We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quay West Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Lovely hotel. We picked it due to it's proximity to the wharf since we were disembarking from a cruise ship. A very lucky choice. The staff was fantastic, very helpful and easy to deal with. The room was large and very clean and neat. Centrally located to the CBD, restaurants and so much more.
We would choose a Quay West property again for a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Everyone was helpful and friendly for our four day stay in Auckland. Great location close to waterfront and activities. Excellent food for breakfast and lunch at a great price was a welcomed differentiator with the street restaurants. Fold out bed did have a loose spring popping out, not the most comfortable. Parking extra per day, however, free internet made up for the surprise. Could see the waterfront from the walk out patio. Great newness on the makeover of our suite, with that established grand hotel feeling with marble counters, well stocked and appointed kitchen, washer and dryer, shower delight with turkish plump towels made this experience a memorable one.

Room Tip: above 10th to avoid evening college town noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOSman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights with my 12yo daughter.  We really enjoyed our stay, the location is perfect, walking distance from the harbour and all the great restaurants and boat trips and also easy walking distance to the sky tower and Queen St. I have to say we are lazy on holidays so when I say "easy" it means only a 5 minute walk.   I found the apartment well appointed and quite large, it has a separate laundry room with washer and dryer which is very handy for a longer stay.  It was great to come back to.  One day we were unwell and it was the perfect place to recuperate.  The staff were freindly and helpful, particularly our cheery house maid Mary.

The pool is great, like a Roman Bath, very relaxing after a day out and a great way to get rid of the kids energy.

One tip I got was to join the GHA  group which gave us free Internet.  It is free to join.

Quay West  is expensive but I think it is worth the $ to be in one of the best locations in Auckland and to have full apartment facilities with the luxury of room service.  I nearly booked the Hilton, but for 7 days I wanted an apartment not a room, and we could see the Hilton from our balcony and I think the Quay West is a better central location.  

We would definitely stay here again, my daughter wants to live at Quay West!

Room Tip: Join GHA for free internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annebeth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Jared was the first of our good experiences at this hotel. We didn't expect to be able to check in so early, but are so grateful that he welcomed us in. We had just arrived with friends from an overnight flight, it was raining, and we all needed to refresh. We enjoyed our suites - lovely view with everything we would need including washer and dryer and kitchen facilities. We had a spot of trouble with the room safe and wireless that were quickly remedied. We truly enjoyed our stay. We were close to everything and loved Auckland.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water - it is just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel with two small children. Many thanks to Rachel the manager who still found us a room and even upgraded us on the second night after our helpful travel agent cancelled our booking. We arrived at 6pm with 2 tired children to be told we had no room, and read the email from the travel agent. She could see that we were very upset and even called all the other hotels on our itinery to ensure our bookings were correct.
Fab customer service and excellent rooms

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We had originally booked this hotel because of the position and good reviews. We became concerned with some of the more recent negative reviews. Honestly, I can’t understand them. The front desk staff couldn’t be more helpful and friendly. The room – it was a lovely suite – was in excellent condition and we had a wonderful view.

It is an aparthotel and only has a basic coffee shop/restaurant. It does breakfast lunch and dinner, which is adequate but welcome after a 26 hour flight! But it is preferable to go out to one of the very many good restaurants or bakeries nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Let me start by saying this is the first hotel in over 40 years of travel that charge you extra for paying by credit card - no mention on booking-very deceptive.
The other downside is no free internet.
Front desk personnel could be better trained in PR.
If these issues would be attended to, Quay West Suites would rank in my top 5 hotels.
Now the good news.
Great location.
Great rooms-air conditioned in each area.
TV in bedroom and in living area.
Full kitchen, laundry and dining area.
On site parking but reasonable additional cost-to be expected in many city hotels.
Spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VICTEETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#17 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#16 of 65 in Auckland Central
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £135 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing