We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Lovely spacious suites with views to die for. Very close to action. Great service.

Room Tip: Haven't struck a bad room yet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Quay West Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

We'd never stayed at Quay West Suites Auckland previously.

After the first experience, however, it will be difficult to stay elsewhere, and we re-booked to go back after checking out because:

1. The Hotel is extremely well presented, great decor, furnishings and color schemes
2. Staff service - real friendly, helpful staff. On arrival we accidentally broke some glass - staff responded immediately, cleaned up everything & left without a fuss, before we could say there it is.
3. Spa & pool - clean & refreshing. A nice starlight constellation hangs above in the mood lighting.
4. Room Quality - loads of space, excellent amenities, a balcony with fab Auckland city views

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahau K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very handy to everything. Polite, helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable and cosy with nice pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NValia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The reception staff are a credit to the hotel. They were extremely helpful and friendly.

The kitchen is so handy when traveling and the location of the hotel is great with views of the city and water. The bed was comfortable and loved the tv in the bedroom. Easy parking in the hotel was also handy.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Karina1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This all suite hotel has the great advantage of being right in the middle of all the action and if you booked a suite with a view, it really does not get any better. Our stay at the Quay West has always been good and although very clean and tidy the look overall is starting to show the age ot the hotel as it is a little "old fashioned" in the kitchen and bathrooms. However it looks very fresh overall and was very clean. The bed is comfortable and you really do have lots of room.
The bath is just for one and the toilet behind the door could be a bit tight, but if you needed to do the laundry no problem.
We got a wine and cheese plate with a package we booked through one of the daily sights and all in all in was a good deal.
You do pay extra for internet and self parking. But they were very kind and allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot for a few hours on the afternoon of our checkout.
Nice friendly staff, but if you drive there is not a driveway into the hotel. You just park on the street to check in and get directions to the self parking around the corner.
I would call this a very nice 3+ star hotel, but not quite a four.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A group of friends were in town for a birthday and were all staying at the Quay West, which is why I chose to stay there. I had my own 1 bedroom suite! Usually I'd opt to pay a little less for one nights accommodation; however this was a deserved treat!
It was fantastic. The suite was gorgeous.....everything about it was superb! I had a stunning view on the 16th floor looking over the waterfront (I don't know what views you'd see from the other side of the building.)
An excellent location for The Viaduct, Wynyard Quarter, Downtown shopping and the ferries and trains.
The only thing wrong was that the stay was too short!

Room Tip: Higher floors would definitely have the better views over the waterfront.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Better than average 3 star property well situated in Auckland CBD. The shock came when i went to use the Internet/WiFi. Whilst some properties still charge an additional fee for access NZ$25 per day PER DEVICE was over the top. If you travel with an iPhone, iPad and laptop (the latter for work) it is a huge charge, Even at NZ$5 per 15 minutes or NZ$15 per hour each per device makes it very expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDMAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#16 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#23 of 67 in Auckland Central
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £116 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing