We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious apartment, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious apartment, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We spent 3 nights over the Christmas period in a corner 2 x bed apartment, which we shared with my sister, her partner and little daughter. Was nicely surprised at how spacious and well-appointed it was, especially given some of the comments suggesting the rooms were in need of some refurbishment. Perhaps they have been updating some of them and we were lucky? But anyway, we loved it. It had fantastic views of the harbour, a wrap around balcony, and everything we needed.

The staff there were extremely helpful. We arrived much earlier than planned (about 9am), and they apologised that the room wasn't ready (the stated time wasn't until 2pm, so we weren't expecting anything), but they offered to turn it around really quickly, so that by the time we had wandered out for a quick cup of coffee, everything was ready for us. Perfect and just what you want after a long flight.

Didn't try the cafe, but the pool upstairs was lovely and we had it to ourselves for our Xmas morning swim which was very nice!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireHils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    226
    74
    17
    11
See reviews for
182
207
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom corner harbour view suite with 2 single beds in the second bedroom in July for a 3 night stay over the New Year holiday. When we arrived in our suite the second bedroom had a double bed not 2 singles. Sandra at reception explained that the hotel had no corner suites with 2 bed rooms,so we shuffled the family and accepted the suite.
The second room TV didn't work, as they were unable to fix it Jared the desk manager gave us free broadband and movies which was appeciated. The rooms are spacious, quiet, well appointed and the harbour views are great. The inhouse cafe is small but quite nice and a good spot for a drink after shopping. The only disappointment was that friends staying on the 23rd floor also had a 2 bedroom corner suite with harbour view and when we visited their suite it had 2 beds in the second bedroom. The fact that we mis-informed at check-in was the only disappointment about our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedoultonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I regularly travel to Auckland for both business and pleasure and always try and stay at Quay West. The accommodation is excellent, always well presented, room service prompt, the staff are always very helpful and friendly. Not the cheapest spot in town, but for comfort, central location and a home from home I can't rate it high enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We recently had 7 nights in a 1 bed apartment (1802) at the Quay West over the New Year and found it excellent.
The location was ideal, with all the central Auckland attractions within walking distance.
The Viaduct, Ferry Wharf and Queen Street were all less than 5 minutes away.
There is even a large Countdown Supermarket within a 10 minute stroll, so groceries are readily available even if you don't have a car.
The apartment had all the necessities required for a long stay,even a fully equipped laundry, the staff were all efficient and friendly and even the breakfast in the cafe was very good.(not always the case in hotel cafes).
The large balcony faced the Viaduct and Harbour Bridge approaches, even the NYE fireworks from the Skytower could be viewed from the balcony.
The only minor fault was the door from the lounge room to the balcony would not open, a minor inconvenience as access from the bedroom was not a problem.
I would certainly recommend Quay West for anybody wanting a good value central Auckland hotel as the apartments provide all the extra conveniences that a hotel room lacks.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Of the 7 hotels we stayed in on our 4 week vacation, this was one of the best. Rooms great , service great, cafe superb.
Location is a few minutes from the viaduct so handy for central auckland, Beware of the taxi rip off from thre airport, take the airport express to the city , stops about 400 yds from the hotel.

Room Tip: As high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went here as a stopover before our flight from Auckland Airport, only staying one night, it still made a good impression on us, the rooms were big, bright and airy with good views of the city and the pool and sauna were lovely, with brilliant views. Room Service was prompt and delicious as well as helpful staff and in a brilliant location. The only downside was that the beds were slightly lumpy!
If we get to stay in auckland again, it will be here!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with a view, but all of the city was a view for us, the suites are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate_rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights recently. The whole place needs updating and refurbishment. Having stayed in other Quay Grands etc were expecting better. There were parts of our suite that needed fixing with kitchen stone benches cracked and the same stone shelving in need of repair. The furnishings need updating and replacement to warrant the asking price. Breakfast was included but certain items on the menu were not. Coffee apparently is not part of breakfast and serving staff had to have it explained to them what the rules were by a manager but I still could not tell you what the rules are for what's included and what's not included. I think that its better to just pay for accommodation on its own without breakfast because it is never clear what you will get paying for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byjalmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing