We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I wouldn't go back"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"I wouldn't go back"”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

When I first opened the door I wondered what the unusual smell was, so the window was instantly opened, which was a bonus as I like to have fresh air. Still not sure what the 'odour' was, but it eventually became less obvious. The carpet was dirty, the bedside tables were stained & the lighting in the room is extremely dull. I booked a room for 3 people, so the one king & one single bed were fine, however there were only 2 cups & 2 towels for us. The phone in the room didn't work to request more items, nor could we have a wakeup call due to no dial tone. When I requested a wakeup call (due to the end of daylight savings & an early flight we didn't want to miss), I was told it couldn't be made to an international mobile number, & it wasn't.
Wifi was only accessible in the foyer, & considering most communication is done via the internet it would have been better if we could access this from our room.
After 2 nights at the Park Regis we have left exhausted. Our room was in close proximity to a nightclub around the corner and the music was loud and late both nights.
Although the Iocation is convenient to shops and restaurants, I can't recommended this as a pleasant hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windy6556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Firstly thank you for your feedback. We value any and all feedback with the view to improve our services based on the feedback of our customers.

Our group is in the process of refurbishing the Park Regis Auckland as well as other properties in the group. Our plans include totally overhauling the rooms and bathrooms to bring them up to a much higher standard and aim to resolve the issues that you mentioned along with many other improvements. We are aware of the occasional noise issue from surrounding pubs and clubs. This problem is being approached from many angles including recommendations from an Auckland based sound engineering firm.

Unfortunately we have not concluded the processes mentioned as they do tend to take a while to complete.
Please accept my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations but I can assure you that once we have concluded works we will certainly leave a lasting and very positive impression.

Kind regards

Mike Davies
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    132
    131
    86
    75
See reviews for
53
192
68
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a rip off - the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. When I asked why I was I put in it I was told it was because I was a "single" and this was a single room - why was I charged the full rate?
When I asked if she had ever been in the room she said yes when asked if she would put her parents in the room she said no. You could not walk around the bed the room was so small. The bathroom was not much smaller than the actual sleeping area. I once slept at the top of the stairs in a bed sit house in London in the mid-sixties and there was more room there.
Appalling attitude to guest comfort - if you are single do not bother leaving your money here.
The reception area at the front entrance was filthy for the whole of my stay and if it was ever swept I did not notice.

Room Tip: Do not accept if given a small room as I was
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraemeMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
You will be delighted to hear that after our recent takeover we, like you, have recognised the need for a major refurbishment and are embarking on a major project to uplift all aspects of this grand old building. My only regret is that we could not complete this before your stay.
We have various types and styles of rooms and would have been more than happy to move you to a larger room if requested. I have spoken to the contractor on site to ensure that we avoid any mess in the public areas. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Kind regards

Mike Davies,
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked two rooms in a hurry at airport. Location great. Close to shops, harbour and bus station. Grand entrance is not matched by elsewhere. Reception staff excellent and very helpful. Accessing hotel and reception area is not easy with large cases. Rooms were spacious well furnished but I felt were a bit tired, especially the carpets (also in hallways). We did not use any of the hotels other facilities so can't comment on them. Overall, I thought that we overpaid for what we got but that was my fault for not doing my pre-travel homework,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dingdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here four nights and were very happy with this hotel. Sid, at the reception desk was ever so helpful and knew first hand about everywhere we wanted to experience. The hotel was clean, bed was very comfortable, rooms are well equipped with all you need. Minutes to the beautiful harbour, restaurants, night life, car rentals etc. Thumbs up for the Park Regis!

Room Tip: The higher up the better for a quieter sleep. Gets a bit wild late at night with all the night life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagittariusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your great review. Our planned (and very trendy) refurbishment plans will further improve the property. Hope to see you back soon

Kind regards

Mike Davies
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

When booking on line it's always a gamble when you arrive, but the minute we arrived at the Park Regis in Auckland I knew we made the right choice. Perfect location in the heart of downtown and within walking distance of nearly everything. The staff was amazing, Sid and Matilde at the front desk are overwhelming what made the hotel shine. They went over and above when we needed help, directions, pointing out places of interest or a rental car. The room was clean although it does get a little noisey on Fri and Sat nights. We had the room over Queen St on the front of the bldg. The outside noise made it difficult to sleep, we like the window open so it was our own decision, instead of turning on the A/C unit.
Before arriving I had read some reviews and read about one of the elevators that shakes, rattles and vibrates. I thought it might be and old review and would be fixed by the time we arrived, but it was not. I did not mind it, even when it took to the seventh floor when I pushed the fourth floor button, in fact I thought it just added to our experience and it is now just a fond memory.
I do not have a bad word to say about the hotel, in fact I recommend the Park Regis highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpeditiousEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, particularly the service and location.

Mike Davies
General Manager- Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is located within minutes of walking distance from the ferry terminal and Queens Street shopping. There is also a New World supermarket nearby to get any groceries.One of the best hotels to stay for people without a car in central Auckland. Coming to the hotel, the room had kitchen facilities which made it easy to make quick meals. Free wifi is available only at the lobby for 100MB/30 min per day. Many people in TripAdvisor complained that the nightclub was noisy, however it didn't affect me on the 6th floor. In fact, we had a wonderful sleep on the comfortable and clean bed.

In short, a wonderful hotel for its location, service (thanks, Sid @ reception), cleanliness and worth our money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GokulSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, particularly the service and location. Our new beds are proving a hit and our planned refurbishment means even more reason to return. The team looks forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike Davies
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

the staff at the front desk were top notch and very helpful. Sid and the french girl that work the front counter need some well deserved praise. Their service and genuine care for the customer were exemplary and some of the best I have experienced at any hotel (even 5 star resorts). The rooms were a bit noisy, but should be expected for the excellent location in the center of the city. The TV only has about 8 channels and the movies for rent are very expensive. There is broadband in the room, but one would expect wifi service throughout this day in age. Wifi was only available for a 1/2 period once a day. Been traveling a ton and still don't understand why wifi is not free in these hotels. My allergies kicked in as a result of the dust in the room. THe room was not dirty really, but needed a good dusting (walls, vents desk top, etc). My advice to this hotel is pay attention to detail when cleaning. I think it would be easy and routine when cleaning so many rooms. Detail also as in a comforter with stains on it really should not be overlooked. With this said I do believe the new management is trying to make a difference. More time will hopefully be in their favor. Although I write a critique I don't agree with another review saying "look somewhere else". The location is what you are paying for and the rates if you compare are not bad. If you are in town for a couple of days I think it is fine. I stayed for a week and still was content. There is onsite laundry which I do not recall reading about and a "gym". The TV and ventilation in gym do not work and the equipment is old, but you could get a basic workout in. The les Mills and the city gym are about $25/day so free should be functional enough. oh…there is also a sauna which was a nice additive if you like them. If I am back in town I'll swing by and say hi to the staff there as they made my stay pleasant. I hope you enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marazzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
I sincerely appreciate your detailed insights into our hotel, particularly the points on central location and nightlife. Fort street precinct is fast becoming the trendiest part of town with some exceptionally good options for restaurants, cafes and clubs. With venues like Everybody's Izakaya, Roxy Night Club and Fort Street Union amongst others our location really is a spot on. I take on board your comments on dusting and will ensure that no room is overlooked when it comes to this. You will be delighted to hear that we are undergoing a major refurbishment in the very near future which involves a total overhaul of rooms , lobby and restaurant.
PS: The front office team thank you for their special mention :)

Kind regards

Mike Davies - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#23 of 67 in Auckland
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland

Property: Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Address: 58-60 Queen Street | Next to Louis Vuitton Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently undergoing a full refurbishment, the photos you can see are our now completed rooms. The Restaurant and reception are currently being renovated. Surrounded by the shopping and entertainment streets of the waterfront. Grand Windsor Hotel blends a protected historic building with chic, contemporary interior design. It boasts a great location in amongst the smart boutiques of Queen Street, right in the heart of Auckland and just off the scenic harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Windsor Auckland
Mercure Hotel Windsor Auckland
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing