We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for 4 nights and simply cannot say a bad thing about it. We had a beautiful suite with a large balcony overlooking Auckland Harbour. We were B & B and the breakfast was buffet and well worth it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The standards in this hotel are very high indeed. There is a lovely swimming pool (small) and also a small gym and sauna. Would definately hope to stay here again if we ever get to this part of the workd again.

Room Tip: Ask to have a harbour view with balcony - there is so much to see it is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoreenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    229
    74
    18
    13
See reviews for
184
208
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Right off the main drag, with a view (if you're in the right direction) of the harbour this is a very good hotel. We had a two bedroom apartment with a large living room/kitchen diner and a seperate laundry room. it's just the place to stay if you're travelling a long way (inevitable n new Zealand) so you can have the space to wash or pack. the kitchen was well kitted including milk and teas, coffees etc. PLenty of space to cook breakfasts, lunches and snacks or more. there is a food court directly opposite if you want to take away (as we did when exhausted one night) which is full of stalls selling all kinds of food from around the world....very reasonable and fast and you just cross the road. You can eat there or take it back to the apartment. It's also a ten minute walk down to the harbour and the bars and restaurants there and there's a 24 hour supermarket on the seafront for basics. Service was friendly and efficient and it felt like a home from home. It's a bit dated and tired in terms of aesthetics and the age of the carpet and furnishings but the advantages outweigh this by miles. If you're travelling with a group of friends or in a family, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a harbour view if you can...there's also a balcony for warmer days (if you like heights)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltonwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed at the Quay West Suites in October 2011 and would happily recommend them. I had a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment with a large lounge, dining area and kitchen which would be perfect for a family or two couples (although a bit of overkill for one person :). The bedrooms feature plenty of built in wardrobe space, a nice tv and balcony access, with lovely views. Bathroom includes large shower, hair dryer, shampoo/conditioner and plenty of towels.

Had breakfast in the first floor cafe both days of my stay - comfortable surrounds, nice coffee and reasonable value.

The location is great with easy walking access to some great shopping and the Viaduct. I will stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed this establishment recently on my trip from Australia to Nz so used the hotel twice for 2X2 nights for 3 people.
We booked a 2 bedroom high floor suit.
Requested a single and one twin but on arrival they gave us another double so had to complain but moved instantly so that was a plus.
Maybe just sheer luck that they were not busy-around mid october..
The views are good the suits are well proportioned although in need for a refurbishment as it shows a real worn look.
spent more than 400$ so had some expectations.
The room service is slack,ordered breakfast and dinner every night-the selection is very small-so virtually sampled the whole lot on the second time.
Breakfast came up luke warm and missing items too-which should take more attention if you claim a 5* establishment
Well the overall view is that if you need 2 room in case you travel together with someone it's still a better option than most of the places but don't expect 5*
I would only give 3 to this.

Room Tip: make sure it's a high rise and corner suit- room otherwise you get all the noise on the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ical8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Having flown into Auckland with a 2 year old (overall trip was 20 hours) we were pleasantly surprised at check-in to have been upgraded to a two bedroom suite. The appartment was fantastic - clean, great views and a washing machine to wash the clothes aout daughter had been sick on during the flight!! The staff were excellent - promptly following up with requests and they were also able to make recommendations for the rest of our trip.
The restaurant provided us with a much needed glass of wine and a decent feed, though slightly overpriced (as are most hotel restaurants).
We have stayed in many 5 star hotels - this accomodation impressed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and had booked the Westin, well in advance. I rang the Westin 2 days before our arrival to ask them to make some restaurant reservations for us, only to be told ‘we are closing tomorrow, indefinitely’. The hotel suggested I contact the agent, Expedia, to change bookings. I read the reviews on TA and decided on a harbour view room at Quay West and Expedia then secured our booking.
I then rang Quay West to ask them to make restaurant bookings, only to be told that we weren’t booked there, but at their sister hotel, The Sebel! So this time I called Mirvac central bookings, who said that there were no more harbour view rooms left at Quay West. I told them my long story and they said they would look in to it and get back to me.
They returned my call sometime later with the following alternative:
An upgrade to a two bedroom harbour and city view apartment at Quay West, with wrap around balcony and complementary breakfast for the 3 days of our stay, for the same price!
When we arrived we were greeted by name and also again whenever we went to reception. The staff went out of their way to be helpful.
On entering at our beautiful spacious apartment, there was a bottle of NZ sparkling waiting on ice with a personal note from the manager, wishing us a happy anniversary and an enjoyable stay at the hotel.
We enjoyed our personally prepared breakfast, which was available all day, in their comfortable coffee shop. We were able to order anything on the menu and only paid for drinks. Such a pleasant change from the wasteful, large buffet breakfasts, and their luke warm food.

So a big thank you to all the Quay West staff and to central reservations at Mirvac for their efforts in giving us a wonderful 30th anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in a bedroom high floor suite and was extremely impressed with the amenities in the room. The suite was huge with laundry, kitchen, dining table for four, lounge room, massive balcony facing the habour. The only let down of this hotel was house keeping. They were slack with the replenishing soap, towels and the mini bar.
Location wise it is excellent, a short walk to the ferry terminal, Queen Street for shopping and the Viaduct area with lots of restaurants along with the Sky Tower.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank threezacrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing