We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Accomodation.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very handy to everything. Polite, helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable and cosy with nice pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NValia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    232
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
213
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

The reception staff are a credit to the hotel. They were extremely helpful and friendly.

The kitchen is so handy when traveling and the location of the hotel is great with views of the city and water. The bed was comfortable and loved the tv in the bedroom. Easy parking in the hotel was also handy.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karina1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This all suite hotel has the great advantage of being right in the middle of all the action and if you booked a suite with a view, it really does not get any better. Our stay at the Quay West has always been good and although very clean and tidy the look overall is starting to show the age ot the hotel as it is a little "old fashioned" in the kitchen and bathrooms. However it looks very fresh overall and was very clean. The bed is comfortable and you really do have lots of room.
The bath is just for one and the toilet behind the door could be a bit tight, but if you needed to do the laundry no problem.
We got a wine and cheese plate with a package we booked through one of the daily sights and all in all in was a good deal.
You do pay extra for internet and self parking. But they were very kind and allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot for a few hours on the afternoon of our checkout.
Nice friendly staff, but if you drive there is not a driveway into the hotel. You just park on the street to check in and get directions to the self parking around the corner.
I would call this a very nice 3+ star hotel, but not quite a four.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A group of friends were in town for a birthday and were all staying at the Quay West, which is why I chose to stay there. I had my own 1 bedroom suite! Usually I'd opt to pay a little less for one nights accommodation; however this was a deserved treat!
It was fantastic. The suite was gorgeous.....everything about it was superb! I had a stunning view on the 16th floor looking over the waterfront (I don't know what views you'd see from the other side of the building.)
An excellent location for The Viaduct, Wynyard Quarter, Downtown shopping and the ferries and trains.
The only thing wrong was that the stay was too short!

Room Tip: Higher floors would definitely have the better views over the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Better than average 3 star property well situated in Auckland CBD. The shock came when i went to use the Internet/WiFi. Whilst some properties still charge an additional fee for access NZ$25 per day PER DEVICE was over the top. If you travel with an iPhone, iPad and laptop (the latter for work) it is a huge charge, Even at NZ$5 per 15 minutes or NZ$15 per hour each per device makes it very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDMAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We were travelling up to Auckland for Lady Gaga and wanted a central hotel. We booked this accommodation through wotif - it was a hot deal with a free bottle of wine and cheese platter - each night!!!!!!! From the minute we arrived we felt really welcomed by Sandra on reception, room was superb, enjoyed the cheese and wine and headed out. An excellent nights sleep and then refreshing swim in the morning. We had a one bedroom apartment with washing facilities, dishwasher, and spacious louunge with balcony.Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor - just high enough to get good views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed for one night on the way from the South Island back to the US. Nice two bedroom unit on a corner looking out over Auckland harbor. Room was spacious, modern and clean with a good kitchenette and a nice deck sheltered from the inveitable Auckland winte rains, so you could sit outside and watch the rain blow through Auckland. Located in the middle of the central business district and very convenient to any business, it is about 2 1/2 blocks from the Viaduct Basin, where they had the America's Cup and there are a number of very nice restaurants and bars. It can take upwards for 45 min to battle traffic in from the airport in the afternoons, but early in the morning it's only about 25 min out to the airport, so if you're only in Auckland for one night, it's still worth going downtown. One thing I noticed was that the master only had a queen bed and the second bedroom was a pair of single beds, so there is room for improvement on both, but other than that, helpful staff, good club lounge, and OK gym. I've stayed at their sister property, the Sebel, which is directly on the Viaduct Basin a number of times, and would probably choose to stay there again over Quay West because it's just a bit nicer, but if the Sebel is sold out as it was for me, you can't go wrong with this.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 451MSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing