not served with bacon so I am sincerely sorry that this is what you experienced. This is one area that is still very puzzling as this has never happened before.

I can appreciate that there were some aspects of your stay that were not perfect and mainly down to technical areas, which unfortunately at times, cannot be avoided, and for this I am sincerely sorry. I can understand that you may not wish to return to stay with us, however it is my hope that this will not be the case. We would love to welcome you back to Pullman Auckland in order to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Property: Pullman Auckland
Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Green Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing