We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Of the 7 hotels we stayed in on our 4 week vacation, this was one of the best. Rooms great , service great, cafe superb.
Location is a few minutes from the viaduct so handy for central auckland, Beware of the taxi rip off from thre airport, take the airport express to the city , stops about 400 yds from the hotel.

Room Tip: As high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    232
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
213
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went here as a stopover before our flight from Auckland Airport, only staying one night, it still made a good impression on us, the rooms were big, bright and airy with good views of the city and the pool and sauna were lovely, with brilliant views. Room Service was prompt and delicious as well as helpful staff and in a brilliant location. The only downside was that the beds were slightly lumpy!
If we get to stay in auckland again, it will be here!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with a view, but all of the city was a view for us, the suites are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate_rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights recently. The whole place needs updating and refurbishment. Having stayed in other Quay Grands etc were expecting better. There were parts of our suite that needed fixing with kitchen stone benches cracked and the same stone shelving in need of repair. The furnishings need updating and replacement to warrant the asking price. Breakfast was included but certain items on the menu were not. Coffee apparently is not part of breakfast and serving staff had to have it explained to them what the rules were by a manager but I still could not tell you what the rules are for what's included and what's not included. I think that its better to just pay for accommodation on its own without breakfast because it is never clear what you will get paying for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byjalmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at Quay West as couple on Nov 2011 for 3 nights on Superior One bedroom apartment.

First of all, the location is the WINNER for this hotel. Everything you need is within walking distance. There's a cafe just across the hotel for great coffee and morning breakfast. Not far from hotel across the street (towards Swanson Street) there's nice little Japanese restaurant called Ichiban Japanese Restaurant. Their Ramen and Curry Katsudon is really GOOD!! If you fancy different restaurant, Viaduct Harbour has plenty choice of restaurants to offer which is only less than 10 mins walking distance. The harbour also less than 10 mins walking where we went to catch a ferry to Devonport. There's also a Gelato shop near the ticket office on the harbour which has a REALLY NICE kiwi fruit flavour ice cream!

Back to the hotel, the service was really good. The staff are friendly and we check in without any hassle. We received complimentary internet by becoming a member of Global Hotel Alliance. When we arrived at our room we found out that they only have wired internet access. So I phoned the front desk to see whether they have Wifi connection in the room or not. The receptionist personally come to our room and install a router which allow us a wireless internet connection. I found that was a really good personalised customer service there.

The room is kept tidy and they tried their best to keep it clean, although I found there are old stains on the sofa and carpet. I think the furniture and fitting can be replaced (especially the bathroom) as they seems to be outdated. See the traveller photos section, the photos pretty much describe the conditions of the fittings.

Another drawback from this hotel is I can hear the traffic noise from our bedroom at night. We are on level 10, but I can still hear when car speeding up past the hotel, or drunk people at night yelling to his/her friends. My wife didn't find all of the noises disturb her sleep at all, but since I'm a light sleeper, I guess it kinda bothers me. But these noises didn't happen often and they didn't linger around the hotel for too long. So I still can sleep after all, it just more on the annoying side.

However all in all, we still enjoy our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Get highest floor to reduce traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We have had many a night in this hotel over the last decade but havent stayed for several years. We booked two rooms - a 2 bedroomed and a 1 bedroomed suite for a family birthday.
Location
You cant beat the location - a short walk to the waterfront and the new Wynyard Quarter area - which is WELL worth a visit if you are in Auckland. Very close to the shops in Queen Street and High Street - not far to walk further up town either. Parking in the building for cars - lots of public transport nearby
Rooms
Even though the hotel is not new it has been really well kept - there is the odd crack in the marble bench/bathroom but is clean, tidy and well kept. The rooms are generous in size and well positioned so most rooms up high get a nice view of the city and harbour. It tends to be a bit noisy at nights with the city life though. The balconys are large. Kitchens are adequate, not incredibly well stocked with kitchen utensils and equipment but ok for the basics.
Service
Front desk and reception were brilliant and went out of their way to be helpful and were very friendly. We had an issue with the quality of room service breakfast and it was handled very professionally and quickly - fully refunded our money spent.

I feel now that that Quay West is not value for the money we spent. NZ$500 + for a two bedroomed and breakfast and parking was extra costs. There is a lot of other hotels with suite accommodation with inclusions for less money that we will check out on our next city visit ... but the service and location keeps this hotel busy.

Room Tip: Higher up and get a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This is a wonderful hotel to stay at. The position and quality of the property is outstanding. Staff are very accommodating and always make the quests needs a priority. Have stayed there many times and will continue to do so. Would reccomend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualityManager0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed here on our last two nights in NZ in a 1BR suite on a high floor with a wonderful view over the harbour. Friendly check in staff and received free wi fi in room as a GHA Discovery member. The rooms are a little tired but very clean and quiet. Short stroll to the wharf with its restaurantsand scenic attractions. Nice breakfast in the hotel cafe.

Room Tip: Reserve a high floor harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre4823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing