We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Quay West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our stay at Quay West”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

A fabulous place to stay in while in Auckland. The reception and lobby, rooms, coffee shop are done up fabulously.
The reception staff of Sid and Sandra were just fabulous. We never heard a no from them. They were always there to answer any questions we had and also giving us tips on our further travel within New Zealand.
The hotel basically consists of suites and so there was only a coffee shop which was open till 9. There is a food court right across the hotel.
The hotel is 5 minute leisure walk to the Viaduct Harbour which is the cradle of all activities in NZ. Also the hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the Sky Tower. It is as central as it can get.
There are loads of restaurants around where one can eat including a food court right across the door.

The room was just perfect. A one bedroom suite with a separate living room and kitchen and laundry areas. The balcony had terrific views of the harbour and the Auckland bridge.

All in all it is just perfect and if i wish to go to Auckland again it would just be for this hotel.

- Vinit Badani

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and request for ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinit_Ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    232
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
213
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our Group of 3 couples attended the stage show "Jersey Boys" and decided to stay in Auckland City for the night and selected this Hotel online.We dined out so can not comment on the food & beverage service but the coffee we had in the cafe level 1 was great overall the staff were great...the only problem I had was the electronic door key card did not always work the lift first try...great views of the harbour from my 6th floor room....would stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian19450702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location. The staff was amazing. Sid, Sandra and Madeline, as well as others, were so helpful, nice and accommodating. The rooms are clean and room service was good. The location is great, within walking distance to the marina which has wonderful restaurants and many other sites like SkyTower. I would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandAForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here for a night before heading back home to OZ. We had a 2 bedroom apratment which was very very big... fantastic views of the harbour. Everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Great location, suggest they have free WIFI in all rooms not just in the cafe/bar on level 1.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed here for three nights on part of my honeymoon and it was a perfect spot. Hotel is right in the middle of most everything in the city. Only a couple of blocks from Sky Tower, the ferries, etc. and since it is in the central city the tour compnanies will pick you up. The staff was great as well. I had ordered champagne on check-in as a surprise for my wife and they made sure not to reveal that in front of her and they were great on suggesting activies and giving directions around the area. The only fault is the lack of free (or even inexpensive) internet. I would have imagined a place like this it being free or at least a lot cheaper than what was offered.

The rooms were clean with washers and dryers in the room. Fantastic stay!

Room Tip: With it being a city, try and get a high floor to avoid some of the noise and to also enjoy the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edge0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had a corner 2 bedroom suite which had great views of the harbour. The location of the hotel was great, close to shopping, restaurants, transport etc. The front office staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again on next visit to Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Whenever I'm in Auckland, I prefer to be right in the centre for ease of public transport. This "hotel" is actually an apartment building and you have your choice of 1-BR, 2-BR units (not sure about studios or 3-BR).

The location on Albert St. is 1 block from the ferries, airport bus, and Queen St.

I've stayed here several times and the view can be fantastic. The properties are well-kitted out and the lobby looks like any other 4-star hotel.

Not sure about prices if you go through the "hotel" as I use an apartment rental agent (luxy.co.nz) and their prices are a bit cheaper, I believe.

For comparison, I prefer Quay West to Metropolis (another apartment property) and definitely prefer it to Mercure (4-star hotel 1 block away).

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view and the quieter on the weekends as kids hit the bars in centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing